Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music this good has got to be a 'sin'
i thought this cd was fantastic. from the first time i listened to it i was blown away, and still to this day...it doesnt bore me or get a bit repeative. its that good. i'll go through the tracks for ya:
1.Sin(long): this song is the as the title suggests, the longest mix on the cd. its 5minutes or so long, but its great. Trents vocals sound like they were being...
Published on February 10, 2001 by viktim

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of waste, but get it for "Get Down Make Love"
This is a tough single for me, as I think virtually every review of this points out-- really, its quite the weakest of the "Pretty Hate Machine" era Nine Inch Nails single, primarily because of how awful the "Sin" remixes are, but in the midst of this is the, "Get Down Make Love".

The "Sin" mixes first though, remixed by Adrian Sherwood and Keith LeBlanc, who...
Published on May 24, 2005 by Michael Stack


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music this good has got to be a 'sin', February 10, 2001
By 
This review is from: Sin / Get Down Make Love (Audio CD)
i thought this cd was fantastic. from the first time i listened to it i was blown away, and still to this day...it doesnt bore me or get a bit repeative. its that good. i'll go through the tracks for ya:
1.Sin(long): this song is the as the title suggests, the longest mix on the cd. its 5minutes or so long, but its great. Trents vocals sound like they were being spoken though a bullhorn. about 3 minutes into it, it gives you a taste of what the Dub version is like. its general mood would be angry, but retains a similarity to both the original version and short version.
2.Sin(dub): this song is about 5minutes as well. this song is mostly instrumental with the exception of the words 'lies' 'sin' and 'control'. its sorta like this song were a repeating mental break, focusing on what went wrong. this song is so unlike the other versions of this song. but it is fantastic.
3.Get Down Make Love: this song is a queen cover. its 4minutes and 19seconds long. this is something you have to hear for yourself. it is one of the most amazing covers i've ever heard. you should hear this song live...fantastic.
4.Sin(short): just like the title says...the short version. its about 4minutes and 16seconds long. this one is most like the original version of Sin found on Halo2. this version has a more sad vibe than the angry/agressive nature of the Long version. both the Short and Dub versions are perSiNal favorites of mine.
this is something you should definitely buy. at under 20minutes this cd doesnt get tiring. and the brilliant remixing of LeBlanc/Sherwood is amazing for these songs. they retain the original meaning of the song. as for the cases...the domestic cover is red and gold, and on the back purple and gold. the cd itself is purple and comes in a thin jewel case(think the case halo8 came in). the import comes in digi-pack case and is black. it has mini-PHM art work on the inside. the cd is black and the titles are arranged a wee-bit different. anyway you want it, and anyway you get it...you should definitely get this...your cd collection is naked without it.
Erased, Over, Out....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trent gives you the reason, January 19, 2000
By 
St. Chris (Browns Mills, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sin / Get Down Make Love (Audio CD)
The customer reviews here may read like a broken record, but believe the hype: "Get Down Make Love" is one of Trent's finest productions. Between that and the Opal mix of "Head Like a Hole" (available on Amazon!) you get a taste of NIN's evolution from Pretty Hate Machine toward Broken and The Downward Spiral. The "Sin" remixes are great when you want to dance it up to variations on the first album, but my CD player is locked onto track 3.

Hint: If you can tape or burn DJ-style compilations with high cueing precision, try to follow GDML with "Closer." If the first beat of "Closer" follows the rhythm of GDML's end sample from "We Will Rock You," it's an eye-popping segue. I did this on a mix disc for myself, and it does not fail to knock listeners over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The overseas Sin of NIN?, June 11, 2000
By 
michael brunac (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sin (Audio CD)
This is the import version of NIN's single "Sin." It contains four excellant tracks which are in a different order then on the domestic release. The Short version of sin is superb and holds true with the original version with a catchy 4/4 beat. The Long version is very off from the albulm version, but includes interesting ambience and loops that add another dimesion to Sin. The Dub version of Sin defies the boundries of industrial music and even crosses over into reggae here, with Trent's best bass line ever. Also on this CD is a cover of Queen's "get down, make love" which simply blows the original out of the water. The intro of "Get Down..." consists of splices of cable show interviews and porno movies which is worth the cost of the CD alone. I highly recommend getting the import version, as it comes with a glossy black digipak, as opposed to the ugly red and blue colours of the domestic jewel case. This is the best halo from the best NIN song, period!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant song, excellent single, March 19, 2000
By 
"cenobite_" (Innsbruck, Austria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sin / Get Down Make Love (Audio CD)
Get Down Make Love is the only song on this Maxi CD that is not a remix of Sin. Though being an excellent retake on a not-so-excellent Queen song (Did somebody say a remake of a song can't ever beat the original?) the three Sin versions are even better: Sin (Short) is quite different from the album version, and, as I claim, even a bit better (though this is hardly imaginable if you know the original). The longer version is weirder but just as great, and the dub is wonderfully original. This is my personal favorite NIN single - and that really means something, for there are many excellent NIN Maxis around. If you're a Halo collector try to get the stylish black version (import?). It contains the same songs (in a different order), but it looks much more beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best PHM tracks, One of the best EPs, August 25, 2003
This review is from: Sin / Get Down Make Love (Audio CD)
I hope this review will make you, the reader, "take in the extent of my sin" after rading this.
Sin (Long)- is the best track here at about 6 minutes long.
Sin (Dub)- is pretty cool. I like all the keyboards in this one.
Get Down, Make Love - Queen is the last band I'd expect Trent Reznor to cover but this song is just brilliant.
Sin (Short) - This is a good version of Sin. It's pretty much the same version on Pretty Hate Machine extended about 16 seconds.
Overall this EP is pretty damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best single from Pretty Hate Machine, August 11, 2000
This review is from: Sin / Get Down Make Love (Audio CD)
Sin is by far the best single from Pretty Hate Machine. It contains three remixes of Sin (my personal favorite song on PHM), all of which are great variations of the original. But the real gem of this single is the cover of Queen's Get Down Make Love. I know that's basically what everyone says, but it's true!
Trent's cover is better than the original version, and one of the best Nine Inch Nails songs to date. This single is only a couple bucks, definitely worth the price of admission. Even if you didn't like Pretty Hate Machine, I'd still recommend you give Sin a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've changed my mind..., February 24, 2000
This review is from: Sin (Audio CD)
Okay, so the release of the Fragile blew everything out of the water. Including Trent's earlier work. I must amend my comment about Sin being my favorite NIN song. All the same, this is a good album and worth buying after you've already bought the Fragile, TDS, Broken, and PHM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uh-Huh!, January 10, 2000
This review is from: Sin / Get Down Make Love (Audio CD)
A single worth the few bucks. I have to agree with most of the reviews. The best part of this CD Single is the re-make of Get Down Make Love. Trent does an EXCELLENT job. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool remixes . . . yeah, whatever, November 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sin (Audio CD)
The remixes are fine, but the only thing you'll listen to a second time is the FANTASTIC cover of Queen's Get Down Make Love. Great song, easily worth the price of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...., April 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sin / Get Down Make Love (Audio CD)
Nine Inch Nails has a number of cover songs. This one of the only places to find "Get Down Make Love", and it's a good one. The Sin versions are good, too, so for the price, it's a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sin / Get Down Make Love
Sin / Get Down Make Love by Nine Inch Nails (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.