Customer Reviews


399 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silent Revenge
Jessica lost her hearing due to an illness, and is determined that people of the ton not find out about it. She avoids social occasions, except to view the gowns she secretly designs, then leaves. She's happy with her life, until she finds that she's about to inherit a fortune on her upcoming birthday. Her wicked step brother has other plans.

Simon has...
Published on September 16, 2012 by Blue Rose

versus
39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very long drawn out tale.....
This book could have done well as a short story. It lacked plot twists and interesting dialogue to carry it through to a whole book. The book fell flat in so many areas. The romance scenes were highly repetitive and I could see the author was trying to keep things clean (that's okay) but it came off as extremely boring. There was no angst, no real chemistry between the...
Published on November 5, 2012 by A. M. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silent Revenge, September 16, 2012
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Jessica lost her hearing due to an illness, and is determined that people of the ton not find out about it. She avoids social occasions, except to view the gowns she secretly designs, then leaves. She's happy with her life, until she finds that she's about to inherit a fortune on her upcoming birthday. Her wicked step brother has other plans.

Simon has recently returned from India. He left under suspicion of murdering his father. The family estates are in a shambles, but he is determined that he will not marry for money. However, there is a connection with Jessica's step brother, and her fortune would not only restore his estates, but let him be revenged on a wrong done to him. They agree to marry.

Jessica never hides her deafness from Simon, and he respects her wishes to hide her lack of hearing. Simon is very bitter, and you wonder if he will be capable of falling in love with Jessica as she has fallen in love with him.

This was an enjoyable read, though not explicit sexually. This made me feel the story lacked a little bit, as I would have liked to see how Simon treated Jessica as a lover. Still in all, a recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very long drawn out tale....., November 5, 2012
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Paperback)
This book could have done well as a short story. It lacked plot twists and interesting dialogue to carry it through to a whole book. The book fell flat in so many areas. The romance scenes were highly repetitive and I could see the author was trying to keep things clean (that's okay) but it came off as extremely boring. There was no angst, no real chemistry between the characters. Overall not a book I'd recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, August 22, 2012
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
There have been a recent number of romances that have the aristocratic heroine working undercover as a dress designer. Why this has become so popular I don't know, but this latest offering does, at least, offer a few variations to give it originality. The heroine, Lady Jessica Stanhope, is handicapped, and doing her best to keep it from the rest of society out of fear of contempt and prejudice. She stays out of the public eye as much as possible, and dresses as a frump so as to be ignored. Her difficulties, self-conciousness and means of coping make her a character with more depth than usual. The hero, Simon Westland, Earl of Northcote, has to deal with his own prejudices as well as his past tragic circumstances. Jessica inherits a large fortune, which puts her in danger from her stepbrother Colin, whom she fears will commit her to an asylum to get the money. She offers a bargain whereby Simon marries her and gets her fortune in exchange for his protection. Simon in turn, has lost most of the family possesions due to his late father's spendthrift ways. He has also long been suspected of killing his father out of jealousy over his stepmother - and former fiancee. What neither Simon nor Jessica knows is that the other is hiding secrets. Jessica hides the fact that she is society's most popular but anonymous modiste and Simon is hiding the fact that he has sworn revenge against Colin for past atrocities, and wants to marry Jessica expressly to deprive Colin of the money. If there is a weakness to the plot, it is that the secrets don't seem worth keeping, compared to what they already know about each other, so why risk their relationship to maintain secrecy? It's a small quibble, however, as the two make for an engrossing romance. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Melodramatic and no romantic chemistry, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Interesting premise that fell flat very quickly. The heroine is deaf but can expertly read lips from across a room, despite shunning society because of her fear of being found out not only to being deaf but to also being a dress designer. She is frequently conveniently in the right place to "hear" things of a salacious or criminal mature. In order to protect herself from her step-brother she marries our hero, who is desperately in need of her inheritance and who is happy to use her to get revenge on her step-brother.

They go from unwilling partners to lovers in a nano-second. Nothing felt genuine about them as a couple. She did all of this inward whining that was more irritating than anything else. Her inner dialog is often overwrought, each one of his touches setting off not just a tingle, but a massive one. Hero had the annoying habit of lifting her chin with his finger so that she was looking at him when he spoke.

A lot to pick apart with this story. I wish it had been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it's ok, March 6, 2013
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Kindle Edition)
The book was ok.. nothing to rave about. For some reason, I didn't feel the connection between the hero & heroine. I found it hard to believe that the heroine could hide her disability so successfully - what about speech impediment that's common for people with her condition? I know it's romance and there's always a certain degree of belief suspension, but there are just certain things that I can't quite suspend, and that's one of them.

Plus I can't stand martyrs and the heroine likes her martyrdom a bit too much. She also does something really, really, stupid in the name of love and in her foolish effort to 'save the hero'. The kind of things that can get you in deep trouble. But I guess it's needed to achieve dramatic climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Despicable and Insulting Treatment of Deafness, March 21, 2013
By 
L. C KAUFMAN (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Kindle Edition)
I don't particularly enjoy leaving one-star reviews. The creative process is hard and I admire any author that can put out a consistent volume of work. But sometimes, the author, no matter how much effort she's put into her creation, still misses the mark so badly that she has to be called out for it. In this case, called out and taken to the woodshed.

I'm not talking about her one-dimensional characters, her tissue-thin plot, or her unrealistic depiction of a romance. No, my problem is with the disability the author has given to the heroine and how that disability is treated.

Jessica is deaf, and we are told that she was deaf from birth.

This means that it would extremely difficult - if not impossible - for her to learn to speak and learn to read lips. If the author had any exposure to anyone who is deaf, she would know that a deaf person does not speak with the same patterns and intonations as someone who hears. There is volume control, breath control, and especially accent. Even with hearing aids and cochlear implants, there is still a difference, and the heroine in this novel certainly had neither. A moment's conversation with the woman would reveal that she was not "normal". This is probably the only thing that would work in favor of the absurd plot point of her step-brother having her committed to an asylum.

It should also be pointed out that even the most experienced lip readers can under understand about 40% of spoken English - the rest is picked up from non-verbal cues. There is no way that the heroine could possible read - word-for-word what anyone is saying, even if she hadn't been deaf from birth, even if she had been specially trained. And yet, we're treated to extended sections of her doing just that.

I had purchased this book because of the novel idea of a differentially-abled heroine. Instead, the author has treated deafness as a plot convenience and made her heroine the worst sort of Mary-Sue.

I will never read another Laura Landon book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but disappointing, January 4, 2013
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy the storyline, even if it was predictable at times. I was disappointed that the author completely skips their lovemaking. One minute she's stretching her arms out, the next he's in his office reminiscing about the night before. It made it feel like something was missing from the main characters relationship. And as others have pointed out, the relationship seemed to just suddenly go from a business arrangement to a romantic interlude. I definitely would not 're-read, nor would I read anything else by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blue or Brown?, December 19, 2013
By 
Kindlefan "US Kindlefan" (Fair Lawn, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Kindle Edition)
I still don't know if Jessica had blue or brown eyes. When Simon saw her first time they were blue, after lovemaking they became brown. This book was one of the worst books. So many bloopers, silly reasons, repetitions, and unreasonable melodrama. Really, I would feel ashamed to publish so poorly written book. However, audio-book was tolerable, thanks to a great narrator Rosalyn Landor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did Not Work For Me, September 10, 2012
By 
Arwen "AKA Arwen" (Austin, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Silent Revenge features a deaf woman and a desperate man. As intriguing as the premise was, I was very put off by this book. I found myself wondering about the ethics of a woman who willing eavesdropped and a man who had no compunctions against using the sister of his enemy. I didn't find the relationship to be very well developed. It seemed to go from convenience to love with no stops of self-examination. Overall, I was disappointed in this book.

The hero felt flat and the heroine seemed mean. There were cliched events (capture/rescue) that were so pedantic I wasn't even momentarily concerned for the safety of anyone concerned. The story felt rushed to me. I would have liked to see more interaction between the hero and heroine that gave depth to their emotional connection.

Just not the best historical I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, October 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silent Revenge (Kindle Edition)
First time reading this author. Good book. Would recommend to others.  Could have been longer, only took several hours to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Silent Revenge
Silent Revenge by Laura Landon
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.