Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You bad boy"
It's not as cohesive or funny as YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN or THE PRODUCERS, but SILENT MOVIE has plenty to offer. A wild romp that parodies the film business and the all but lost art of creating silent films, SILENT MOVIE stars Mel Brooks, Marty Feldman, and Dom Deluise as a trio of film makers who vow to save their studio by making a new silent film with major stars. Many...
Published on November 24, 1999 by Joe Libby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars MARCEAU SPEAKS!
One has to admire Mel Brooks and his producers for even attempting to make a silent movie in 1976. Whether they were truly successful in pulling it off is a matter of opinion. While I certainly found some spots to laugh at, the overall effect was rather tedious.

The movie's plot is apparent: three goofball producers try to pitch doing a silent movie to save...
Published on December 7, 2006 by Michael Butts


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You bad boy", November 24, 1999
This review is from: Silent Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It's not as cohesive or funny as YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN or THE PRODUCERS, but SILENT MOVIE has plenty to offer. A wild romp that parodies the film business and the all but lost art of creating silent films, SILENT MOVIE stars Mel Brooks, Marty Feldman, and Dom Deluise as a trio of film makers who vow to save their studio by making a new silent film with major stars. Many conventions of silent films are spoofed, such as how the right title card can alter the meaning of a scene (the title of this review is from one such card). Several stars (such as Burt Reynolds and Paul Newman) seem to enjoy parodying themselves, and Anne Bancroft's tango with our heroes is a standout. Harold Gould is the epitome of blackhearted villany and Sid Ceaser contributes some of his trademark pantomime as the neurotic studio chief. Best of all is Marty Feldman; with his wirey body, elastic face, and, of course, those eyes, Feldman looks as if he stepped out of 1920's of Mack Sennett into the 1970's of Mel Brooks. He steals many a scene (subtly or otherwise) in SILENT MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One great big campy YES !!!, April 14, 2007
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silent Movie (DVD)
Silent Movie represents Mel Brooks' successful attempt to lampoon the greed of Hollywood with a comic tribute to the era of silent films when the actors merely had to work on their "faces." Silent Movie runs along at a brisk 87 minutes and the action simply never stops. The plot holds your attention and the color remains quite good after all these years.

Mel Brooks plays Mel Funn, a has-been movie director whose career was ruined by drinking. However, he gets an idea that could breathe new life into his career--he wants to make a silent movie. Mel Funn, together with his buddies Marty Feldman playing Marty Eggs and Dom DeLuise as Dom Bell, must seek out a Hollywood studio that will buy into his idea of a silent movie. The threesome goes to see the chief of Big Picture Studios, played so ably by Sid Caesar. Big Picture Studios is in such trouble that they are a sitting duck for a hostile takeover from the huge conglomerate Engulf and Devour. The studio chief finally decides to let them make the picture at Big Picture Studios after Funn, Eggs and Bell promise him that big name stars will appear in the movie. The studio chief hopes that the star quality of the film will compensate for it being a silent movie; that would make badly needed profits so Big Picture Studios can remain in business as an independent studio and reject hostile takeover bids from Engulf and Devour. Thus the studio chief gives the green light to Funn, Eggs and Bell to cast and direct the silent movie.

This is a Mel Brooks picture, so needless to say there is much slapstick and parodies galore. At one point when Mel Brooks is chasing after Paul Newman as they ride in wheelchairs at a hospital, the wheels clash and the sparks fly just as they did in a racing scene from the movie Ben-Hur. In another spoof about how big all the candy portions are at the movies, there's a scene in the movie theater in which Dom DeLuise eats a Hershey's candy bar as big as he is while a couple purchase popcorn in the "trash can" size as the employee uses a hose to pour gobs and gobs of melted butter onto the popcorn. I'd tell you more but I don't want to ruin it for you. Trust me; it's funny.

Of course, Engulf and Devour are hungry for profits and their greed leads them to want Big Picture Studios at any price, even if it isn't too profitable. Will Funn, Eggs and Bell be able to complete their movie, get their stars into their picture and save Big Picture Studios from ruination or, worse yet, the menacing conglomerate Engulf and Devour? Will Funn be able to handle the stress of it all without turning back to liquor again to ease his pain? And what about the beautiful young lady Engulf and Devour hire to ruin Funn's chances of making his movie so that they can take over Big Picture Studios once and for all? No spoilers here, folks; you'll have to watch the movie to find out!

The cameos by big name stars are delightfully funny and interesting. Funn, Eggs and Bell go after great stars including Liza Minnelli, James Caan, Paul Newman, Anne Bancroft and Burt Reynolds.

People write that this is not Mel Brooks' best movie and maybe they are right. One thing, though--it holds your attention and the gags ARE funny even if many of them do involve slapstick. It's great to see Sid Caesar again and the acting by everyone is very good.

I recommend this film for fans of Mel Brooks; and people who want a light hearted enjoyable comedy will appreciate this movie. The DVD doesn't come with a lot of extras but Silent Movie stands on its own two feet rather well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, GREAT FILM WIDE SCREEN but EXTRA, EXTRAS WHERE ARE YOU?, October 27, 2006
This review is from: Silent Movie (DVD)
I have always LOVED this film. Saw it several times in the theater when I was a kid.

The screen with Paul Newman in the wheelchair chase is as funny today as when the film was first released.

I was so glad when I heard this DVD was coming out & I could finally have the film at home wide screen.

But, but, I am SO DISAPPOINTED.

There are no extras. None, zip, zero. Nothing. What a let down!!

And, I hate when DVD packages come out like this. No page with the DVD chapter search.

It is a shame this was the care given to this package of this film.

So glad to have it wide screen finally, but what a let down of no extras or the chapter page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Release a Region 1 DVD for Mel Brooks Silent Movie!, July 30, 2005
This review is from: Silent Movie (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of Mel Brooks and his hysterically funny comedy movies and Silent Movie is my favorite and while it's nice that it's on DVD why is it only available in the European region 2 PAL format? I need a region 1 DVD format and I don't have a region free DVD player so please someone release a region 1 DVD for Canada and USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think it's his funniest, December 18, 2000
By 
This review is from: Silent Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Young Frankenstein and The Producers killed me, but some of the laughs in this one are the biggest I've ever experienced watching a Mel Brooks movie. Right up there along with the Black Knight sequence from Monty Python and the Holy Grail and the mirror sequence from Duck Soup, I have to put the studio commissary sequence from this one--the three leads approach Liza Minnelli, hoping to persuade her to appear in their silent movie. Trouble is, they sneaked in by donning suits of armor. I saw it again recently for the first time in many years, and I still got a cramp from laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious Mel Brooks Classic, June 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen; the cafeteria scene had me rolling on the deck. I liked it so well I've been trying to buy it for the past year and now that I've found it, will do so. Forget about the real world, and enjoy the flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of Mel Brooks comic genius !!, November 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Mel Brooks shows once again his brilliant comic talents in this alternative comedy..."Silent Movie".
Brooks has never been afraid to make his comedies a little differently from the main stream, and since his first side splitting comedy "The Producers"...he has just got better.
This is a thinking persons comedy and Brooks incorporates a lot of wonderful sight gags....harking back to the days of Chaplin and Lloyd....and relies on the facial versatility of his lead actors.
A funny, intelligent comedy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clap loudly for Silent Movie, January 25, 2007
This review is from: Silent Movie (DVD)
Silent Movie is probably Mel Brooks's least appreciated films. A true gem that relies entirely on sight gags, but mention must be made about the soundtrack that is truly integral to the movie's comedic success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but it's still fun, July 5, 2008
This review is from: Silent Movie (DVD)
This is a second-tier Mel Brooks effort, which means it's very funny but not as consistently uproarious as YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, THE PRODUCERS or BLAZING SADDLES. However, there are still some inspired moments, especially the encounters with Burt Reynolds, Anne Bancroft, and Paul Newman. (By comparison, the bits with Liza Minnelli and James Caan promise more than they deliver.)

I'm sure this was not a high-priority DVD title for 20th Century-Fox, but nevertheless it would have been nice to have some Extras, aside from a couple of theatrical trailers. A few years after the film's initial release, I saw the "original" cut at a Mel Brooks retrospective. This version had scenes that were eventually deleted for the general-release print. While they weren't necessarily great comic sequences, it would have been nice if Fox had included them here as Extras. These scenes included:

*In the screening room sequence, Sid Caesar shows Mel, Marty and Dom the rushes for another production, LOBSTERS IN NEW YORK, which depicts giant lobsters at a fancy restaurant, making their dinner selection from a tank filled with humans.

*A hungry Dom goes into a bakery where he gets a numbered ticket, then has to patiently wait until his number is called, even though there's no one else in the place besides the woman behind the counter (played by Lu Leonard). As the number before his is called, a woman rushes in and purchases the entire stock, leaving Dom to munch on his ticket.

*Mel, Marty and Dom drive by a miniature golf course, where midgets (Billy Barty among them) are playing. Mel observes, "It takes so little to make them happy."

*During the climactic car chase, the boys zoom past a Volkswagen with a seemingly dead bear (a hunter's trophy) strapped to the roof. The Volkswagen topples over, and the bear revives and runs down the street with the car now strapped to its back.

These aren't pivotal scenes, but since the footage still exists, they should have been Special Features on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant comedy!, May 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of Mel Brooks' best movies and I give it five stars. I enjoyed it very much and the silent part made it even better. I hope many people buy this great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Silent Movie
Silent Movie by Mel Brooks (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $6.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.