The Silent Governess and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Silent Governess (Thorndike Christian Romance) Hardcover – Large Print, May 5, 2010


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Large Print, May 5, 2010
$158.28 $17.72
Audio CD
"Please retry"
$35.94

Uprooted by Naomi Novik
Uprooted by Naomi Novik
Check out the newest book by Naomi Novik. Learn more | See all by author

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

When Olivia Keene arrives home to find her father strangling her mother, she picks up the nearest blunt object and bashes him on the head. Fearing that she will be charged with murder, Olivia, with her mother’s help, flees. While en route to a potential position with an old friend of her mother’s, Olivia finds herself caught up in a series of dangerous adventures culminating in her arrival at Brightwell Court, where she accidentally eavesdrops on a conversation between Lord Edward Stanton Bradley and his father, the Earl. Realizing that the information the now speechless Olivia unknowingly possesses could ruin him, Edward insists that she accept a position in his family’s nursery, never expecting that the silent new governess might be his one hope of salvation. Klassen expertly infuses her Regency-set inspirational tale with a gothic atmosphere, resulting in a sweetly intriguing romance worthy of Victoria Holt. --John Charles --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Review

"The Silent Governess is a tale filled with secrets and a story that demonstrates that we can never leave our past completely behind. I lost myself in the pages and could easily picture myself walking the hallways of Brightwell Court with the characters. The Silent Governess is a delightful page-turner, and although I figured out some aspects of the story on my own, Julie Klassen saved some surprising twists and turns for the end! .... Whether you enjoy Jane Austen's England, or you just like a good suspenseful, romantic story, The Silent Governess is a great addition to any reading list." -- 5 Minutes for Books (5minutesforbooks.com)

"The Silent Governess is an interesting and satisfying sojourn in 19th century England. Fans of the Janes (Austen and Eyre) won't want to miss it. The paperback edition includes discussion questions, making this a good choice for book clubs and reading groups." -- Violet Nesdoly, BlogCritics.org --This text refers to the Paperback edition.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Thorndike Christian Romance
  • Hardcover: 707 pages
  • Publisher: Thorndike Press; Lrg Una edition (May 5, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 141042586X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1410425867
  • Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 5.6 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (259 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,435,985 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Julie Klassen loves all things Jane--Jane Eyre and Jane Austen. She worked in publishing for sixteen years and now writes full time. Three of her novels have won the Christy Award for Historical Romance. Her book, The Silent Governess, was also a finalist in the Minnesota Book Awards, ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year Awards, and Romance Writers of America's RITA Awards. Julie is a graduate of the University of Illinois. She and her husband have two sons and live near St. Paul, Minnesota. Visit www.julieklassen.com for more information.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

75 of 76 people found the following review helpful By Cara Putman VINE VOICE on January 10, 2010
Format: Paperback
Olivia Keene believes she is guilty of a crime and flees her home. In the process she stumbles onto Lord Bradley's property and overhears a conversation that makes her a threat to the Lord. She is caught trespassing and sent to prison before the Lord brings her to his estate and makes her a servant. So begins this story set in regency England.

Usually, I am not a reader of regency tales. I know, I know. Many people love them, but they aren't really my cup of tea. However Ms. Klassen's style is riveting. Her characters are caught in tangled webs that intersect and overlap and twist and turn with hopes and fears. And because the characters are so richly drawn, I can't keep myself from turning the pages when I should be doing other things. But I think what I love most about her style is that I am transported back in time, to a period I don't know well, but feel completely dropped into while I'm reading. I can hear the accents, see the streets, and watch the people. It makes for a compelling book that I couldn't put down.

So if you like historical novels, I suggest you try this one -- even if regency is not your usually choice. I think you will quickly learn why Ms. Klassen is a best-selling author of Christian fiction.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
67 of 74 people found the following review helpful By Susan Snodgrass on December 20, 2009
Format: Paperback
I have read every book Julie Klassen has written and this one absolutely did not disappoint. I thought it wasn't out until January 2010 and was so surprised to see it at my local book store. I snatched it right up. She gets better with each book she writes. Her books are so well written, it's amazing. I buy them wanting to delve right in but at the same time, try to read slowly so I can make the enjoyment last longer. Klassen's characters are people you wish you knew yourself, she makes them so very real. You feel their pain, know their joy and take them as your own friends.
I will not give away anything of the plot, but suffice it to say this is a magnificent book. There is mystery, romance, intrigue and faith all wrapped together in a delightfully longer book than the others.
Don't hesitate to buy this book. I'm hard to please and this is an excellent choice and not one bit of a waste of your book money. It's one for your collection.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Harold Wolf TOP 50 REVIEWER on July 30, 2011
Format: Paperback
Upon finishing a book my wife suggested author Julie Klassen. "I think you'll like her."
The Silent Governess is ice-cream with extra toppings. Solid writing, compelling story, layered plots, historical, English village setting, mystery, action, suspense, and just enough romance to make it believable--but void of the un-manly "chick-lit" echelon. I dug in and could not stop. So guys, give Klassen a try, beginning like me, with this book.

The story starts with so much action you can't NOT read it. A jolly-good page turner. Nov. 1815 eventually becomes March of 1816 and there may be some who will cry `predictability', but that's true of any Hist/Fic/Rom. It's the worded path that Klassen pens that is the exception here. Such fun strolling through chapters painted with enchanting word visions of quaint village shops, Tudor buildings, and the occasional coach & 4. There are the rich and poor classes, of course, and a mansion, Brightwell Court, with a staff of no less than 17 staff which the heroine Oliva Keene, the muted governess, joins. It's gave me some of the same enjoyable thrills as in "Upstairs, Downstairs", while meeting these working class folk. There are secrets and consequences to actions, that all have to be played out prior to the satisfying end.

A three chapter length Christmas period in 1814 is worth the used book price alone. Our purchase was large print, 713 pages that moved so fast the end came prior to my desire to leave this English country estate. I don't get paid for plugging anyone's book, even bought our copy, but Klassen has her fifth book to release soon, The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, Jan 2012. It's supposed to be another English estate tale, and by Dickens, I'm requesting my copy prior to release. I want it fast. Is it a sequel, or just the next well-written Klassen (lover of Austen, editor of Beverly Lewis) novel?

My wife love this author too. Ah, I've found another fine author, but so little time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
48 of 55 people found the following review helpful By Cafe Lily on January 30, 2010
Format: Paperback
I'm not a huge fan of the regency genre, so this book was a bit hard for me to get into. However, for those who ARE into "lords, ladies and manors" - this book will most likely be enjoyable.

As the story begins, Olivia Keene is fleeing from a terrible situation at home. When she ventures into the woods and ends up stepping on private property, she finds herself headed to the "lock up" accused of trespassing. Lord Bradley, owner of Brightwell Court comes to her "rescue" but only because he's terrified at the "secret" she might have overheard, while eavesdropping. Afraid that his past will catch up to him, Lord Bradley sentences Olivia to the position of under nurse at Brightwell Court, where she must live and work for the next three months. Keeping her under close scrutiny, Lord Bradley determines to find out just how much she knows about him personally, and whether or not she plans to expose him. However, as typical love stories go, they fight their growing attraction to one another while the plot thickens and they both desperately try to keep secrets from each other.

For fans of Jane Eyre and Jane Austen, this book will probably be a good read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?