Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.85 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Singing on Record

Richard [Classical] Wagner , Bruno Seidler-Winkler , Selmar Meyerowitz , Selmar Meyrowitz , Rosario Bourdon , Leopold Ludwig , Albert Coates , Eugene Bigot , Eugene Bogot , Clemens Schmalstich , Leo Blech , John Barbirolli , Thomas Beecham , Karl Elmendorff , Rudolf Moralt , Hans Udo Muller , Issay Dobroven , Fritz Zweig , Carlo Sabajno , Piero Coppola , Frieder Weissmann , Johannes Schuler , Fritz Zaun , Robert Heger , Philippe Gaubert , Siegfried Wagner , Ernst Viebig , Carl Alwin , H. Defosse , Eduard Mörike , Berlin State Opera Orchestra , Orchestre Symphonique , Orchestra Alessandro Scarlatti , Philharmonia Orchestra of London , London Symphony Orchestra , Bayreuth Festival Orchestra , Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra , La Scala Theater Orchestra & Chorus , Gramophon Orchestre Symphonique , Monte Carlo Conservatory Concert Society Orchestra , Staatskapelle Berlin , Pasdeloup Concert Association Orchestra , Vienna State Opera Orchestra , Staatskapelle Berline und Chor , London Philharmonic Orchestra , Royal Opera House Covent Garden Chorus and Orchestra , Hans Hermann Nissen , Arthur Endreze , Royal Opera House Covent Garden Ensemble , Elisabeth Schumann , Lotte Lehmann , Florence Austral , Lauritz Melchior , Max Lorenz , Horst R. Laubenthal , Walter Widdop , Friedel Beckmann , Marta Fuchs , Elisabeth Rethberg , Hans Hotter , Birgit Nilsson , Germaine Martinelli , Georges Thill , Gladys Parr , Ben Williams , Tiana Lemnitz , Torsten Ralf , Maria Muller , Maria Reining , Herbert Hanssen , Gerhard Hüsch , Kirsten Flagstad , Aureliano Pertile , Marjorie Lawrence , Martial Singher , Hina Spani , Margarete Klose , Marcel Wittrisch , Helge Rosvaenge , Frida Leider , Elfriede Marherr , Anny Helm , Nanny Larsen-Todsen , Meta Seinemeyer , Germaine Lubin , Alexander Kipnis , Fritz Wolff , Marcel Journet , Maria Olszewska , Dr. Emil Schipper , Emanuel List , Herbert Janssen Audio CD
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Performer: Hans Hermann Nissen, Arthur Endreze, Royal Opera House Covent Garden Ensemble, Elisabeth Schumann, Lotte Lehmann, et al.
  • Orchestra: Berlin State Opera Orchestra, Orchestre Symphonique, Orchestra Alessandro Scarlatti, Philharmonia Orchestra of London, London Symphony Orchestra, et al.
  • Conductor: Bruno Seidler-Winkler, Selmar Meyerowitz, Selmar Meyrowitz, Rosario Bourdon, Leopold Ludwig, et al.
  • Composer: Richard [Classical] Wagner
  • Audio CD (October 11, 1991)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Label: Angel Records
  • ASIN: B000002S2M
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #399,130 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Der Fliegende Hollander, Act I: Die Frist Ist Um - Hans Hermann Nissen
2. Der Fliegende Hollander, Act I: L'heure A Sonne - Arthur Endreze
3. Der Fliegende Hollander, Act II: Jo-Ho-hoe... Traft ihr das Schiff - Martha Fuchs/Friedel Beckmann
4. Der Fliegende Hollander, Act II: Jo-Ho-hoe... Traft ihr das Schiff - Elisabeth Rethberg
5. Der Fliegende Hollander, Act II: Wie aus der Ferne - Birgit Nilsson/Hans Hotter
See all 11 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Tannhauser, Act II: Dich, teure Halle - Maria Muller
2. Tannhauser, Act II: O Furstin! - Max Lorenz/Maria Reining
3. Tannhauser, Act II: Blick' ich umher - Herbert Janssen
4. Tannhauser, Act III: Wohl wusst' ich - Gerhard Husch
5. Tannhauser, Act III: Allmacht'ge Jungfrau - Kristen Flagstad
See all 14 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. Tristan und Isolde, Act I: Doch nun von Tristan! - Frida Leider/Elfriede Marherr
2. Tristan und Isolde, Act II: Dein Werk? O thor'ge Magd - Anny Helm/Nanny Larsen-Todsen
3. Tristan und Isolde, Act II: Isolde! Tristan! Geliebter!/O sink hernieder - Lauritz Melchior/Frida Leider
4. Tristan und Isolde, Act II: O konig das kann ich dir nicht sagen - Lauritz Melchior
5. Tristan und Isolde, Act III: Und drauf Isolde - Lauritz Melchior
See all 12 tracks on this disc
Disc: 4
1. Die Walkure, Act III: Ai-je a ce point merite qu'on me blame - Marjorie Lawrence
2. Die Walkure, Act III: Adieu, superbe - Marcel Journet
3. Die Walkure, Act III: Leb' woh! - Rudolf Bockelmann
4. Siegfried, Act I: Auf wolkigen Hoh'n - Hans Hermann Nissen
5. Siegfried, Act III: Wirr wird mir seit ich erwacht - Maria Olszewska/Emil Schipper
See all 12 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Anthology December 1, 2009
This anthology of Wagner's vocal music, recorded between 1927 and 1957, is not quite as interesting as its Verdi counterpart Les Introuvables Du Chant Verdien. While the large majority of its recordings date from that wonderful period between 1927 and 1939 when one could hear so many of the century's greatest Wagnerian singers (Flagstad, Leider, Lehmann, Lawrence, Seinemeyer, Lubin, Lemnitz, Müller, Klose, Melchior, Völker, Ralf, Lorenz, Thill, Schorr, Hotter, and Kipnis - just too mention the brightest stars in the galaxy), it would have been useful and interesting to hear at least some of the stars from the previous 25 years of recordings (e.g. Destinn, Schumann-Heink, Slezak, Urlus, Soomer and van Rooy).

Also the selection from the time period covered could have been better:

George Thill, who recorded some beautiful pieces from Walküre & Parsifal, is represented only by a rather boring duet ("Oui, c'est Vous") with Germaine Martinelli from Meistersinger.

Surely, more than one "Prize Song" could have been included.

No "Das süsse Lied verhalt" from Lohengrin; and the only "In fernem Land" is by Marcel Wittrisch!

No "Ein Schwert verhiess mir" from Walküre; and only one "Winterstürme"

Never the less, it is a good introduction for listeners who want to expand their listening experiences with early (but not too early) recordings from some of the great historical singers.

The audio sound is rather good for the '20's & '30's but is nowhere near modern standards.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category