Customer Reviews


1,009 Reviews
5 star:
 (722)
4 star:
 (169)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


223 of 226 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply done right
I have tried 3 different mounts for 2.5" drives in 3.5" racks. This is the only one that gets everything exactly right. Specifically, it allows mounting two 2.5" drives in the space of a 3.5" drive, and has all 10 tapped (threaded) holes that a 3.5" HDD has, in the right places (6 on the sides, 4 on the bottom). This makes it a truly universal mount -- it will fit in any...
Published on November 2, 2009 by Erik Reuter

versus
60 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible with Mac Pro tower! :(
I'm writing this simply to help other Mac Pro towers avoid the same mistake I made.

It's a fine product, but won't work in Mac Towers. as the SATA connections are totally off once you connect it to a sled.
it places the 2.5inch drives directly in the middle, not the lower corner as they would be to mimic a 3.5" drive.

If you're looking for a...
Published on June 6, 2012 by Gary3000


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

223 of 226 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply done right, November 2, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
I have tried 3 different mounts for 2.5" drives in 3.5" racks. This is the only one that gets everything exactly right. Specifically, it allows mounting two 2.5" drives in the space of a 3.5" drive, and has all 10 tapped (threaded) holes that a 3.5" HDD has, in the right places (6 on the sides, 4 on the bottom). This makes it a truly universal mount -- it will fit in any case that has mounting holes designed to fit a standard 3.5" HDD. But don't expect it to work in a hot-swap tray that requires the SATA and power connectors to be in a certain position (for a hot-swap tray, you might want the Icy Dock adapter 2.5" To 3.5" Ssd/sata Convert )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the only correct adapter I've found, March 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
Wow, you'd think it wouldn't be this difficult to get this type of product right, but finally I've found one that IS!

This has:
- exterior dimensions are the same as a standard 3.5" drive
- ~solid sheet metal on bottom and both sides, meaning this should work in most screw-less enclosures
- threaded hole pattern is correct & complete - has all the holes [sides AND bottom] that my Seagate 7200.12 (standard 1.5TB drive) has, in the correct location.
- works perfectly with my OCZ SSD
- easy hole pattern to access screws for 2.5" drive

as an added bonus, I could mount 2 2.5" drives if I needed to.

Thank you silverstone... I've just ordered another to mount a quite 2.5" drive in my HTPC...

(it occurs to me - I've never seen a 2.5" drive with only bottom holes (i.e. no side screws), but due to the way this is stamped, you wouldn't be able to mount such a 2.5" drive)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good adapter; a few hints on using it with a pair of SSDs, July 31, 2012
By 
Amazon Copter (Leesburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
This is a very solid little 2.5" (SDD or laptop drive) to 3.5" bay adapter. It comes with everything needed to mount a pair of SSDs. That said, it could use a bit more documentation on how to use it with a pair of SSDs as opposed to a single one. Here's a few hints:

- The package includes 12 small screws for mounting up to two drives. Why 12 when eight would do? Eight of the screws have (small) flanges on the heads. Those work fine for the top SSD, but are too large to go in straight into the bottom SSD. Use the four screws without flanges for the bottom SSD and they will line up fine. Look at all the small screws and you'll see what I mean. There are also four larger screws for mounting the adapter into your case.

- There are side holes that allow a screwdriver to pass though to fasten down the drive. However, they are not wide enough for a (or at least my) magnetic ratchet screwdriver to pass through. They are not even large enough for the screws with the flanged heads to fit through easily. I used the rub-the-screwdriver-along-a-magnet-a-few-times trick to get the screws to stay on the tip of a non-magnetic screwdriver long enough to get them into the holes on the SSD. You can also tip the adapter sideways so you are pushing the screws up into the adapter (using gravity to hold the screw on the tip), but the magnet version worked better for me.

- The SATA III (SATA 6 Gbps) cables that came with my motherboard have 90° angle (L-shaped) connectors on one end and straight connectors on the other. The closeness of the SATA ports on the motherboard and the fact the motherboard sits nearly flush with the bottom (actually side) of the case meant the straight ends of the cables had to be used there. With both drives in the adapter, the two data ports on the drives line up and are very close. I could use the L-shape on the bottom SSD, but not the top one because there's just not enough clearance for the cable to bend out from the lower drive's cable. I ended up mounting the top SSD upside down so that the data ports and power ports line up on opposite sides. (There's no moving parts, so this should be fine). Doing that allowed both L-shaped cables to be used. It also made hooking up the power cables easier. If you have (or buy) SATA cables that are straight on both ends, this will not be necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great buy, November 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
So simple, it screws in.
Cables can be managed if you know what you're doing, but if not it may be a little tight for novice builders.
Comes with instructions on how to screw in place, basically sits on top of another.
Need more products like these at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good buy if you need to put a 2.5 ssd or laptop hdd in your towe, October 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
-Great Little Gizmo
-Comes with all things required
-Metal and solid
-No cons whatsoever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great! Yet need to pay attention to the interface space., November 23, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
This product is great!
Put two SSD into one 3.5" bay, and keep a little distance between the 2 SSD providing air flow cooling ability.
However, because of that "little space", you're not able to use a 90 degree right angel SATA cable with the top SSD.
Another "problem" is the power cable. Again, because of that "little space", I had to connect the two SSD with 2 different power-chain.
I'm not good at writing.
You can picture this: with all the accessories you have on hand, are you able to connect two SATA cables and two power cables into one 3.5" hard drive?
If you can do that, then you're able to use this Bay Converter. If not, buy more accessories...or look for another converter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect (or close to perfect) adapter bay, January 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
I bought two of these because of the glowing reviews. I would have to agree with those reviews.

Pros:
* Relatively inexpensive
* Quality metal construction
* Mounts up to 2 drives (2.5") in a single 3.5" bay
* Includes all needed screws to mount 2 drives into the converter plus screws to mount the bay in the computer (12 screws total)

Cons:
* Can't think of any

Other:
* I currently using one of these to mount a low power 2.5" HD (not SSD) in a server machine (for a backup drive)
* Doesn't say where it was made (couldn't find this info on the package or unit)
* Be careful not to press the top cover of a 2.5" HD (not SSD) when handling/installing it - I may have damaged mine doing this when installing it into the mount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible with Mac Pro tower! :(, June 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
I'm writing this simply to help other Mac Pro towers avoid the same mistake I made.

It's a fine product, but won't work in Mac Towers. as the SATA connections are totally off once you connect it to a sled.
it places the 2.5inch drives directly in the middle, not the lower corner as they would be to mimic a 3.5" drive.

If you're looking for a converter for a Mac Pro tower, consider spending a bit more and get this one instead:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002Z2QDNE/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i01
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no room, December 10, 2010
By 
Russ Jackson (Southwest MO, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
Pros:
- solid and durable
- holes align with drives
- screws fit my Western Digital Scorpio and ADATA SSD drives fine
- space between drives when mounted
- fits 2 drives

Cons:
- no space between the bottom of the lower drive and the mount itself; therefore, if you mount a spindle drive there the circuit board on the bottom of the drive will be in direct contact with the mount - so, probably not a good idea; 1/16th or an 1/8 of an inch gap would have been nice - not sure why it was designed like this
- because of above the lower position is pretty much limited to SSDs
- can't invert the lower drive to correct the above (holes don't line up in that position)

Had I known these cons I would have purchased a different mounting bracket (probably a 2-piece kit which would be open on the top and the bottom)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works. Well made. Very small issue., December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 3.5-Inch to 2 X 2.5-Inch Hard Drive HDD SSD Bay Converter, Silver (SDP08) (Personal Computers)
I use this to mount my Samsung SSD and a laptop spinning drive that houses my game library. When mounted in my tower, it fits, and works extremely well. It doesn't rattle, it isn't warped, all the holes line up perfectly. This is a very well made piece of equipment. \

There is a gap between drives to promote airflow. There is not however a gap underneath the bottom drive. Since the SSD won't get as hot, I have it mounted on the bottom. A) heat rises, so I don't want the (admittedly small) amount of heat to cook my SSD. B) The SSD is cooler than the spinning drive, so it doesn't need as much airflow. The SSD only has air running over the top. The spinning drive has air flowing over the top and bottom.

The posts the drives screw into are spot on. If you are mounting two drives into it however, do not screw the bottom drive all the way in before you mount the first drive. It will make it that much harder to slot the top drive into place. Not an issue in my opinion, because to me, that's just common sense.

The one and only issue is screwing the drives into the converter itself. Maybe I just don't have the tools to properly attack this project. The screws you put into the drive are tiny. I think everyone is aware of this. To mount this drive however, you have to first pass the screw through a hole in the outer wall of the adapter that will go into the post and finally into the drive. If you look at the picture Amazon provides, you'll be able to make this out. So you figure you'll just put the screw on the tip of the screwdriver and pass it through? Not that easy. Getting the screw to line up with the post is fairly difficult. Use a magnetic screwdriver? That's probably your best bet, however keep in mind this adapter is made out of metal as well. On your way into the hole, be sure you stay centered, otherwise your screwdriver will be attracted to the sides of the outer hole, and will be approaching the post at an angle. No bueno. The only real solution I can develop would be to provide a very weak glue that would allow you to keep the screw on the end of the screwdriver without the use of magnets.

That was a lot of words for a problem that is (in my opinion) not that big. But this adapter is not perfect, and as such I cannot in good faith give it a perfect score. Would this issue prevent me from buying this adapter again? No. This is worth the money. I'd buy it again in a heart beat.

My personal opinion? Make a version of this same adapter, but make it smaller length wise so that it doesn't protrude as much as a standard 3.5 inch drive. Having about half an inch of empty, bright, shiny metal poking out of where my hard drives mount is not aesthetically pleasing in my predominantly black case interior. My hard drives extend the same length, but they serve a functional purpose. This adapter's extra length does not. This however is opinion, and does not factor into my scoring of this drive. I may however take a can of spray paint to it and see if I can get it to better match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.