Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have Resource, March 14, 2011
By 
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
From the cover this book doesn't look like it's going to be impressive, but inside it's a wealth of information. Easy to use with excellent photos of each step and clear instructions, it covers everything you need to know to teach yourself to sew, including pattern usage, basic pattern adjustment, types of closures, etc. Definitely a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference!, December 13, 2010
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
I like this book because of its great pictures and detail, however, I have found that I need more! It is certainly a great starter book, and something to keep by the table because of its easy to read design. I like the detailed pictures of the hems and sewing methods but I would like a bit more, about foot attachments and how to sew different hems with different feet and other useful shortcuts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really fantastic resource, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
This is an amazing basic sewing resource.

I learned how to sew from a family friend. She did a great job, and I learned enough of the basics to make simple outfits. But since I learned things the way she did them, I ran into problems when I started to try to sew patterns myself. There were all these techniques I didn't know! All these stitches I had never heard of! And this book includes just about everything I could have a question about.

This is a great, well-illustrated, easy-to-understand resource that covers the basics of... well, everything. It explains different presser foots, different seams, bias tape, pattern adjustments, waistbands, collars, zippers, and more. It shows you how to do different machine stitches and hand stitches.

So if you need a resource of sewing fundamentals? This is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner Gift, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
This was purchased as a gift for a beginning sewer. It is a good book that covers just about all basics needed to get started. I'd buy it again if I need a book to encourage a new sewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginner or Advanced Reference Book, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
I just love the book, I got this and the Machine Quilting and there is nothing better than a Singer Sewing Books for learning or advanced Singer is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
this is a great book for all that sew it si very helpful and full of information and is very easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eye opener, March 1, 2014
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
I read this book, easy to understand, and discovered a few helpful hints concerning my NEW Singer 9960 sewing machine that was not included in its operating manual. Would recommend to anyone who is just starting out or even us sewers who are transitioning from an ancient 50 yr old Kenmore to a new computerized model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for any skill level!, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
Lots of great tips and information. I am an intermediate level sewist and I found lots of great information in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth getting the "Essentials", October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
While browsing I wasn't sure if I should get the extended version or this "Essentials" one. I've got the Singer New Sewing Essentials.

I'm a beginner sewer; I've got a Singer sewing machine a few weeks ago and I've been having classes for 7 weeks now. Money-wise speaking, it was a good idea to get this one because I still have so much to learn and every basic sewing information is great for a beginner. I am surprise with the amount of info; it delivered more than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition (Paperback)
This book had the exact things that was asked from my professor and it helped me through out the semester/ quarter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition
Singer New Sewing Essentials: Updated and Revised Edition by Editors of Creative Publishing (Paperback - November 1, 2008)
$16.99 $12.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.