Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MVP for Wedding Ideas
The philosphy of this book is even more useful than the stunning pictures are. When I was planning my weding, it was so easy to be overwhelmed with the choices and ideas available. This book offers a 1-2-3 approach than can simplify some of the decision-making, at least as far as decor is concerned. While I too was occasionally frustrated by my location not fitting into...
Published on October 5, 2005 by S. Casey

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Photos, Unhelpful Text
I was hoping that this book would help me get creative and plan my idea wedding. Some of the photos were nice to choose color schemes, but I really found more luck with that on the internet. The book is geared toward helping you choose the type of wedding that you want. I had already chosen my venue, so most of the book was not applicable. I found the text to provide...
Published on August 20, 2008 by Music Lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MVP for Wedding Ideas, October 5, 2005
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
The philosphy of this book is even more useful than the stunning pictures are. When I was planning my weding, it was so easy to be overwhelmed with the choices and ideas available. This book offers a 1-2-3 approach than can simplify some of the decision-making, at least as far as decor is concerned. While I too was occasionally frustrated by my location not fitting into any of the "themes" given, the point of the book is to inspire brides to work WITH their locations, rather than against them. By doing so, I saved a lot of time, effort, and money by not trying to make my location into a castle or a country club when it was a renovated school, but rather embracing the beauty of the architecture and gardens already there.

Aside from the basic philosophy, the pictures are incredible. I love thumbing through this book even though my wedding is over, just for the beauty of the photography and the creativity of the ideas. This book, along with Bridal Bargains, gave me the wedding I wanted with the budget I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Wedding Planning Bible, August 17, 2007
By 
Dena Mopsik (Redmond, Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
I used this book to plan my wedding that happened in May '07, which was done without a wedding planner. My wedding was held in a historic, beautiful synagogue and historic beautiful hotel (similar to the country club chapter). So many of our guests have commented directly to us or my parents about how beautiful our wedding was -- and I have to say this book helped me more than any other. Simple Stunning Weddings guided most of my decor decisions over the 9 months that I spent planning our wedding.

For starters, I used this book to communicate with my florist -- it was extremely helpful for that. So many of my friends and family have commented on how stunning our flowers were -- we used fresh seasonal flowers in colors that suited our venue but they were of a style and in containers similar to the ones presented here.

In addition, her ideas about where to splurge and where to save for a given venue were invaluable. Not only did they save money, but they also saved time and stress.

Her suggestion of bringing old family photos into a reception site was one of the biggest hits of my wedding -- both my husband and I found old photographs of our family going back to the early 20th century and had them displayed on a large table. People couldn't stop talking about them -- not just our relatives, but friends too. That suggestion cost us about $50 -- how great is that? Her idea to hire a swing band to harmonize with the classic space was another giant hit -- the dance floor was full until the band stopped at midnight.

I didn't copy her ideas, rather I adapted them for the synagogue and ballrooms that we used -- and I found it quite easy to do so. It is so easy to be overwhelmed by all the choices around planning a wedding -- everything from table linens to wineglasses to lighting to picking a band -- it was wonderful to have her photos and text to guide and influence our decisions.

I spent nine months being fairly wedding obsessed while planning our wedding -- I purchased many books and magazines, spent lots of time figuring out our options and looking around for ideas, and I have to say that the ideas presented here were the best resource I found. My other favorite book (in a very different vein) was Bridal Bargains -- it's discussions on how to hire vendors from photographers to caterers to dress shops informed and influenced all of our vendor selections. By doing so I hired great vendors right away and avoided many of the hassles that my friends went through while planning their weddings. I'm not sure how much money I saved through their suggestions, but they really do understand what good vendors look like -- which was tremendously helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Simplicity, January 14, 2006
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
The books offers simple, colorful pictures to indulge yourself in and set up in the most organized fashion. I was surprised at how much information it actually offered once I started reading the book. The text goes beyond the design efforts of the wedding and takes you into the scheduling of the wedding, the tasks that will be developed throughout the preparation of the wedding, wedding day preparations, tips on selecting the the venue & dealing with the people involved and just basic advice on every single detail. I found the book very helpful since it was seperated in different chapters according to the type of venues. The floral ideas were amazing since it offered simplicity using color tactics rather than quantity tactics. I only wished there were more weddings per each theme to compare. Such as three different 'vineyard' weddings, so it would offer more ideas within each particular theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - great ideas!, August 29, 2005
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book that contains many wonderful ideas aimed at people who are "coordinating" their own wedding. It offers many different and simple solutions that not only cost less than traditional methods, but look beautiful as well. My only complaint is that the book is sectioned out by ceremony/reception location and if your location is not among those listed, it requires you to cross-reference to other sections to find ideas that would work. Also, the website that you are sent to for more information not listed in the back is not helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Photos, Unhelpful Text, August 20, 2008
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
I was hoping that this book would help me get creative and plan my idea wedding. Some of the photos were nice to choose color schemes, but I really found more luck with that on the internet. The book is geared toward helping you choose the type of wedding that you want. I had already chosen my venue, so most of the book was not applicable. I found the text to provide really common sense descriptions and I don't think that I would have found it to be helpful at any stage of wedding planning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ideas, August 4, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
This book has really beautiful, vivid pictures. The ideas are very simple and very stunning! I use it as inspiration and show it to many of my clients to explain ideas about certain looks. I especially like the use of color in this book. It is one of my favorites because it contains lots of fresh ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so stunning..., May 28, 2008
By 
Milupa (Dover, NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
In all seriousness this book isn't really that ingenious. Everything that's in this book revolves around the advantages and disadvantages of your "reception location". Although it does provide some good advice, it's quite lackluster. I went off the reviews of this book and I'm not impressed.

I must mention that I'm an artistic & strong minded person who knows what she likes. For those of us who have a clear idea of their reception, skip the book, it's not worth the money.

If you have no idea how or what you want your reception to be like, this book will most likely come in helpful. It has the run down on the "typical" types of wedding reception locations. I stress the word typical. It does not include reception/banquet halls whatsoever.

Even if you fall into the catagory above, I strongly recommend you save your hard earned cash for something actually useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did Not Want the Book to Finish, November 14, 2008
By 
L. Fowler (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
What caught my attention about this book is the simplicity of it all. Too often we see so many wham bam showstopping wedding creations. Yet, the author's creations were just as if not more stunning than the 'hooplah'. The author provided great tips and ideas. She eased the readers mind by focusing on the little things and not the overwhelming things. The point she brought out was that in the end the wedding is about two becoming one. It's about love. She provided simple tips on how to create beautiful settings. Sometimes less is more, and that was the gist of what I got out of this book. I highly recommend to any that are practical, yet seeking elegance and simplicity. You don't need elaborate centerpieces to create that special look. Even the simplest of things can exhibit much more beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great -- and surprisingly budget friendly -- advice, January 14, 2009
By 
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
This was by far my favorite design book that I used for planning my wedding; I read it multiple times. It not only has wonderful, inspiring photographs, but it also gives great design and planning advice that is easily applicable no matter what venue, or what budget you have. I was surprised that such a pretty coffee table book could be filled with substantive advice on how to make your wedding meaningful and memorable rather than a crude celebration of stuff. It's so refreshing to find a book that is useful for setting the theme/mood of a wedding even if you don't have thousands to spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ideas, April 9, 2009
This review is from: Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration (Hardcover)
If you are looking for unique and simple ideas for your wedding, or really any party, this is a perfect book. So many weddings now have the huge over powering centerpieces, if that is not your style this is an awesome book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Simple Stunning Weddings: Designing and Creating Your Perfect Celebration
$35.00 $25.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.