Customer Reviews


547 Reviews
5 star:
 (338)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (66)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfactory Karaoke Mic
I decided to rig up a karaoke system using some karaoke software and an old pc, but of course i needed microphones. Most importantly, these look right- this is what you want to be holding when you are singing. They sound good enough for karaoke use, but only when i ran them through a USB mic adapter. When i was running them through a mic/line in port, the volume was very...
Published on August 2, 2012 by Alex U

versus
33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It works
It works, but not much better than the cheapie one that came with the karaoke player. It has slightly better volume, but when singing higher notes, it can crackle. It is nothing fancy, but it does work. The only thing that puts this mic above other cheaper mics is it comes with an adapter for computer use. Order it if you really need one that doesn't break the bank, but...
Published on May 26, 2012 by Wonder Woman


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfactory Karaoke Mic, August 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
I decided to rig up a karaoke system using some karaoke software and an old pc, but of course i needed microphones. Most importantly, these look right- this is what you want to be holding when you are singing. They sound good enough for karaoke use, but only when i ran them through a USB mic adapter. When i was running them through a mic/line in port, the volume was very low and it was very hard to balance it with the music. That's why I'm docking them one star. On the other hand, most computers would only have 1 mic port anyway, so if you want to sing with a partner you're better off getting a pair of cheap, identical, usb to mic adapters. The build quality was pretty decent and very important, they come with a 3.5mm adapter so you can connect them to most computer equipment as it uses that TRS size (its native 1/4 inch or 6.5mm). So if you want to sing karaoke at home, buy a pair of these and if you're looking to hook them up to a PC don't forget 2 cheap usb sound adapters. They're definitely worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Karaoke microphones, March 23, 2011
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
I had looked for a while before I found the correct microphones for my kids Karaoke machine. These work great and a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karaoke Microphone, July 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
This karaoke microphone works great with our Insignia karaoke machine. It also comes with a 3.5mm adaptor which comes in handy to plug the microphone into your stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It works, May 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
It works, but not much better than the cheapie one that came with the karaoke player. It has slightly better volume, but when singing higher notes, it can crackle. It is nothing fancy, but it does work. The only thing that puts this mic above other cheaper mics is it comes with an adapter for computer use. Order it if you really need one that doesn't break the bank, but if you can afford a few dollars more, look for a better one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mic and seller! A+++++, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
My daughters birthday and she loved it.Singing Machine SMM-205 Dynamic Karaoke Microphone with 10-foot Cord worked very well with the Singing Machine SML-383 Portable CDG Player Karaoke Machine, Black. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Great!, November 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
This is the perfect choice for a kids karaoke machine. It works great and you can't beat the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on, December 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
Arrived in a timely manner, works perfectly with my daughters karaoke machine. Could not be happier..we had so much fun with my daughter & her friends at her 11th Birthday party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I need it, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
I bought this mic. not too sure of how it would work because its price is cheap. but it was great for my karaoke machine and I came back and order another one. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine for a karaoke machine, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
I bought the Ion karaoke machine, which comes with a wireless microphone that barely works. I bought this microphone, and it sounds so much better.

Is this a professional sounding microphone? Of course not, and it would not be realistic to expect it to be at this price point. But for my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter it is "magic" because she can hear her voice nice and clear when she sings karaoke. The 10.5 cord is also nice because she can walk around the room when she sings, just like with a wireless microphone.

The sound on this is more than acceptable, and I don't notice any distortion or crackling.

Bottom line: If you are looking for a basic inexpensive microphone for a karaoke machine, this will do the trick nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks and feels great - NEVER judge a book by it's cover!, May 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singing Machine SMM-205 Unidirectional Dynamic Microphone with 10 Ft. Cord (Electronics)
We were looking for a low-cost microphone to add to our karaoke machine and, based on the good reviews on here, went ahead and purchased one. It was well-packaged and came with convenient adapters. Physically, it felt well-built and sturdy. This mic worked fine at first, and sounded decent for the price. Over a few weeks, it started working intermittently and also introduced lots of hum into the machine. Then the switch started malfunctioning to the point where you had to hold pressure on it to keep the mic on. It was too late to return the item, so we bought another one thinking it was just a fluke. The new one worked out of the package, but after 1/2 hour of singing, it started doing the same thing, and eventually stopped working altogether. Two chances is all this manufacturer gets. I would not recommend this mic to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.