Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sings Import

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, March 9, 1999
"Please retry"
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. On the Red Clay
  2. Naima
  3. Body and Soul
  4. Young & Foolish
  5. Empty Faces
  6. Maiden Voyage
  7. How Are You Dreaming?

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 9, 1999)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Import [Generic]
  • ASIN: B00000G69C
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,032,760 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Mark Murphy Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Robert J. Pinner on September 2, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Murphy established a strong reputation as a bebop singer in his youth, becoming a fixture in the New York and London Jazz scenes. Jazz warped in the 70's with infusions from rock, and Murphy has moved on with the times. I loved his choice of covers in this album as it includes some of my favorites-- Hubbard's Red Clay, Hancock's Maiden Voyage and Canteloupe Island, Coltrane's Naima. And it's great to hear these classic pieces with lyrics. Being a dedicated jazz musician, Mark gives full license to his sidemen and there are some great solos on this recording. Heard on this album are Michael and Randy Brecker as well as David Sanborn. Mark's voice can be a little, how shall I say, "mooing" (as in cow), and this is my only reservation. He makes up for it by his innovative timing, vocalese and improvization. All of the tracks rock with great rhythms in keeping with the crossover times.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse