Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Nice Surprise....
First I would like to say that my favorite types of games are Adventure, FPS, and RPG's (in no particular order), as I believe this makes a difference when reading one's review of a game.

I can say that this game really surprised me. I went into Singularity with absolutely no expectations, as I had heard nothing about this game. After about 30 minutes into...
Published on August 30, 2010 by Luna Nightshade

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked
Got to eat some crow on this one because I panned the game without playing it and it's not bad at all. A number of reviews (Metacritic) had a problem with the TMD device and it actually comes into use quite a bit. Destroying creatures, slowing down others,creating a Deadlock where you are inclosed in a blue dome and all the enemies in there with you are frozen, slowing...
Published on July 15, 2010 by Peragulator


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Singularity!!!, April 21, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
the shipping was fast and the game worked perfectly! being able to age your enemies is highly satisfying. this is a must buy if your looking for a first person shooter other than the army shoot em up type games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this really was worth it, April 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Iiked how the case for the game wasnt used or anything and it still contained everything in it, I HIGHLY recommend this game for a good story campaign
game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's around that corner ?, April 3, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
A very deep game.
I love how it explores the snowball effect

After you get their the initial shock of your first enemies, the game is so much fun you wish for a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, March 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I love this game and you can't beat the price. The graphics and game play are great. It has a level of difficulty and surprises that make it exciting and hard to put away. If you want a great game that doesn't cost an arm and a leg then this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seasoned gamer, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I would have to say you technically could play this in a day and be over with it. Story line was good. Just wished it embellished a bit further. Seems to share the same traits as Fear yet it is entirely not scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pretty cool, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
neat game, not a halo or gears of war, but fun, the time warp device is cool to turn stuff old to new (on allowable items) just got it so I quit shorty after and rated, besides vampire diaries is back on and I wanted to recap of the last episode before I watched the new one. the game is fun though, monsters are really scary, no joke, kind of like that movie with will smith scary. so have fun worth the six bucks it cost me and that included shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The came has a very cool concept and story line. Very suspenseful. Overall I am impressed with this game, the only thing I would change is maybe the graphics or the gameplay. Aiming and movement is iffy, but not a problem once you get used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A shooter about time travel, that can't bring it's gameplay out of the past!, March 6, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Time travel. We've all dreamed about it at one point or another. What would we do if we could change the past. Would we use it to fix our mistakes, and rewrite history to suit our need, or would we seize the chance at power, and use it to make ourselves immortal throughout time? Or, would we find ourselves part of a higher calling, destined to do something incredible? Singularity from Raven software (creators of action RPGs like Marvel: Ultimate Alliance) casts you in the shoes of one such individual. Faced with unlimited power, it's up to you to decide the worlds fate. Except it's not, as Singularity is quick to put restraints on just about everything you can do. What remains is a shooter with a lot of ideas and potential, but winds up completely average by it's own design.

Story
As part of a military recon team, you play as Captain Nathaniel Renko, on a mission to investigate strange occurrences on a remote island name Katorga-12. It becomes immediately apparent though that things are not in the least bit ordinary, and after narrowly surviving a crash landing in the ocean, you find yourself in the middle of a time warp. It only gets more insane from there, as you find yourself beset upon by Russian soldiers, and terrifying mutants. This is all because of an element unique to the island, simply named Element-99. You meet up with members of a resistance movement, and are then task with traveling back in time, and destroying the singularity that has caused so much mess.

While it starts off strong, Singularity almost immediately goes completely off the rails, getting way to complicated. The game tries to explain so much in the first hour or two that I became completely lost, and had to keep reminding myself why I was doing something or going somewhere. There is also very little in the way of character development. The good guys are good, bad guys are bad. That's about as deep as it gets. You encounter strange writings on the wall throughout your journey, but these never add up to much, and mostly serve to put questions in your head that have no answers. It's pointless, and I don't see why they were included. One thing I did like was reading the notes left by the destroyed residents of the island. This helped flesh out the world a lot more, but it's annoying that they almost completely disappear in the later half of the game. I wanted to know more, but the game just stopped letting me in. It's definitely an interesting story, but it could have been so much more.

Gameplay
The time shifting mechanic is the main hook in Singularity. With a device called the DMV, you can age object back and forth in time. It's a cool idea, but it winds up being really shallow. You can only age select few items, and these are mostly all used for the same puzzle over and over again. The explanation the game gives for this is that only things that have been touched by Element-99 can be manipulated. It then completely contradicts this by allowing you to age virtually every enemy in the game. I find it hard to imagine that every human being on the island is contaminated, but whole rooms that were used to experiment on the substance are not. It creates a disconnect between the gameplay and the game world, and doesn't ever pan out to more than a gimmick.

Raven has actually done decent job with the shooting in Singularity. It feels rather old school, but in a good way. The weapons are all rather unique and fun to use, but it's a pity that they make it so annoying to change them. Rarely do enemies actually drop the weapon they're using, allowing you to pick it up. The only way to really change weapons is to use the weapon chest placed around levels. These are often so far apart though that you can't really experiment if you find a particular spot better suit to a different firearm. Not that the levels lend themselves well to experimentation. The game consists mostly of tight corridors or offices, with little room to maneuver, let alone strategize. It's pretty much go from point A to B, shooting up anything in your path. But the shooting is a lot of fun. The controls are tight, and enemies give a realistic response to fire, which helps somewhat given how similar enemies AI is. You can count on them either rushing you or hiding in vain behind cover, without much thought for their own safety. It makes for an easy game, but it surprisingly enjoyable nonetheless.

Presentation
I was really surprised by how good Singularity looks at time. There is a ton of detail put into scenes, and the environments do a good job of feeling unique. Trudging through the sewers feels suitably unsettling, and storming a rail site is very exciting. These changes don't always make sense in the grand scheme of things, but it leads to some interesting locales so I say it's a plus. What I could have lived without though is the game horrible pop in. Almost every level suffers from it at times. Even cutscenes can't get there act together, looking super blurry and bland. The framerate also isn't the most stable, dropping a few times when things hit the fan and particle effects are going everywhere. But when it does work right, Singularity can really impress, and really improves the game.

The sound effects are really good, with the guns sounding as you'd expect, and explosions having a good kick to them. The voice acting is good generally speaking. Unexpectedly, but not unsurprisingly, Nolan North once again shows up to put everyone to shame. I almost wish he'd had more lines, just because he's so darn good. But the rest of the cast turns in an respectable performance, and make even some horrible lines sound good. The music never stuck out to me, so much that I can hardly remember it at all. The game ops for more atmospheric sounds than blockbuster score, and it works rather well.

Verdict
Singularity is yet another shooter that tries a lot of cool things, but doesn't come together in the end. The time travel is cool on paper, but it's so underused it just becomes annoying. It's old school design helps distinguish it from other shooters on the market, but leave you wanting for all the innovation that has occurred over the years. The story is OK, but leaves a lot unanswered, and the ending is rather disappointing. It's not a bad game, but it by no means represents a pinnacle of the genre. If you like the idea, I'd give it a look. It's fun for a rental, but don't come in expecting the next Bioshock. Try as it might, Singularity just isn't there.

Final Opinion: 7.5/10 Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars singularty, March 3, 2013
By 
Bryant Lam (Federal way,WA,USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game got me hooked in under 1 hour. The whole mysterious story about the Soviet Union doing research with this weird element called E99 was surprising cause they made it seem so like real.The weapons are a bit different but good. The weird thing is that there are no marines on your side. The monster seem like they could be real. The whole thing about the past with the people looking like ghost was fun and mysterious,i mean if ghost were real that what they would look like. So sad that some of the characters died they seem so cool. all those notes you find in the game help a lot plus the audio recording to. This game is worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very solid FPS and a great bargain for quality of game., September 27, 2012
By 
Gary McCray (Fort Bragg, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Singularity - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
By now, Nazis and Soviets have been passe for a long time, but this alternate history Russian Island story is more interesting than you might think.

Sort of Half Life and Portal combined with Gears of War and Fallout 3 on a Russian island.

It based on the element E99 and its extraordinary capabilities.

And you are the American soldier sent in to figure it all out, when, of course everything goes wrong.

Weapons and upgrades are very well handled although I would have liked a little more upgrading towards the front of the game rather than becoming virtually indestructible towards the end.

I used no cheats so may well not have found all of the upgrade stuff although I learned a long time ago to look in EVERY possible side room or path before following the assigned one.

The TMD is a nifty tool, you will like it, learn all it's tricks and use its distance grab feature to get things you aren't near or can't get to.

Would have preferred infinite saves to the periodic ones you get and would have definitely liked it better if they always told you when they were saving, rather than just occasionally. But that's a small complaint generally they save often enough and appropriately enough so you don't have to do too much over.

If you generally like FPS like Halo, Half Life or Fallout you'll enjoy this game and for 8 bucks you can hardly go wrong.

Ending was a little weak, but all complaints are minor, for the price it really is a 5 star game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Singularity - Xbox 360
Singularity - Xbox 360 by Activision Inc. (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.