Sinatra At The Sands [with Count Basie & His Orchestra]

January 27, 2009 | Format: MP3

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: April 7, 1998
  • Release Date: January 27, 2009
  • Label: Frank Sinatra Enterprises
  • Copyright: 1966 Frank Sinatra Enterprises, LLC.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:15:52
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001P1MZNI
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (370 customer reviews)

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

90 of 94 people found the following review helpful By Bradly Briggs VINE VOICE on September 15, 2004
Format: Audio CD
Sinatra singing superb in Concert at The Sands with Count Basie And THE Orchestra arranged and conducted by no less than Quincy Jones, it really doesn't get any better than this! Opening with hot sounding Basie band, Frank smoothly launches into a superb "Come Fly With Me" then on to an engaging and fun "I've Got A Crush On You" then to a killer version of "I've Got You Under My Skin" finding Frank at his sophisicated soulful best! Torch time sublime with a richly sung "The Shadow Of Your Smile" then on to a riveting "Street Of Dreams" clearly showing why Sinatra is King! Four A.M. in a saloon the master serves a classic "One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)" and the audience goes crazy for this classic masterpiece! Sinatra incredible throughout this legendary event swings "Fly Me To The Moon (In Other Words)" like it has never swung before, one can feel the excitement from the audience and what a terrific time they are having. Sinatra's fun monologues were thankfully left in and what special moments these are, never growing tired and taking us back to another time and space in a very special way, Frank does a routine that is fun and funny about his friends Dean and Sammy that is priceless, Frank who had just turned 50, gives a personal view that is revealing and highly entertaining flowing in to definitive version of "You Make Me Feel So Young" brilliantly sung showing the master at his absolute peak in magnificent voice! Basie does a gorgeous "All Of Me" then Frank returns with a hauntingly brilliant "The September Of My Years" that is soulfully sung and amazing. A hot cooker "Get Me To The Church On Time" is another first-rate vocal as is the illuminating journey through years past in "It Was A Very Good Year", truly a Sinatra tour-de-force that was always a concert treat.Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
42 of 45 people found the following review helpful By R. Chan on June 14, 2005
Format: Audio CD
Never have I listened to a CD more than this one! You can tell by the opening song, "Come Fly With Me", that this was a night to remember. Sinatra's flirtatious rendition of "I've Got a Crush on You" is priceless. You will know why he's always associated with being a womanizer when you listen to this song. The energy he brings to the CD makes you apart of the crowd he's performing to. You feel right there, along with the wiseguy to your left, and the pretty madame to your right.

Moreover, the first few times I listened to him sing "One for My Baby" gave me chills right down my spine. But to remind you what an exciting and fun night it was, he quickly follows it up with another classic, "Fly Me to the Moon."

Nothing on this CD captures the moment like track 9, Sinatra's monologue. This was one of the best monologues out of the 2 weeks worth of concert monologues he gave at the Sands. He was charming, honest, poignant, and flat-out funny! And the crowd loved it, too!

(From what my memory recalls...)

"You know, people ask me, 'does Dean Martin really drink?' Well, let me tell you right now. He's a flat-out, unqualified drunk! If we had an Olympic drinking team, he would be the coach!"

Other times, he would talk about his upbringing, his life as a kid working as a river catcher at the docks. "This guy couldn't hit a bull's fanny with a bag of rice!"

His monologue reminds you why Sinatra is Sinatra.

If you are a Sinatra fan, and would love to own a gem that gave insight to Sinatra's life, personality and performance on stage, this album is the crown jewel. Not only is this album in my cd changer, it's on the top of the list on my iPod. =)

Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful By Lawrance Bernabo HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE on April 16, 2003
Format: Audio CD
"Sinatra at the Sands," recorded in April 1966, was the first Frank Sinatra concert to be released commercially. Sinatra is singing with Count Basie and his Orchestra, which was conducted by Quincy Jones. As you would expect, this is classic Sixties Sinatra, putting on a show for the Las Vegas crowd performing the songs you would expect the man to sing, starting big with "Come Fly With Me" and finishing even bigger with "My Kind of Town." The best of these tracks are "I've Got You Under My Skin" and "Come Fly With Me," where the arrangements for the Basie Orchestra are arguably an actual improvement over the original recordings. However, when Sinatra goes to his repetoire of saloon songs the results are more mixed; after all, he is singing in a really big room. One of my all time Sinatra favorites, "It Was a Very Good Year" is a bit disappointing for me, but this is offset by his performance of "Angel Eyes."
Sinatra's between song banter displays the expected level of charm, although the mavens of political correctness will wince several times while listening to some of the jokes in his rather long monologue. "Sinatra at the Sands" offers up almost an hour of live singing from Ol' Blue Eyes, once you subtract the talking, and shows that there are a few songs (e.g., "Luck Be a Lady Tonight") that you might actually prefer to hear Sinatra sing live. Final Note on Album Notes: The album notes by Stan Cornyn won the 1966 Grammy for Album Notes, his second year in a row for winning that award for a Sinatra album (See: "September of My Years"). Do they still give out that particular Grammy? Anyhow, I was vasilating between 4 and 5 stars for this review, but those album notes tip the scale up for sure.
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?