Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air Supply Unplugged, January 23, 2007
By 
Missy G (In the Deep South, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singer & The Song (Audio CD)
Amazing! I love this cd. A perfect blend of Russell's strong powerful voice combined with Graham's husky voice makes pure magic. Just their two voices and a guitar. I couldn't believe it when I heard it for the first time. I enjoyed the dvd that came with the cd. I wish they had recorded all of the songs from the session instead of just four but it was great seeing them in the studio. This cd is a must have for any air supply fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giving me a new love of the old hits, February 24, 2007
By 
Joseph F. Pauswinski (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singer & The Song (Audio CD)
How could I "re-discover" Air Supply? As a fan for over 20 years and having been to many concerts, I thought I had heard it all. After" Greatest Hits" there would naturally be "Greatest Hits--Live." What else could there be?

One year's concert tour was just piano with guitar and their two voices. Graham told the audience that they like to do this every few years to keep the harmony strong and vibrant. Part of the appeal to me of Air Supply has always been the balance between Graham and Russell's voices. The lush orchestrations were like icing on the cake.

But now, the orchestration, the piano, and everything else have been removed. What remains is something new and still beautiful but in a different way. My long-time personal favorite, "The One That You Love", always seemed to stand out from the other songs. Now it is just one of many beautiful canvases painted like gentle watercolors with only two voices and guitar.

The beauty is the simplicity. It reveals what most fans have felt for years but perhaps were unable to explain. The voices, music, and lyrics were individually strong; but the blending is subtle and seems effortless. You can now hear and see how they crafted the songs. And it really seems as if they are enjoying what they do.

I could listen to this over and over and find even more to enjoy. I highly recommend it to both new and old fans. It is also a great way to show the difference between playing notes and creating music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pipes are gone but emotions live on, November 8, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Singer and the Song (Audio CD)
Ok so Russel Hitchcock doesn't have the pipes he used to...but boy they can still deliver. This album will go down as a classic Air Supply release. The concept of the album is so simple yet not a lot of artists have actually done it. Listening to the songs, it makes you feel as if it's just you in the room with them singing especially for you. The song choices are obvious (these are songs most people, both fans and well, non fans, might have heard them on the radio at least once in their lifetime) and that's the only downside (except for one, Love and Other Bruises from I believe 1975). One hit they seem to always leave out, even in live album recordings (It Was 30 Years Ago Today) is the song Goodbye, which happens to be one of the best they've ever done! Overall, the album is very good; the sound quality is good; the emotion in their voices is there; it's romantic; it's serene...it's Air Supply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an Air Supply Treasure... A MUST have !, February 26, 2006
By 
David C. Weeks (Winter Garden, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singer and the Song (Audio CD)
This is yet another example of their hidden genius. An outstanding recording and video of Graham and Russell's everlasting talent. The DVD disc contains a beautifully produced,high quality, entertaining view of Air Supply in Graham's studio. This live acoustic performance is truly a remarkable work that displays their pure craft and love.

Without a doubt, Air Supply's The Singer and The Song shows why this group continues to draw large crowds worldwide. The interviews and selected songs are great ! Don't be afraid to buy and give as a gift... This is a TREASURE! - David Weeks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, July 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Acoustic remakes of Air Supply's greatest hits. Wonderful renditions of these great songs. A must for any Air Supply fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singer and Song, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer & The Song (Audio CD)
This CD takes the classic songs to a whole new level. The just voice and guitar showcase the real beauty in both of their voices. This CD is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A unique treat for Air Supply fans, October 5, 2010
By 
Amyliz (Arlington, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer & The Song (Audio CD)
I loved Air Supply when I was a kid in the '80s. In college I grew to love acoustic music. These days it seems everyone is making acoustic versions of their old songs. But this does exactly what any "remake" should - it makes the songs BETTER. If you're not a fan of unplugged, acoustic music, it might not be your cup of tea. But I found that stripping away all of the extra, plugged in instrumentation (especially the ones that tended to be somewhat bombastic - though I loved those bombastic ballads as a kid), lets the messages of the songs be revealed in a tender, touching way. A delightful album.

From all out of Love - "I'm lying alone with my head on the phone, thinking of you 'til it hurts. I know you hurt too but what else can we do? Tormented and torn apart". I could never make out that last phrase on the original pop recording! LOL. Again, the stripped down bare way of singing this makes it even more poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Newly-recorded, acoustical versions of classic Air Supply hits will SURPRISE you, August 18, 2007
This review is from: The Singer and the Song (Audio CD)
I am a die-hard Air Supply fan. That being said, I was reluctant to buy this recording for fear of owning yet another compilation of the same songs. I finally made the purchase this year and have been VERY pleasantly surprised and rewarded. These are the same songs, but, they have been made new again via newly-recorded, acoustical versions. Both vocalists are in prime form. All songs are beautifully rendered, familiar, yet, refreshingly-new. Both casual AND die-hard fans will enjoy this recording. Go ahead and buy it: "Don't be Afraid"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Air Supply: The Singer and The Song, July 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singer & The Song (Audio CD)
hello i'm truly Air supply 's fan. i recommend to you,this is one of the best Cd
i've ever had.Graham put all his talent on the acoustic guitar..with Rusell voice it's incredible and beautiful melodies. Only guitar and voice
if you really like air supply music. Once again this is a best cd.
and thank you to all Amazon Staffs..the best service on line...i recieved this Cd only 5 days...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Singer & The Song
Singer & The Song by Air Supply (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.