Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pocket-sized book of ADD tips (if you have largish pockets)
I really like this book. It is pretty short, but it contains some very good ideas. I read it a few days ago, and picked up a few tips which I've been using. The brevity helps to avoid information overload, but there are plenty of citations throughout so that the reader can look into the research if they decide to.

The layout is great. It's easily readable from...
Published on August 10, 2006 by dame ethel

versus
83 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overly simplistic
This book is a strange mix between hints from Heloise and ADD suggestions, ranging from advice to use 'sock buddies' to keep your socks together and storing clothing in vacuum seal bags, to parking in the same place in every parking lot (so you can find your car) and dressing your children in bright colors when going into busy areas (so you can find your children). On the...
Published on January 9, 2007 by Synchronized


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pocket-sized book of ADD tips (if you have largish pockets), August 10, 2006
By 
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
I really like this book. It is pretty short, but it contains some very good ideas. I read it a few days ago, and picked up a few tips which I've been using. The brevity helps to avoid information overload, but there are plenty of citations throughout so that the reader can look into the research if they decide to.

The layout is great. It's easily readable from cover to cover in one day, but it is also very easy to jump straight to the relevant idea when you need it. I like the fact that there are exercises at the end of each chapter to help with synthesising the information.

My only complaint is that, in the descriptions of ADHD, hyperactivity is normally assumed, so for inattentive types it can be hard to relate to some of the examples. But the tips have been useful and they seem like they would be applicable for all types of ADHD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical and effective, July 30, 2006
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
Hi, i'm reading alot of books on adhd and this was one of the most practical books i've ever read on the subject. In fact it's so practical that I wished all authors will follow this example because it's not so lengthy where it's boring, it's the most no nonsense book i've read on the subject. I've read a similar book from Thom Hartmann's add sucess stories and this book was way better organised into 10 practical chapters. The suggestions were also similar yet so much better in this book.

After reading this book, I for the first time in my life cleared all cluttered from all of my rooms and still kept it tidy. I should read up on managing money because i'm overspending way too much this month. It's good because it's almost like a reference manual, you can alway go back and check the chapter that you need to work on. Okay it doesn't get overly specific, still I don't have many complaints about this book. You won't be disappointed with this book, keep it handy, it's a good reference manual and it's among the best i've read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overly simplistic, January 9, 2007
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
This book is a strange mix between hints from Heloise and ADD suggestions, ranging from advice to use 'sock buddies' to keep your socks together and storing clothing in vacuum seal bags, to parking in the same place in every parking lot (so you can find your car) and dressing your children in bright colors when going into busy areas (so you can find your children). On the plus side, it's very simple reading. On the minus side, it's superficial and only occasionally practical. If you want more solid solutions, try a different book. My favorite: ADD-friendly ways to simplify your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't lose this book, March 8, 2006
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
In 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD, Dr. Stephanie Sarkis provides a roadmap for people with ADD to reclaim control of their chaotic and often frustrating lives. Her tips are straightforward, practical, and doled out in bite-sized morsels that can be consumed easily within the attention span of someone with ADD. Despite the title, this book contains valuable tips for anyone who wants to improve their efficiency of daily living. Who wouldn't benefit from learning how to organize, prioritize, simplify, and unclutter their lives and their surroundings? But if you do have ADD, either read Chapter 4 first or buy two or three copies in case you misplace it before you finish reading it.

Richard Moskovitz, M.D., psychiatrist and author of Carousel Music and Lost in the Mirror, 2nd Edition: An Inside Look at Borderline Personality Disorder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To the Point, February 16, 2007
By 
Charlean Souligne (Port St. Lucie, Fl. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
I found this book to be very helpful. As a person with ADD, and who has family members with ADD I have explored many techniques, many ideas, many ways to cope. However, as I tell everyone, sometimes you need a tune-up. This is a tune-up book. You can grab it off the shelf, turn to the right chapter and get a refresher on the dos and don'ts one needs to live in the "normal" world. For whichever problem is dominant at the time, you can find solutions.

The solutions are quick and easy to read. They are helpful, without prolonging the information. There are other sources available on this subject, but they take so long to read and then digest and then put into practice, that by the time you get to the end of the book, you are either over stimulated or you forgot why you started reading the book in the first place. Not so with this book. When Ms. Sarkis says 10 simple solutions, that is exactly what she means. Now if you want to read and digest more detailed tomes, be my guest, but for me, quick and to the point is what I need.

When I want a reminder, or a little jolt of reality to stop the clutter or organize my thoughts, this will do it. Rarely do I have time to sit and read the more in depth books on this subject. But I do need to keep myself on track and this is an immensely helpful tool.

Whether you are looking for self help or for ideas to help others, here it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense, practical guide., October 3, 2006
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
10 Simple Solutions To Adult ADD: How To Overcome Chronic Distraction & Accomplish Your Goals by Stephanie Moulton Sarkis, Ph. D. (Adjunct Assistant Professor of Counselor Education at the University of Florida) is a solid self-help guide to developing lifestyle patterns to offset the disadvantages for attention-deficit disorder in adults. The techniques to improve concentration and memory, manage money and time better, and raise self-confidence, while especially invaluable to adults with ADD, are also quite useful for lay readers of all backgrounds. From the "Five Box" method for sorting one's possessions (fix it, give it away, keep it, don't know, and garbage) to the value of using alarms in wristwatches to keep track of time (especially while on the computer) to using a seven-day pill container to ensure one takes the correct dosage of one's medication over the course of a week, the advice in 10 Simple Solutions To Adult ADD is invaluable. Additional tips for diplomatically disclosing that one has ADD, picking up nonverbal cues in social situations and much more round out this no-nonsense, practical guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncluttered solutions - perfect for an ADD'er, March 29, 2007
By 
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
As a woman with ADD, with two sons who have ADD, I can use all of the help I can get. The book was very straightforward. I liked it because there was not a lot of extra material to wade through mentally. ADD'ers need quick, succinct, solid solutions. This is a great book for newly diagnosed for Adults with ADD who have a lot on their plate..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overly Simplistic and Patronizing, August 2, 2010
By 
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
While this book has some useful tips regarding organization, productivity, and changes for a healthy lifestyle, I was so put off by the tone that I never finished reading it. Some of the tips are either very obvious ("Be cautious with your social security number" / "Protect your credit cards" / "Hold on to your jewelry") or patronizing ("Tie a ribbon around your car antenna so that you don't lose your car"), and the writing style that is so simplistic that it lacks transitions and varied sentence structure. In short, this book seemed at times like an insult to my intelligence. I understand the benefits of writing a book with lots of white space and short sections with multiple subheadings, especially when writing for an ADHD audience; however, a book does not need to be written on a fourth- or fifth-grade reading level in order to be ADHD friendly.

Furthermore, the author sometimes gives overly simplistic advice regarding topics about which she is not necessarily an expert. For example, she instructs readers to avoid extended warranties, citing a Consumer Reports article that said they are a waste of money. While it is true that extended warranties are generally a bad deal, it is also true that some of us accident-prone ADHD-ers have learned from experience that we could really benefit from having an accidental protection plan for our laptops and other expensive portable electronics! This could have been mentioned next to the blanket statement that extended warranties are always a ripoff.

Her advice on good careers for ADHD-ers gives a brief list of ADHD-friendly careers, a list which seems to lack careful thought and/or research. The jobs she suggests may be good for people whose ADHD problems are mainly caused by hyperactivity, but several seem very poor choices for those who are inattentive. She suggests that being a waitress is a good ADHD job, but that seems like a poor fit for someone who has difficulties with short-term memory or auditory processing, as many people with ADHD do. She also suggests teaching, a job for which you need excellent organizational, time management, and long-range planning skills, very good control over your emotions, the ability to focus in an environment that is sometimes full of distractions, and the ability keep both yourself and 30 students on task at any given time. Sounds like a perfect fit for someone who has been struggling with these very skills for their entire life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, depending on what kind of help you need, February 18, 2008
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
This was one of the first books I read on Adult ADD, and I liked it. It did have allot of good ideas, and covers just about all areas. If you need help with organization and time management, I'd recommend "ADD Friendly Ways to Organize Your Life" before this book, but if your focus isn't on just those two issues, this book has broader info, covering other topics, such as the workplace and social skills. So, get this book depending on your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well organized book to keep you organized., March 7, 2006
This review is from: 10 Simple Solutions to Adult ADD: How to Overcome Chronic Distraction and Accomplish Your Goals (The New Harbinger Ten Simple Solutions Series) (Paperback)
I am a psychiatrist who has been treating adults with Attention Deficit Disorder for many years. Stephanie Moulton Sarkis writes a simple easy to use book that many will find full with suggestions that will simplify the lives of the people who read this book whether or not they have ADD. For those with a short attention span, it is perfect because they can read it for a short time, learn something and go back to it later and benefit again.

The resources listed at the end of each chapter also make this book more useful in enabling the reader to take concrete steps.

I particularly like the idea of an Organization Buddy. This was a new idea to me.

All in All this is an excellent book that I will be recommending to my patients
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.