Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Song After Classic Song
This is the 2nd album to be released by JP in 1977 and was their first one for CBS. This album was ignored in America even though it received tremendous press reviews. Lightyears ahead of its 1st album, this is their third release and it's classic heavymetal with some of the best ballads to ever be released. Here are my reviews of the songs based out of 5 *****:...
Published on March 6, 2005 by doggiedogma

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not for me.
I was going to give this album the two stars but considering that Dissident Aggressor is one of my favorite Priest songs, I had to give it an extra one. Yeah, I'll probably get some flack with giving it the three stars but honestly as a Priest fan, this album does not do it for me. My two favorite Priest albums are Sad Wings of Destiny and Painkiller and after knowing...
Published on August 20, 2010 by erock


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Song After Classic Song, March 6, 2005
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
This is the 2nd album to be released by JP in 1977 and was their first one for CBS. This album was ignored in America even though it received tremendous press reviews. Lightyears ahead of its 1st album, this is their third release and it's classic heavymetal with some of the best ballads to ever be released. Here are my reviews of the songs based out of 5 *****:

"Sinner" - From the opening wail of the guitar to the hard surging bass and guitar, this song makes me want to repent! Very Sabbath sounding. Some great guitar distortion and fantastic wah-wah solo by KK. Solid drumming from session man Simon Phillips (too bad he didn't join the band - he was the best drummer they had!) A classic metal epic/anthem. Rating - *****

"Diamonds and Rust" - A Joan Baez tune done right by JP and Rob. Joan is a great story-teller and Rob sings tremendously. Done at a mid-tempo pace. Very haunting. Fine drumming from Simon again makes this piece. I love this version. Rating - *****

"Starbreaker" - Drum solo opens the song for some hard crunching guitar. Rob is again in fine form. A quicker paced song. Solid bass playing from Ian and good drumming again. Rating - ****

"Last Rose Of Summer" - A GREAT piece! No matter that it is a ballad, it is just a fantastic song! Sung heart-wrenchingly by Rob. A great love song that would have been a hit if done by a pop singer. Rob's range is on full display here. A nice clean guitar accompanies the piece. Tremendous. I would love to hear it live! Put it in the live set! Rating - *****

"Let Us Prey/Call For The Priest" - I love this tune! Opens with a church sounding guitar and organ proceeding....into the fastest song on the album. The seeds of "Freewheel Burning" and "Screaming for Vengance" are heard here. These songs are heard on this tune. The only difference is that this is "Freewheel Burning" and "Screaming" with brains. The song has intelligent lyrics with a speedmetal sound. NEEDS TO BE PLAYED LIVE! Great soloing done by Glenn and KK. Speedmetal before it became speedmetal. Some great wails by Rob! Rating - *****

"Raw Deal" - Another underated song. This is Priest at its best! A song about going to into a gay bar wasted. This also should be put into the live set! A great crunching, metal song. Rob sounds mean and animalistic. Great drumming. Nice tempo changes throughout. Fantastic guitar playing from Glenn and KK. Alot of distortion. Great high-pitched screams by Rob to end the song. Would love to hear live! Rating - *****

"Here Come The Tears" - A short haunting melody and song about lost love. Some fine acoustic guitar and solo from Glenn, with piano accompianment. Rob once again shines on this tune. Rob cries out for love and you can feel the sorrow and anguish overflow. More fantastic wailing by Rob to end the song. GREAT SONG. Once again, needs to be put into the live set. Rating - *****

"Dissident Aggressor" - A CLASSIC! Heavy metal would never be the same after this. THE HEAVIEST song ever! Well ahead of its time! This also needs to be put into the live set. (Slayer covered it, 'nuff said) Rating - *****

Overall, an album well ahead of its time. A pure metal masterpiece! If you don't have this you are nothing but a metal poser. Their sound changes on the next album, Stained Class (Exp). For better or worse? See my review to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinister Priest Remastered, April 9, 2002
By 
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
WOW! Let me first start off by saying that each Judas Priest studio effort is a distinguishable classic. The Judas Priest Remaster series is both good and bad. Good because each studio release sounds sonically superior to the old versions. All of them sound clean, crisp sounding from Sin After Sin through Painkiller. Also good on some of the reissues are the studio bonus tracks. I will review each bonus track as I review each reissue, some are better than others. The bad part about the studio ablum remasters series is the live bonus tracks (do not be confused, the live bonus tracks on both live reissues are great, and I include those bonus tracks in the reviews). ALL the live bonus tracks are lousy. The sound quality is good, just the performances are uninspried, and lame. From Sin After Sin's Jawbreaker (Halford sounds weak here) to Painkiller's Leather Rebel (which is made worse because it's rpobably the weakest song on Painkiller). If you are a fan who has all the studio albums already and are looking to wet your ears with the live tracks, forget about it, they will let you down. Seriously, the songs off of the Halford-less 98 Live Meltdown are more inspirational than these live bonus songs. Well that sums up the Remaster Series as a whole,
now on with the individual review...
Sin After Sin is Judas Priest's debut in a sense. And in alot of ways. The major one being for a major label, CBS. The other being produced by (at the time) former-DP bassist Roger Glover.
This album pretty much sounds like no other in the Priest cannon.
It's metal, rock, contemporary, etc. THeir are beautiful ballads like Diamonds and Rust, Last Rose of Summer, and Here Come the Tears. Their is Rock like on Starbreaker, Call of the Priest.
And finally is their METAL. Sinner is just balls out METAL! Great song to open the album, but it is Dissident Aggressor that closes the album that is pure METAL HEAVEN!!! Halford is at his vicious best on the vocals. If this song does not make you head bang, then my friend, you are not METAL. As for the studio bonus track, Race With The Devil is a raw sounding, straight ahead rocker. Good
bonus track. To me, SAS is their best 70's album, and probably their best overall in their career. Sinfully delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Rose of Summer makes me weep, December 12, 2001
By 
KSG "ksgnyc" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
This CD is great, Last Rose of Summer and the remake of Diamonds and Rust are achingly beautiful and heartfelt. The rest of the CD rocks! The sound quality is a little dry and compressed, but it somehow it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - I Think of It as Sad Wings Part 2, December 4, 2002
By 
Ghost of Metal Past (Circle Pines, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
Sin After Sin is a great metal album. Fantastic composition and musical execution. I like to think of it as Part 2 of Sad Wings of Destiny. The production has a 70s tone to it but the songs do not sound dated in any way. The songwriting on Sin After Sin is true to classic heavy metal. The songs sound much heavier when played live using more modern sound technology. For proof look at Slayer's South of Heaven where they included a cover of Dissident Aggressor. If it's heavy enough for Slayer, you aren't going to mistake it for generic 1970s arena rock. The remaster has improved the sound a lot compared to the original version I had on tape. The studio bonus track is also decent. Better than the ones included on the other remasters. The live track of Jawbreaker is run of the mill.
To sum up. None of the original tracks is weak. The composition avoids all rock songwriting cliches. The guitar work is masterful. Simply stated - Sin after Sin was years ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sacrifice to vice...., September 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
In the spring of 1977, Judas Priest released their first major label album, 'Sin After Sin', and with this record the band firmly established themselves as the new innovators of this thing called heavy metal. Devoid of many of the cliches that many followers and Priest themselves would be guilty of by the middle of the next decade, 'SAS' was a pretty unique record with many stlyes that Priest would rarely revist again. The lp kicks off with a seventies metal classic and the title track, "Sinner", an epic by anyone's definition. Brilliant drumming, fantastic hellspawn vocals and the legendary dual guitars are all in attendence here. Downing even emulates his hero Jimi Hendrix during the slow tempo mid-section. Other metal standards include "Starbreaker", "Call for the Priest" (speed metal indeed!!) and much beloved track from hell "Dissident Aggressor" (awesome power from Rob!). What makes this album a curiousity is the inclusion of some much slower material and of course the Joan Baez cover "Diamonds and Rust" which I have never cared for but many metal fans seem to like. Following up possibly their greatest record and a metal landmark like 'Sad Wings of Destiny' was no easy task but Priest would meet that challenge for the rest of the '70's. One note on the bonus tracks for this reissue, I think "Race with the Devil" is one of the better of these songs since it also fits in with the album chronologically, which you can't say the same for many of the others and because of the rawness of the sound, simiiar to early Schenker UFO in some ways. Why "Jawbreaker"??? Why not "Sinner" or even better "Call for the Priest" or better yet why bother with these live cuts from overly familiar songs in the first place! Anyway, get this record for a prime example of late seventies, changing of the guard, metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stellar Major-Label Debut!, April 3, 2007
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
A solid example of a major label debut, 1977's Sin After Sin, while unnoticed at the time, stands as a foundation to the mighty heights that Judas Priest would soon exceed. Not as dark and morbid as what Sad Wings Of Destiny was or what Stained Class would become, this release occupies a still-powerful middle ground between those two landmarks. Highlights include "Sinner" (easily one of the best driving songs ever), "Let Us Prey/ Call For The Priest", "Starbreaker", "Raw Deal" & (on the 2001 remaster only) "Race With The Devil".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No band sounded like that in those days... simply superb!, November 9, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
Sin After Sin is often received with mixed emotions. Firstly, it isn't a commercial music product at all, which makes it fascinating. A masterpiece to be slowly digested. This album is one of Priest's most intriguing, yet brilliant productions. It touches many musical ranges... it is heavy (ie. the Sinner), brutally heavy (Dissident Aggressor), furious (Call for the Priest), soft and moody (Last Rose of Summer), atmospheric (Raw Deal) and soulful (Here Come the Tears), et all.
Rob Halford's vocals and lyrics are at their peak here. Glenn and KK's guitars are imaginative, skillful and impressive. Ian Hill's bass is... hmmm, let's better skip that with Simon Phillip's (then still an teenager!!!) incredible drumming. Until this day I still can't believe some of the prodigious and intricate drums parts he laid down for those sessions (unfortunately, he only acted as a session player). Simon started a whole thrashy drum movement with his dexterity in Sin After Sin.
Roger Glover's production here is frequently critized for not achieving a heavier sound, but I disagree with that, as the end result is just what was needed musically.
The real beauty of Sin After Sin is that one can actually listen to many new subtle things each time one listens to it, no matter how many times played back... and that simply doesn't happen often these days. IT HAS MAGIC ALL OVER IT. This is a must item in any rock CD collection. A timeless classic and my favorite Priest album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very nice album!, November 13, 2001
By 
R. Recchia "reck" (blodgett mills, ny) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
This is a very intelligent heavy metal album! It's only
downfall may be it's production. The other person who reviewed
this album heard some KANSAS and QUEEN influences here. Did we
listen to the same album, for I hear not one bit of those two
bands here, tho' I DO hear a big BLACK SABBATH influence, especi-
ally on the heavy metal classic,"Sinner". This is one of my all-
time favorite JP songs ever!IT KICKS, MAN!!! "Diamonds And Rust"
is an absolutely brilliant Joan Baez cover, sung with tons of
emotion by Rob Halford.
"Starbreaker" is a very catchy hard rock
number, with some great drumming by Simon Philips, who also
does an outstanding job on the very fast paced,"Let us Prey"
and the album's high octane rocker,"Dissident Aggressor". Both of
these last two songs feature some blistering hot guitar work by
Tipton and Downing and also sport some very memorable guitar
riffs and licks, if there is a difference! I'm also quite fond
of the ballad "Here Come The Tears", featuring some more emotion-
al singing from Halford.
I just picked up the remastered version
of this album and it's nice to finally have the lyrics to these
songs, especially "Raw Deal", which I've never understood and
even with the help of a lyric sheet, still don't understand!
I must say, I'm surprised at how strong the bonus studio track
"Race with the devil" is! This is a killer hard rock song, with
some very exciting lead guitar playing!!
I,m going to guess that this song was recorded during the
sessions for HELL BENT FOR LEATHER,for the vocal intro sounds
like the beginning of SAVAGE from STAINED CLASS and the guitar
and drums at the intro sound like the beginning of the title
track for HELL BENT.
GREAT ALBUM!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy, classic Priest., May 18, 2005
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
"Sin after Sin" is frequently overlooked by Priest fans when considering their favourite album, but it's one that does not get the attention that it so deserves. Sure, compared to today's standards, this is not very heavy stuff (except Dissident Aggressor, which is one of the heaviest, most rockin' pieces of music ever), but the new remaster greatly assists with the sound quality.

Some classic Priest material is to be found here, such as Sinner, Diamonds and Rust, Raw Deal, Starbreaker and Raw Deal. The ballads are trippy and fun, but are overshadowed by the crushing metal found elsewhere on the album.

Let Us Pray/Call for the Priest is an instant classic, a true pioneer in speed metal. Halford's vocals are off the wall here, as the bands creates amazing texture and taste on the quickest song on the album. The riffs here are incredible, as Downing and Tipton are in excellent shape.

Dissident Aggressor is my favourite track on here, a slow build-up leading to a monsterous, earth-shattering scream and ridiculously heavy guitar work. Slayer wish they were this heavy on their 1988 cover (although the cover is indeed worthy).

If you purchase the remastered edition, there are two bonus tracks, Run with the Devil, a fun demo track, and a live version of 1984's Jawbreaker, which is awesome. Overall, an incredible album, and one of Priest's top 5 for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginning of a more METAL era, May 13, 2008
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
Sin After Sin is eternal. One of my favorite albums ever.
Contemporary and far beyond its time. Maybe because they had just left Gull Records and may have acknowledged the fact that they were starting to write history as they were engulfed by history itself, helping invent this thing that gave shape to our world as we know it, this thing called Heavy Metal.
Am I exaggerating? Nope.
Roger Glover of Deep Purple fame produces this artwork, but the Universe conspired with the making of this album in many ways.
A young 19 year-old guy is responsible for the drums and percussion of Sin After Sin. You know his name? Yep, I'm talking about Simon Phillips, my friends. He was freaking 19. I, myself a brazilian percussionist and drummer, can't say how awesome the drumming in this album is. Call For The Priest/Raw Deal simply gives you such an impressive beat: hammering but classy, heavy but stylish, constrained and yet explosive. Pure genius, along with virtuose.
70's virtuose. And the energy of a 19 year-old.
Enough said?
I don't think so. But I don't want to leave a song by song description of this album. This IS a MASTERPIECE that has to be on your shelf, period! From the cover, designed by Bob Carlos-Clark, nowadays one of the world's best known photographers of women (look for Shooting Sex, his book on the subject) to the last song, it's all pure classic.
One of my favorites album ever.
The band actually started to make some money after this one, so this is the point where you can call them pros. This is the band that helped these Birmingham guys to become one of the greatest Heavy Metal bands ever.
Oh yes, legend has it that Sin After Sin was recorded in a week...
Pure Classic!
Enough?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sin After Sin
Sin After Sin by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.