Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product with solid features
SilverStone is well known for producing quality PC cases and accessories, and they've recently expanded their offerings by releasing a new SATA 6Gb/s cable, the CP07. I've used SilverStone SATA cables in the past, namely the SilverStone CP03 Serial ATA II 180 Degree Cable for SATA II Hard Drives and SilverStone CP04 Serial ATA II 90 Degree Cable for SATA II Hard Drives,...
Published on December 8, 2011 by D. Montez

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok
it's ok but the missing latch becomes an annoying issue when you manipulate the cables and they disconnect frequently. finally i bought some BitFenix Alchemy Multisleeved Cables as replacement and they are way better
Published 13 months ago by ruLo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product with solid features, December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
SilverStone is well known for producing quality PC cases and accessories, and they've recently expanded their offerings by releasing a new SATA 6Gb/s cable, the CP07. I've used SilverStone SATA cables in the past, namely the SilverStone CP03 Serial ATA II 180 Degree Cable for SATA II Hard Drives and SilverStone CP04 Serial ATA II 90 Degree Cable for SATA II Hard Drives, and I came away impressed with those. The CP07 is essentially a CP03 but includes a few important improvements.

The first improvement is that the CP07 offers a higher rated transfer speed of 6Gb/s to support the introduction of 6Gb/s storage devices. In contrast, both the CP03 and CP04 SATA cables are rated at 3Gb/s. I did experience some performance differences while using the CP07 with a 6Gb/s storage device versus a standard SATA cable.

The second improvement is that the CP07 cable comes pre-sleeved in black. I found this to be ideal as black cabling looks more professional and offers a custom look in the interior of a PC enclosure. The sleeving is tight-knit and not prone to running, although if bent at excessive angles, a bit of sleeving will bunch up where the cable is bent.

The third improvement is the use of an anti-scratch locking mechanism. Most SATA cables have metal locking mechanisms which hold the cable in the connector, but over time, this mechanism can wear out. This means that the cable will no longer be securely held in place when connected to a storage or optical device, resulting in intermittent connection issues.

SilverStone solves this issue by "utilizing [a] precision designed and manufactured connector". I found the connector to be very effective in ensuring that the cable remains connected to a device. I now actually prefer this method of securing pesky SATA data cables over the commonly seen metal latch and locking mechanisms; the CP07 is simply much easier to install and remove.

The CP07 is well built and includes EMI shielding to prevent it from being affected by errant interference. I suspect that the cable itself is made by BizLink, a highly regarded manufacturer of high-quality cabling, although I cannot confirm this. It's worth noting that both the CP03 and the CP04 SATA data cables carry the BizLink name on their outer cable shrouds.

Since the CP07 is based off the CP03 and CP04 cables though, I would assume that the CP07 is also a BizLink cable, but to confirm this would mean to cut away the black sleeving on the cable. Regardless, the CP07 is an attractive option to the usual SATA cable fare found in motherboard accessory bundles, which are usually black, red, blue or yellow in color, and all are un-sleeved.

My only complaint about the CP07 is its length. The CP07 is 500mm in length, which is just over 19.5" long. This is good enough for use in mid-ATX enclosures, but those with full ATX chassis' may find the length to be a bit too short for proper cable management or extensive cable runs behind a motherboard tray for example.

Overall, I came away impressed with the CP07, and having owned both the CP03 and CP04 SATA data cables in the past, I knew what I would be getting this time around. The CP07 delivered on all fronts, and I feel that the price of the CP07 is justified for those enthusiasts who want a custom-sleeved look in their PC build as well as SATA 6Gb/s support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SATA 6.0 cables, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
Best throughput No other cables come close to the quality of these, I am a builder of high end systems and I wouldn't use any other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful 6Gb/s (all black) Cable, December 5, 2012
By 
Troy (New Albany, IN.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
I've bought six of these cables and all of them work great. I have three SSDs and these cables transmit around 6Gb/s speeds.
The locking mechanism is inside the connector and it's plastic or non-scratch.

I would recommend these cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saved my WD Black 2TB HDD install, where Amazon failed., April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
For some reason my Western Digital Black 2TB HDD didn't come with the locking tab/piece that the metal locking tab on SATA Cables locks into. I found this out last minute during the install.. THANK GOODNESS I had a feeling that I needed to purchase this cable the day after I purchased the HDD, just to "try it out". And it wound up saving my install. As all of the other SATA 3.0 Cables, even the higher end ones, all with the metal locking tabs would NOT work, they would slide RIGHT off. Well, this Silverstone CP07 held strong...

This connector literally locks onto the connector because of the SHEER build quality that Silverstone provides, and basically grips the connector itself and provides a nice strong fit.. Not to mention the VERY nice sleeving on this cable. This is just a very, very good buy... Will be using again on future installs and builds.

Note: These cables tend to be a LITTLE less flexible than your standard insulated SATA 3.0 Cables, because of the weaved sleeve. They will not bend super tight angles and such. Which may not be a problem, but it cause me a bit of an issue during the install.. But I was still able to make it work no problem. THANKS SILVERSTONE! You're the best! And thanks for picking up Amazon's slack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, February 4, 2013
By 
TTruong (Westminster, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
This is a quality SATA III cable which has been working consistently on a regular hard drive and SSD drive for over 2 weeks. Product came in nice plastic packaging with an issue date printed on the back. Cable is of perfect length for me also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, Looks Even Better!, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
For some reason, the metallic locking clip offered by other cables works well on my motherboard and mechanical drives, but did not work well at all with my SSDs. These cables on the other hand, perform great and fit very snug on the motherboard and on my SSDs. On top of it all the look fantastic. Highly recommend, especially if you have an open/clear side-pannel PC and are concerned with cable management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fit and Finish!, March 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
Best SATA cable I have used. The length is adequate and the snug latch-less design makes installation a breeze. I love the braided plastic covering. Seems to reduce rubbing wear as well as look great. Everything seems well done and very durable.

I would recommend this cable for any SATA related connections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok, November 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
it's ok but the missing latch becomes an annoying issue when you manipulate the cables and they disconnect frequently. finally i bought some BitFenix Alchemy Multisleeved Cables as replacement and they are way better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It works!, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
It works. What else is there to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good cable, with a little big prize tag, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Silverstone Tek 180 Degree SATA III Cable with Non-Scratch Locking Mechanism (CP07) (Personal Computers)
I bought it thinking that it was a bundle, but instead i got only one, i tried it and i'm not even mad!!!

The cable feels firm, durable and the external weave is a nice touch, not and indispensable one, but a nice one

The head pin fits firmly tight in the port, and the thickness of the cable doesn't allow odd twisting angles, that can damage the cable, so is a good inversion, in spite of the prize tag

Pros: good cable thickness, head pin fits firmly / tightly, good design, durable materials, good cable length for a mid tower CPU

Cons: the weave can be damaged with case / other inside computer innards and is more of a aesthetic extra, a little overprized
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.