Customer Reviews
Sin


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The complexity of badness
This is a novel that deals not just with envy. Elizabeth and Ruth are cousins, and Elizabeth gets adopted by Ruth's parents when her own parents are killed. The girls grow up as sisters, but all along Ruth develops an incredible ill for Elizabeth, even though she doesn't do anything to provoke that resentment. Ruth makes it her life's mission to destroy Elizabeth...
Published on September 14, 2000 by Manola Sommerfeld

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Sophomore Effort
I thought Sin was a crafty follow-up to Damage. Not as poignant, but a good read nonetheless. Some second novels are flat compared to the author's first release, but this is not the case with Sin. It is well worth your time although I do concede that it has an overall soap opera feel to it. The place names, plot, and characters can seem ostentatious at times so prepare to...
Published on December 8, 1999 by Sara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The complexity of badness, September 14, 2000
This review is from: Sin (Audio Cassette)
This is a novel that deals not just with envy. Elizabeth and Ruth are cousins, and Elizabeth gets adopted by Ruth's parents when her own parents are killed. The girls grow up as sisters, but all along Ruth develops an incredible ill for Elizabeth, even though she doesn't do anything to provoke that resentment. Ruth makes it her life's mission to destroy Elizabeth. Her dream is to see her in pain, suffering and humiliated. She resorts to extreme manipulations and convoluted schemes to achieve that purpose.
Ruth is an amazing character, who personifies badness in a thought-provoking way. Her selfishness, envy and greed are almost incomprehensible. How can a human being harbor such hate for someone who has never done anything wrong? This novel made me think and think about the issue. Is it possible that people are born bad? So many times i've heard that we are all born good, and it's circumstances that make us bad. Did Ruth turn bad when she saw her parents combing Elizabeth's hair? Was that the moment when Ruth became jealous of her cousin? What happened in subsequent years, how did that badness grow?
Almost as amazing are Elizabeth's reactions to her sister's attacks. As evil as Ruth is, so is Elizabeth gracious and forgiving. Elizabeth summarizes her philosophy of life during their final meeting, a cathartic episode for Ruth, who is deeply changed after that.
A fascinating, disturbing novel that i highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Sophomore Effort, December 8, 1999
By 
This review is from: Sin (Hardcover)
I thought Sin was a crafty follow-up to Damage. Not as poignant, but a good read nonetheless. Some second novels are flat compared to the author's first release, but this is not the case with Sin. It is well worth your time although I do concede that it has an overall soap opera feel to it. The place names, plot, and characters can seem ostentatious at times so prepare to make at least a small suspension of disbelief. Hart continues to explore the ideas of jealousy, obession and passion in Sin but not with the same effectiveness as with Damage. Overall, I would suggest Sin as an excellent rainy day, relax and have fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars obsessions can be fatal, February 5, 2002
This review is from: Sin (Mass Market Paperback)
I see this as a story of girl, Ruth, who carried burden of deprived childhood, deprived in an unusal way(being too lucky/capable). It develps in to a dream to see her cousin and adopted sitestr Elizabeth suffer in pain, in all possible secretive ways. On the other hand Elizabeth has practiced to love Ruth instead of fighting her, She didn't figure this out till Elizabeth told her of her strategy at a very late stage in their lives. If Damage is a good book, this is an excellent one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and wonderfully written, June 20, 2000
By 
Christopher M. Adams (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin (Hardcover)
Josephine Hart has a superb way with words. As a novelist, her writing is almost poetic; she can say in one paragraph, what takes Pat Conroy several pages. This novel, her second, is deeply psychological, mostly taking place in the mind of the main character. Unlike her first novel, Damage, it should not ever be made into a film. The book is short. I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic and Evil, June 16, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Sin (Audio Cassette)
She wraps her finger around you and entices you to enter her world. Ms. Hart has delivered yet another spellbinding novel. This book puts a spin on the typical good vs. evil. It takes you far into the villian's mind, her thoughts, her reasoning and makes you understand her hate, and recognize your own. Bravo for Joesphine Hart! Her fans await her next masterpiece...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very dark, mysterious, mesmerizing book, February 14, 2014
This review is from: Sin (Kindle Edition)
Strange story of Ruth, who holds eternal envy and cannot forgive the good Elizabeth for being in her life. Elizabeth is the victim of tragedy, and Ruth's parents adopt her. From the outset, Ruth sees Elizabeth as the malicious invader thwarting her birthrights. Ruth manipulates; she understands her strengths and uses them to destroy Elizabeth. It is obvious she is on the cusp of madness. The writing is all about style, and there is a dark, haunting, strange and mesmerizing quality to this book. I liked it better than The Stillest Day and Damage. How broken is Ruth? A wounded psychopath, and how perceptive is Elizabeth? Book is obvious in its construction, but it is persuasive just the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it totally., May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin (Kindle Edition)
It's been a while since I read it, but I remember that the jealousy of one and the actions of the cousin trying to stay out of the spotlight were the interesting parts of this book. The accident that should have drawn them together only added more anger. Trying to relate into my own life, I wold have cut off all contact earlier, but then there would not have been an interesting side of their lives. I don't think I was happy with the ending, but I understand it written that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best writing around, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin (Kindle Edition)
The story is painful, visceral, but in the hands of JS is not just a story--it's an exquisite, evocative art form, which is also very readable and fun. Wish she had written more books like this. Other than Damages, of course. This is one book I give to all my friends, and I never put my copy in the garage. When JH writes, "Memories--the living with them, and the killing of them--blur so much of daily life. We pick today's bouquet of feelings, sounds and smells, for tomorrow's contemplation," I savor it, then wonder how she can come up with some many excellent passages like that. The story itself and the plot, though also excellent in its rendering, is secondary to that. Those that dismiss this book because they don't like the story would likely dismiss David for being just a stone depiction of a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, May 6, 2013
By 
Chelsea Girl (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin (Kindle Edition)
This book was as good as Josephine Hart's most famous novel, Damage. I love Ms. Hart's writing style, it's thoroughly original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sin, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book I've read by this author. She has a very different style. It's almost dry, yet not boring at all. Her stories do not have happy endings, which I think is awesome, yet they are love stories just the same.

This book gives a glimpse into the truly disturbed mind of a young woman. The resentment she feels towards her "adopted" sister is profound and has been growing within her since she was a child.

She will stop at nothing in her efforts to destroy her sister. Her thinking is completely distorted and only when nearly all things are lost, due to her obsession, does she begin to make a sort of change in herself. But really, does a truly disturbed mind ever change?

This book made me think about many things. First and foremost, the things we contemplate within the confines of our minds. Most people may entertain irrational thoughts, but most don't act upon them. Ruth acts on them. All of them.

I found it very intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sin
Sin by Josephine Hart (Hardcover - August 25, 1992)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.