Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 3, 2002
I work in the field of philanthropy have hosted many workshops on issues of children and money. The four hours I spent reading this book were the most educational and fruitful four hours I have ever spent on issues of how to raise children!! Whether your family is middle class or affluent, you will benefit from this book. In my opinion, the lessons offered by the Gallos on values and raising children go far beyond issues of money. I believe it is really a guide to raising well rounded and socially responsible children. I know I will return again and again to the chapters in this book both personally and professionally. Buy this book and read it!!
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2002
I found this to be a very helpful book in dealing with kids and money. There is practical advice on topics such as allowance, helping kids set budgets, influencing your childrens' purchasing decisions (or not) and other good items. It is written for the lay person without any prior knowledge of pyschology. The book is an easy read and covers the topic very thoroughly. A great tool for all parents.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2002
Reading the Gallo's book Silver Spoon Kids is like a one on
one conversation with professional help!
It is full of practical advice and helps no matter what level of affluence one has.
Scattered throughout are special 'nuggets' of ideas to
use NOW. The benefits of this knowledge are immediate!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2002
Eileen and Jon Gallo have done a wonderful job of communicating money issues and teaching values to children of all ages. The content of the book deals not only with the phychological matters surrounding the handling of money and how it affects children, but also parental responsibilites and guidelines than can be helpful in establishing your financial values in your children. This unique approach has combined a number of ideas ranging from the psychological cause and effect to possible ways to construct your trust or will. Although this is not a "how to" book, it does provide excellent food for thought to middle and upper income parents and can help eliminate many of the pitfalls that face parents today. I highly recommend this book and look forward to more from the Gallo's.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2002
Silver Spoon Kids offers practical, hands-on tips for parents raising kids. Financial issues can be difficult to address and this book offers guidelines to meet just those needs. One need not be an expert in the field to grasp the concepts presented - they are perfect for all to understand and utilize. This book is a great resource and will be helpful to many.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2015
Great financial advice, especially the early parts of the book. Some later sections are applicable only in special situations. For example, not everyone will want to or has a need to set up a family foundation, but maybe joining a public foundation could be a meaningful way to engage in philanthropy with your children. Having clear money values is important (and by extension, general life values as well). Just something I never thought about much before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2008
As someone with direct experience on the topic, I read with great interest the words of the Gallo's as they thoughly covered a wide range of topics having to do with children and money. I found their advice practical and easily applicable for parents that find themselves struggling with the common questions of using allowances, learning budgeting, and consumerism. This book is an easy read and would be a helpful tool for parents who want to teach their children to handle money responsibly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2011
Great book to help you raise happier, better adjusted children. But it is also about helping you with you own issues around money. It is not a book just for the wealthy. It is for anyone with a moderate degree of affluence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2011
The book was well written with great ideas and examples of how to deal with money and kids/young adults at any age. The concept of having the child manage their own trust well in advance of them receiving it was fabulous. It also helped explain why kids of affluent parents often meander unhappily through life and how to make sure that doesn't happen to your kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2011
An extremely helpful book. Required reading for anyone of means with small children concerned about preparing them for an inevitable inheritance. Learned that parents can never begin to educate children on financial matters early enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse