Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in the Sindbad Trilogy
Ludmila Zeman is a brilliant artist and solid storyteller. This beginning book in her Sindbad trilogy tells of two events on Sindbad's seven voyages. But first Zeman sets the scene by very briefly telling us the story of Shahrazad and how she saved her life by telling stories such as these to a cruel king. This book tells tales of how Sindbad mistook a whale for an...
Published on May 25, 2011 by Nicola Manning-Mansfield

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming Art
The art in this book is very charming, but we found the story-telling to be a bit stiff in places. Still, it's a great way to introduce younger children to Sindbad.
Published on September 2, 2005 by Theresa L. Ryder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in the Sindbad Trilogy, May 25, 2011
This review is from: Sindbad: From the Tales of the Thousand and One Nights (Paperback)
Ludmila Zeman is a brilliant artist and solid storyteller. This beginning book in her Sindbad trilogy tells of two events on Sindbad's seven voyages. But first Zeman sets the scene by very briefly telling us the story of Shahrazad and how she saved her life by telling stories such as these to a cruel king. This book tells tales of how Sindbad mistook a whale for an island, how he mistook a Roc's egg for a mountain and was carried by that Roc into a pit of jewels and deadly serpents. While the story, of course is entertaining, the illustration is breathtaking. Ms. Zeman explains in an Author's Note at the back how she "wanted to recognize Persian influence in the art of book illustration, calligraphy, layout, illumination, and border decoration." Thus she has created illustrations of high detail and authentic ethnicity to accompany the tale, truly blending the art with the story to bring a credible presentation of a Persian legend.

While the publisher has recommend the book for ages 6+, I think the writing style is somewhat mature for the younger audience, and even though this is a picture book, I personally would recommend for ages 8 and up. No one is too old to read this tale, appreciate the art and glean information from the Author's Note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book great service, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a beautiful book. Illustrations are wonderful with the flavor of Persian Rugs and tapestries. Story is well told. Kids were captivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting tales from Thousand and One Nights, March 13, 2012
This review is from: Sindbad: From the Tales of the Thousand and One Nights (Paperback)
I have borrowed this book, and the other Sindbad books by Zeman, from the library and my children (2 and 3 1/2 years old) are engrossed by the drawings and the writing style. When we checked it out from the library, I thought it had a look of the bizarre, but upon reading the book for many nights in a row, I became so interested in the drawings, which include much more information than is presented in the book's words, that I would become distracted reading to the children. The "stiff" writing style, mentioned in another review, is not stiff at all, but lends the story a certain mystic quality that plainer words would take away. My children may not understand every word, but they find the story just as stimulating to the imagination as I do. I am buying all 3 books in the trilogy, and when they are older, we will read the translations of the original text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting Book For Kids, August 16, 2011
This review is from: Sindbad: From the Tales of the Thousand and One Nights (Paperback)
This book covers two of Sindbad's seven voyages. Children who like exciting adventure stories will be thrilled by Sindbad's visit to the mysterious island that turns out be a gigantic whale, his ride on the talons of the great Roc, and his escape from the pit of vipers with pockets full of precious diamonds. The beautiful illustrations are bordered with motifs from Persian rugs, capturing the Arabian flavor of Shahrazad's tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming Art, September 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The art in this book is very charming, but we found the story-telling to be a bit stiff in places. Still, it's a great way to introduce younger children to Sindbad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d33bb94)

This product

Sindbad: From the Tales of the Thousand and One Nights
Sindbad: From the Tales of the Thousand and One Nights by Ludmila Zeman (Paperback - May 10, 2011)
$9.95 $8.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.