Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Tired of Singing with Redman on New CD
Prime Cuts: Dancing Generation, Once Again, 10,000 Reasons

Redman has taught us through his copious worship songs to "sing like never before." Combining both mass appeal and artistry, Redman has shown us time and again that worship songs can so appealing that thousands can sing in explosive praise yet they can also be Biblically poetic and sensitively...
Published on November 20, 2012 by Timothy Yap

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Matt Redman fans will love it
I have to say, I usually get cd's to change up the music that runs constantly on the radio. This cd is a combo of the current top 40 and what we sing at church. It's a bit slow in the middle and I do find I skip songs often. Regardless, if you are a Matt Redman fan you will find your favorites on this list!
Published 10 months ago by E. A. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Tired of Singing with Redman on New CD, November 20, 2012
This review is from: Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Prime Cuts: Dancing Generation, Once Again, 10,000 Reasons

Redman has taught us through his copious worship songs to "sing like never before." Combining both mass appeal and artistry, Redman has shown us time and again that worship songs can so appealing that thousands can sing in explosive praise yet they can also be Biblically poetic and sensitively insightful. Thus, with staples such as "Dancing Generation," "Blessed Be Your Name," "Once Again," "Better is One Day," Redman has successful utilized the winning formula of big anthems without letting his finger go as far as feeling the pulse for a fresh word from the Lord. Take his CCLI Top 50 song "Blessed Be Your Name" as an example--there is a transcendent manifesto in the build up of the song that is so gorgeous worshipful yet the words are by no means trite or repetitive. Other than Laura Story's "Blessings" and Hillsongs' "Desert Song," there is no song that deals with praising God in the midst of suffering with such a celebratory trust in God's goodness than "Blessed Be Your Name." This British worship leader indeed has a corner in worship music in that that he never avoids the pains and frustrations of life yet he has a way of bringing these exigencies into the transforming presence of God. These 15 songs on "Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection" are a testimonial to such a claim. Besides containing some of Redman's best known efforts, there is also a radio version of "10,000 Reasons," his own take of his co-write with Chris Tomlin "Our God," a brand new recording of "Better is One Day," and one newly written song "Love So High."

Redman has the way of imbuing his songs with a dynamic resolve to hold on to God and His faithfulness with a resilient vigilance. "Never Once" (the lead single from his last studio album "10,000 Reasons") is a prime example. Here Redman sings with a full throttled abandonment to God's faithfulness that is urgently brought out through the song's emotional built up and Redman all-out delivery. And worship doesn't get more intensively beautiful than in the new cut "Love So High." Starting off with a grand piano introduction before exploding into an exaltation of Christ's unparallel work on the Cross, this is worship at its most pristine form. With 250,000 digital track sales and populating at the peak position of the National Christian Audience Chart for a whooping nine weeks, "10,000 Reasons" is Redman's most successful song to date. The appeal is transparent: stringed together by a catchy chorus taken from Psalm 103 "Blessed the Lord O My Soul," "10,000 Reasons" glowingly testifies to Redman's holy resolve to praise God at the beginning of each day until his dying day and beyond irrespective of circumstances.

Inviting also is to hear some of Redman's older cuts. One of them being "Dancing Generation" a track taken from his stellar (and perhaps his best) worship album: "Facedown." While the younger generation are slowly leaving the church, Redman in "Dancing Generation" takes a stance of faith believing that God's hand on the young has never been lifted. God has and will continue to raise a new generation that will "shout his glory"--this song is indeed faith set in song. With heavier percussion with some Owl City enhanced electronic, it is great to hear again Redman's update of one of his earliest hits "Better is One Day." Though Redman is known for his rabble-rousing arena anthems, one should not forget that this English writer is capable of penning some of the most thoughtful ballads. "The Father's Song" and "Once Again" are essentially exquisitely written quiet reflections of the Father's love and the Son's sacrifice respectively.

Tagged at the tail end of the album is "Twenty Seven Million," a song co-written and performed with British rappers LZ7. Inspired by the real story of a girl from Eastern Europe who was a victim of the evil sex trade, "27 Million" is an urgent plea to the church to help the twenty seven million people currently trapped as human slaves. This song has touched so many hearts and hands, that it even made it to the UK mainstream chart at number 12. Nevertheless, at the end of the day, essential collections or greatest hits packages are nervous affairs. On one hand, "best of" collections are great for the casual listener as they have the artists' most notable songs on one disc. But for the diehard fans they are exercises in frustration: this is because every fan will have their view as to what song constitutes "essential." But with this track list here, the quibbles will not be substantial as all of these songs here are not only essential, they are vital in forging our worship of Him to deeper depths and higher heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Worship CD!, May 30, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
I listen to this constantly, never gets old, and I have given several as gifts. You can't go wrong with Matt Redman CD's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably not the best Matt Redman album, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
I purchased this album for "10,000 Reasons," but the other songs on it are not as uplifting. A good album, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I think this is Matt's very best. I really love every song, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
I think this is Matt's very best. I really love every song, which is unusual for me. I am very picky and usually only like a few songs per album..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He sings from the soul!, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
I love to hear Matt Redman - he sings from the soul and touches mine!
I feel closer to God when I listen to him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are Matt Redman fan this is the record to get, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This greatest hits collection from Matt Redman is awesome! Every song is holy inspired and I highly recommend this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth having for "10,000 Reasons", May 1, 2014
By 
Michael Dalton (Eureka, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
The number of Matt Redman songs that are now familiar in modern worship circles is amazing. Some may wonder if they know any. Sing like Never Before: the Essential Collection brings the best together with a few bonuses, and listeners will mostly likely recognize some of these contemporary standards that are sung in churches around the world.

The opening “10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord) – Radio Version” is as memorable as anything that Redman has done and makes its first appearance on CD. Check your spiritual pulse if this has no appeal. Included are new recordings of “Our God,” Better is One Day” and “Love So High.”

One need not look further than opening lines to find poetic imagery:

The sun comes up, it's a new day dawning
It's time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

In “You Never Let Go” Redman enshrines a truth that we might consider astonishing if we avoid mindlessly singing it:

Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me

God never lets go in every low? Isn’t that when we feel most abandoned? This promise is something to remember when a high is a distant memory.

Aside from being able to hear the original artist singing classics in our age, you get to hear the lesser known that deserve recognition like the new “Love So High.” Along the same lines is the tender, stripped-down, keyboard driven, “The Father’s Song.” It’s the heart making melody. It may especially resonate with the broken, those desiring a quiet sense of God’s presence. The same subdued longing is found on the better-known, “The Heart of Worship.”

One of the more unusual cuts is the closing, “Twenty Seven Million,” which also makes its debut on CD. It serves to raise awareness and offer hope in relation to human trafficking. It is a collaboration with LZ7, a dance/rap group that give it a strong urban vibe.

Redman lives in Brighton, East Sussex in the United Kingdom. The driving Brit pop/rock of artists like Delirious is in evidence, which adds to the appeal for a younger audience.

Redman may not be as celebrated as an artist like Chris Tomlin, but he is in the same class. Redman is a co-writer with Tomlin and a couple of others on “White Flag,” which is included on Tomlin’s new Burning Lights release. The two have shared stages and continue to do so as those that lead a new generation in worship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Focus in the Words!, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderful to be able to meditate upon the truths of God's character with such melodic songs! A total gift to listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Again, Matt Redman does an excellent job of singing songs that are solidly grounded in God's truth and full of worship from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection
Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection by Matt Redman (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.