Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 26, 2011
I received the case of this spice very timely and love the quality. All I need to do is heat it up and add pepper and I have the start to not only a great dish but healthy nutrient as well ... heating activates it and adding pepper helps it cross the blood-brain barrier. I add it to scrambled eggs, soups, fish, poultry, stir-fry, just about anything ... even oatmeal with my cinnamon and raw sugar or stevia.
44 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
I am only buying my spices from Simply Organic from now on. They are packed in glass containers, which I love and the taste is perfect. I have tried many of their spices and I love them all. I highly recommend this company.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
Simply Organic ground turmeric is delicious. I trust Simply Organic ground spices and find the taste is better than what I used from the grocery store. I use copious amounts of turmeric. You can even add it to mac and cheese for increased yellow color and enhanced flavor.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2010
Tumeric is one of the foods that Dr. William Li recommends for his anti-angiogenesis diet. It has also been shown to enhance mental capacity. Simply Organic Tumeric is mildly flavored and the color is sensational.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an excellent turmeric for cooking; apart from practicing your skills in the wonders of that cuisine, consider your microbiota and their health.

The Good Gut: Taking Control of Your Weight, Your Mood, and Your Long-term Health establishes the case for the importance of gut microbiota, and documents the author's research and findings. They've done a lot of work to start to understand the role of diet in good health, and what they're finding is that a diet rich in dietary fiber helps to keep the microbiota happy. Also, because different microbes feed on different things, diversity in your diet is key. Broadly speaking, you're after a wide range of beans, whole grains, seeds, and vegetables. And you'll want to consume foods rich in microbiota accessible carbohydrates. It's a fascinating read that goes well beyond dietary recommendations. They are doing the direct research into what makes your microbiota happy, and have some amazing findings based in good science.

The back of the book includes a recipe section to set the tone for this type of beneficial food choice. Turmeric cashews became one of my favorite snacks of the week. They're substantial and filing, and microbiota friendly. The recipe in the back of the book is excellent.

Turmeric Cashews

2 cups raw cashews
1/2 tablespoon toasted sesame oil, plus more if needed
scant 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt, or to taste
half an 8x8-inch sheet nori seaweed
1 1/2 teaspoons sesame seeds
scant 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 tablespoon ground turmeric

Toss the cashews with the sesame oil and sea salt and toast in a 350F oven for 5-10 minutes, or until golden, tossing once along the way. Remove and toast the seaweed for a few minutes. Allow it to cool and crisp, then crumble it. Combine the seaweed, sesame seeds, and cayenne in a mortar and pestle, and grind together. In a bowl (one that won't stain) toss the cashews with the sesame spices and turmeric, really go for it. If you need to add a few drops of sesame oil, do so to moisten things up a bit. Taste and adjust the seasonings, to taste.

Makes 2 cups.

Inspired by the Turmeric Cashews in The Good Gut: Taking Control of Your Weight, Your Mood, and Your Long-term Health by Justin and Erica Sonnenburg.

Prep time: 3 min - Cook time: 10 min

If you can't get to an Indian specialty spice store, a very good choice for turmeric is Simply Organic Organic Tumeric 2.38 OZ (Pack of 6). At the specialty store, sharing a bit of this background will encourage the shop keeper to give some of the good stuff:

"Turmeric production and trade in nearby areas of Sangli city follows a centuries-old practice — storing turmeric in pits. These pits stretch far out in the open fields of the villages of Haripur and Sangalwadi. It is possibly the most unusual agricultural commodity-storage system in the country.

After clearing the loose soil covering the pit, it is left open for about two to three hours. One cannot enter the pit until one finds out if there is any oxygen within. To ascertain this, a lantern is lowered into the pit. If the lantern does not go out, it is safe to enter the pit.

"It was this ingenious storage system, devised over 200 years ago, that turned Sangli into a major trading centre for turmeric. Raw turmeric sold by farmers is stored in these pits, eighteen to twenty feet (five to six metres) deep, for three to four years. The pits provide the best storage facility for turmeric, as the quality of the commodity remains unchanged. The turmeric hardens and matures while in storage. Today, more than 80% of the turmeric trade in India takes place in Sangli." from Wikipedia

Robert C. Ross
May 2015
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
This is the best Tumeric I have found. I use it a lot on vegetables. I was hoping it would help my inflammation but so far no real results.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
Good product at a good price. Taste is better than most, very mild, and not overpowering by any means. Would buy again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2016
Tumeric is probably only known to most people as the spice the gives curry its yellow color but did you know it is also has medicinal properties?

Tumeric has been used in India for centuries as both a spice and medicinal herb. The main active ingredient in tumeric is curcumin which is a powerful antioxidant with anti-inflammatory properties.

Western science has recently started to validate some of the benefits that have already been known in South Asia for ages. A 2012 study found improvement in patients with rheumatoid arthritis when they were given curcumin. The curcmin performed just as well as toxic prescription anti-inflammatory drugs and without the nasty side-effects. Animal studies have also been done showing curcumin wards off cancer growth. Another 2012 study found that adding tumeric to high fat meals may regulate triglyceride levels and help protect the cardiovascular system. This is indeed a super spice.

You definitely want to add tumeric to your diet but before you go and start self-medicating with it, please note that in large doses tumeric can inhibit blood clotting and can make gallbladder issues worse. When used in culinary amounts (a teaspoon goes a long way), tumeric does not usually have any side effects but some people have reported dizziness, nausea, diarrhea, and/or upset stomachs.

I have never had any issues with tumeric and I have been using it 3 to 4 times a week in recipes for years. I will use a pinch of tumeric to season stir-fried veggies and chicken, salads, and scrambled eggs. I will also add it to my soup bases and to plain rice pilaf for its flavor and color.

Simply Organic's Ground Tumeric has excellent texture, taste and aroma. Plus... it is organic. I highly recommend this top notched tumeric.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an excellent turmeric for cooking; apart from practicing your skills in the wonders of that cuisine, consider your microbiota and their health.

The Good Gut: Taking Control of Your Weight, Your Mood, and Your Long-term Health establishes the case for the importance of gut microbiota, and documents the author's research and findings. They've done a lot of work to start to understand the role of diet in good health, and what they're finding is that a diet rich in dietary fiber helps to keep the microbiota happy. Also, because different microbes feed on different things, diversity in your diet is key. Broadly speaking, you're after a wide range of beans, whole grains, seeds, and vegetables. And you'll want to consume foods rich in microbiota accessible carbohydrates. It's a fascinating read that goes well beyond dietary recommendations. They are doing the direct research into what makes your microbiota happy, and have some amazing findings based in good science.

The back of the book includes a recipe section to set the tone for this type of beneficial food choice. Turmeric cashews became one of my favorite snacks of the week. They're substantial and filing, and microbiota friendly. The recipe in the back of the book is excellent.

Turmeric Cashews

2 cups raw cashews
1/2 tablespoon toasted sesame oil, plus more if needed
scant 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt, or to taste
half an 8x8-inch sheet nori seaweed
1 1/2 teaspoons sesame seeds
scant 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 tablespoon ground turmeric

Toss the cashews with the sesame oil and sea salt and toast in a 350F oven for 5-10 minutes, or until golden, tossing once along the way. Remove and toast the seaweed for a few minutes. Allow it to cool and crisp, then crumble it. Combine the seaweed, sesame seeds, and cayenne in a mortar and pestle, and grind together. In a bowl (one that won't stain) toss the cashews with the sesame spices and turmeric, really go for it. If you need to add a few drops of sesame oil, do so to moisten things up a bit. Taste and adjust the seasonings, to taste.

Makes 2 cups.

Inspired by the Turmeric Cashews in The Good Gut: Taking Control of Your Weight, Your Mood, and Your Long-term Health by Justin and Erica Sonnenburg.

Prep time: 3 min - Cook time: 10 min

If you can't get to an Indian specialty spice store, a very good choice for turmeric is Simply Organic Organic Tumeric 2.38 OZ (Pack of 6). At the specialty store, sharing a bit of this background will encourage the shop keeper to give some of the good stuff:

"Turmeric production and trade in nearby areas of Sangli city follows a centuries-old practice — storing turmeric in pits. These pits stretch far out in the open fields of the villages of Haripur and Sangalwadi. It is possibly the most unusual agricultural commodity-storage system in the country.

After clearing the loose soil covering the pit, it is left open for about two to three hours. One cannot enter the pit until one finds out if there is any oxygen within. To ascertain this, a lantern is lowered into the pit. If the lantern does not go out, it is safe to enter the pit.

"It was this ingenious storage system, devised over 200 years ago, that turned Sangli into a major trading centre for turmeric. Raw turmeric sold by farmers is stored in these pits, eighteen to twenty feet (five to six metres) deep, for three to four years. The pits provide the best storage facility for turmeric, as the quality of the commodity remains unchanged. The turmeric hardens and matures while in storage. Today, more than 80% of the turmeric trade in India takes place in Sangli." from Wikipedia

Robert C. Ross
May 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
I take in milk with pepper for psoriasis twice a day and it works better than any medicine I have taken. Mild taste and careful because it stains. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.