Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Historical Romance With A Lot of Heart
SILVER TONGUNED DEVIL by Jennifer Blake is a historical romance that is not for the faint of heart. Strong characters, rich description and agonizing drama make this novel an eloquent, yet emotional journey.

Angelica Carew knew the expected path of her life. She was to marry the man her father had chosen and live out her days on the property granted to her as...
Published on June 24, 2012 by L. J. Engelke

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bucket of words
I bought this book thinking it would roll smoothly and fluidly, engrossing me to keep reading until I was done. Unfortunately it has taken me 2 weeks just to get to page 74. Ms. Blake is the Don King of the Romance Writing World. There are so many nauseatingly long descriptions of every little detail from conversations to observances that I find it impossible to read more...
Published on April 6, 2006 by Elizabeth R. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bucket of words, April 6, 2006
I bought this book thinking it would roll smoothly and fluidly, engrossing me to keep reading until I was done. Unfortunately it has taken me 2 weeks just to get to page 74. Ms. Blake is the Don King of the Romance Writing World. There are so many nauseatingly long descriptions of every little detail from conversations to observances that I find it impossible to read more than 3 or 4 pages without getting frustrated. I want to get in to the story, I'd like a little of the fantasy to be left up to my imagination. Ms. Blake is so long winded that I feel like I'm reading a blow by blow narrative of a documentry, instead of losing myself in a historical fantasy life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Historical Romance With A Lot of Heart, June 24, 2012
SILVER TONGUNED DEVIL by Jennifer Blake is a historical romance that is not for the faint of heart. Strong characters, rich description and agonizing drama make this novel an eloquent, yet emotional journey.

Angelica Carew knew the expected path of her life. She was to marry the man her father had chosen and live out her days on the property granted to her as her dowry, Bonheur. Little does she know, but Renold Harden is going to do everything he can to make sure Angelica is married...not to her current fiancé, but to him instead. Years ago Angelica's father, Edmund, won Bonheur in a card game against Renold's stepfather who eventually took his own life over regret from such a loss. Now Renold wants nothing more than revenge against the man and can see no greater punishment than taking away Edmund's daughter through marriage, which would also give him back Bonheur.

Angelica is shocked to wake up from an injury she sustained on the journey to America married to Renold. It causes her to question her situation, especially since her new husband is a man she barely knows and seems to have an ulterior motive for everything. What is even more confounding is that she eventually finds herself falling for this handsome devil. Despite his original intent and to Renold's shock, he too finds himself falling for the wife he never wanted. Yet by the time all the lies are revealed, will it be too late for forgiveness?

You are not going to find two characters more entertaining than Renold and Angelica. Renold is certainly not the most lovable hero to ever be created, far from it actually. If there is anything to have a difficult time accepting, it is the credibility of such a devious and manipulative character. He is exactly as the title describes, the silver-tongued devil who speaks seductive words yet always has a hidden agenda behind them. Yet underneath it all there is something terribly compelling about his character that draws you in. His heart seems to be the one unattainable thing for any woman to grasp, but as you read this, you can easily see Angelica is just the woman to do that.

Angelica is of course the complete opposite of Renold. She is all that is pure and honest in the world. She is the angel matched to Renold's devilish ways. While this elaborate web is being spun around her, she is far too intelligent to simply become lost in its midst. I was frankly amazed at the way her mind worked, constantly figuring out each mystery she faced. Perhaps what I loved best about her character is that no matter what Renold threw her way, she always took it in stride. While outwardly it appeared like defeat, she always gave her actions a purpose which exposed her extreme amount of courage. She was not timid and mild, but rather a formidable opponent to the man who sought to claim her.

If you read this novel for no other reason, let it be for the thrilling dialogue between the hero and heroine, Renold and Angelica. Oh, it is absolutely delightful! They are the perfect match of intelligence and strength and it is revealed through their playful verbal quarrels. Jennifer Blake can write dialogue that will make your head spin with its complexity, yet delight you with its authenticity and splendor. Renold and Angelica led the most interesting game of `cat and mouse' throughout this book. Each sentence is carefully constructed and their words seeking to give nothing away, yet subtly revealing everything. It was the ultimate power struggle yet underneath it all you could catch glimpses of longing and desire.

"Stop you, but why?" The words were so soft she was afraid he would not hear. She need not have worried.

"To prevent accusations of strength using unfair advantage over weakness. To preserve the status quo. To guarantee whatever vestige of freedom you might once have claimed, since I hold what I take, keep what is mine."

"Take me then," she whispered. "Keep me."

I will be the first to admit I've re-read the ending more than a few times now, which is something I don't normally do. Mainly because I became so fascinated with the plot and how the entire drama was concluded I felt compelled to experience it again and again. It was just fascinating and beautiful. The ending though is what leads me to my one and only complaint...that it wrapped up too soon. I was not entirely satisfied with where the novel ended and felt it deserved at least another chapter or two to fully conclude all the issues between Renold and Angelica. There were just so many issues between then, I would not have minded knowing just a little more about their future.

SILVER-TONGUED DEVIL by Jennifer Blake is a fabulous one-of-a-kind historical romance that is touching and compelling. This novel will pull you into its diabolical grasp and never let go. At its heart are two characters that will enthrall you with their intriguing and passionate romance. You will be hard pressed to find a novel with more authenticity, more emotion or more heart. Historical romance readers should delight in the fact that there are still talented authors like Jennifer Blake out there that know how romance should be done and execute it perfectly in novels like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the book for you, May 21, 2000
By 
anyone who is interested in a good conversation along with a good romance will enjoy this book. the heroine has a wit to match the heroes. you have to pay close attention and infer what is being said. don't skip pages cause you will miss out. this was definitely something for the mind to enjoy. i rate it one of the best because it never lagged, you never get bored because they are always sparring with words;whether with eachother or their own conscience. so if you want an intense novel this is is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, it was ok., December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silver-Tongued Devil (Louisiana Plantation Collection) (Kindle Edition)
The book was ok. I liked the plot and the characters, but the story itself was too (borrowing someone else's phrase here) wordy. The overly descriptive notations in the book also made some of the text redundant. If you can skip over the flowering words, you have a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great romantic noval..but not an easy read., August 15, 2006
This review is from: Silver-Tongued Devil (Hardcover)
This is the first book that I read of Jennifer Blake, the hero and the heroine are very well matched. I liked the physical and mental tension between them. The scenes were action packed. The descriptions were detailed obviously a great deal of research went into the writting. The only one espect of the noval that bathered me was the dark mood of the noval. I wish there were more scenes filled with joy and contempt. Overoll not a bad read, although I am not sure if I will read any of Jennifer Blake's books in the near future. I almost feel like I need a break...something funny.. perhaps Maggie Osborne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Silver tongued devil, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silver-Tongued Devil (Louisiana Plantation Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this novel. Predictable but enjoyable never the less. A few twists and turns in the plot...enjoyed until the final page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Blake does it again, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silver-Tongued Devil (Louisiana Plantation Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Jennifer Blake's books are always entertaining reading. They keep you turning the pages until the very last one. This one has a great story line and witty repartee. The characters are well developed and make you want everything turn out fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely boring...., August 25, 2013
By 
I am not sure what the author knows of love or love making in that matter but it shouldnt be shared with others. The story itself had some potential but it drags on, makes no sense at times, the characters are lackluster and unbelievable. I mean why is the heroine so good and pure? Because she is blond? There is nothing that would show her character.
But when you get to these two actually doing it, it was painful and uncomfortable and not just for them. The stretching of the membrane.... I am quoting here, ugh. Absolute waste of my time and paper... PASS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silver-Tongued Devil (Louisiana Plantation Collection) (Kindle Edition)
i loved this book,i read the whole series,i cant wait to read more of your books,i will keep you as my favorite author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silver-Tongued Devil (Louisiana Plantation Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, Jennifer Blake is one of my favourite writers. Recommend to all that enjoy the old days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.