Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IN SPACE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU END YOUR TURN...
This is an EXCELLENT game that takes the galaxy civilization games a clear step further. Open-ended like a new science-fiction world and played as a seat-of-your-pants RTS game, this is a very intelligent hybrid that I greatly enjoyed.

In effect, SINS is a successful blend of the wonderful Galactic Civilizations and Homeworld series, with a sprinkling of Total...
Published on April 1, 2010 by NeuroSplicer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great initiative, bad execution
The game is great, but updates through Stardock Impulse are a PITA. The client that ships with the product is outdated and won't let you register, so you've got to go to their 1990's-looking website and enter the CD key EXACTLY as it is printed (caps and dashes). All of this hoopla overshadows what is an awesome game... you're probably better off going to ThePirateBay...
Published 8 months ago by vnvdaemon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IN SPACE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU END YOUR TURN..., April 1, 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
This is an EXCELLENT game that takes the galaxy civilization games a clear step further. Open-ended like a new science-fiction world and played as a seat-of-your-pants RTS game, this is a very intelligent hybrid that I greatly enjoyed.

In effect, SINS is a successful blend of the wonderful Galactic Civilizations and Homeworld series, with a sprinkling of Total War for good measure. This is NOT a turn-based civilization game, so expect a much faster pace. What this means is that while it maintains the characteristics of classic turn-based civilization games (exploration, expansion, exploitation and extermination), by relieving from the micromanagement tedium, it allows for an intense RealTime Strategy experience. Now, this probably may not appeal to turn-based purists, but I would advise an open mind: this is a good game.

This concept-blending is new, so expect a slow learning curve - it took me a number of ...false-starts to get the hang of it: after all, it plays like an RTS and (although simplified) it still has enough of turn-based features that need to be taken care of. The interface is simplified and informative at the same time, with info trees sliding out only when needed.

There are three different factions to choose from (financiers, technologists and psitecs) - yet, their differences focus mainly on research tree-branching and ship designs. What I did not like was that the ships of all three factions are effectively the same and their differences are only skin-deep. What I would have liked to find (and was disappointed to the point of withholding the 5th star for fun) was ship design and building! Remember how much fun was to design our own spaceships (from freighters to battleships) in GALACTIC CIVILIZATIONS II? Well, no such luck here. Let's hope they keep it in mind when the next patch gets prepared (up to the latest patch, 1.191, one can customize maps and starbases but not starships yet).

Quick and constant exploration is not only encouraged by a necessity if one wants to survive - let alone win. Spaceships built within a solar system cannot travel beyond it, unless using "wormhole"-like singularities. This adds to realism but can stretch your finances to their breaking point - since only locally built ships can be used. Moreover, it makes really hard to locate the strategic points to either built defenses or focus an attack. The AI will constantly be bypassing your planning like the Maginot line - and leave you with such a French feeling...

The graphics (of all of backgrounds, planets and units) are very nicely done. I really liked the multiple afterburners tracing through space as a spaceship squadron was dopplering past my screen...And less-than-cutting-edge PC owners rejoice: even 4-5 years old systems can handle this game like a breeze!
What I truly appreciated was the realistic scale of things. Galaxies are much larger than star systems, which in turn are much larger than planets, which in turn are much larger than space stations...than spaceships and so on. How is this achieved? Excellent zooming!
Supreme Commander was the first game to introduce strategic zoom; however, SINS implements it much better and shows how it should had been done: from a galaxy to a single planet and to a single spaceship, zooming in or out firmly maintains the effectiveness of battle controls by grouping and simplifying the info-tiles as one zooms out. In SupCom, we had to chose between either discerning the units or moving ...info-tiles around the battlefield - not a bad first attempt, mind you. In SINS, one almost never looses perspective: ongoing battles, critical hotspots, or colony revolts are all easily identifiable in real-time.

On another note, SINS OF A SOLAR EMPIRE is a STARDOCK release which, yes, means their specialized installation utility (IMPULSE). Nevertheless, this game hides no DRM or other intrusive security idiocy. Since trust and respect between a game publisher and its customers is a two-way street (and STARDOCK was willing to prove its friendship first), SINS deserves our support.

For a price much lower than that of the original game one now gets both mini-expansions (DIPLOMACY and ENTRENCHMENT) as well. ENTRENCHMENT improves the graphics and introduces a number of new bases and weapons upgrades. DIPLOMACY adds more weight to diplomatic options and actions (braking a peace treaty now will cost you dearly!), even making a diplomatic victory possible.
So, if you already own SINS you can always get the expansions through IMPULSE for less. In any other case, this is a bargain.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My next MOO2, August 13, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
Master of Orion II was one of my favourite games, and so I'm always looking for the "next" MOO2. On that front, Sins of a Solar Empire delivers in spades.

Sins plays in realtime, but it's primarily a 4X game, presenting you with a starmap and a single planet and sending you off to conquer at a leisurely pace. Many 4X concepts, such as planet/city building are simplified down to their essentials - a necessity given the realtime play, and not necessarily a downside if you found late game build queues in MOO rather tedious. Although there's no option to design your own ships, the realtime format means the combat is vastly superior to that of other 4X space games. Late game battles in MOO2 always devolved into the same massed gunfire slaughters, but with special abilities, increased fleet sizes, and a smart AI, Sins manages to keep the fights going to the end. In one late game fight, my entire Advent fleet ran into a similarly sized Vasari force, trying to eject me from their last solar system before I could establish a toehold. The battle turned into a massive point blank brawl, worlds away from the one sided slaughters I would have expected at that point in MOO2.

Battles are helped by the smart AI, which will usually avoid fighting to the death for hopeless causes, and play a canny game of cat and mouse with you until it can gain or regain superiority, thus (usually) avoiding squandering its fleet in dribs and drabs. Even more important is the ship and fleet AI, which removes the need to micromanage your fleets. Although you can still take personal control, and do better than the AI, it's not required, and that's a nice relief from mad clickfests. If you DO decide to involve yourself in the weeds, rather than just controlling the high level strategies, many interesting tactical options present themselves, which is good, because you'll need the edge in multiplayer.

And multiplayer is where this game blows turn based 4X games away. I play over direct IP with a group of friends, which makes saving and continuing (really a must) much easier, since games are much longer than the norm for an RTS, clocking in at between 4-8 hours. This is not unreasonable for a 4X game, which can run for days sometimes. The problem in games like Civ IV and MOO2 was always the end of turn wait. There's always someone who just HAS to go and check every single production order across his empire at the end of turn, leaving everyone else grumbling - and secretly plotting which laggard they're going to gang up on and wipe out first. Sins avoids this with realtime, and keeps the action moving when things heat up. It helps that the maps are varied, highly customizable, and a delight to play. One 3v3 map which we dubbed "wormhole madness" forced us to fight across a dozen tiny solar systems linked only be wormholes, fighting bitter "island hopping" battles against fleets of enemy ships that could suddenly increase to overwhelming levels as multiple enemies jumped in with little warning. We had to adapt a whole new set of tactics, and co-operate closely, to defeat the other team.

So overall, if you're a fan of 4X games, I can't recommend Sins of a Solar Empire highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sins of a Solar Empire, May 16, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
This is an excellent game. I am a fan of RTS games, and this is one of the best out there. All three factions play well and are balanced; each have their own strengths and weaknesses. The scale of the game is huge, and the UI does a good job of making it accessible, so that you do not get overwhelmed. The online community, while small, are polite and professional. There is none of the twelve year old mentality there, they all offered tips on how I could improve my skill, and were very welcoming to a newb. The game also get patched fairly regularly, so that it continues to be balanced long after the release. Over all, I highly recommend this game to RTS fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, great value, no DRM, September 15, 2010
By 
Keith Tokash "twigles" (Laguna Niguel, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
It's harder and harder to find games that don't add spyware to your machine or make you "check in" whenever you want to play. This is one of them. You install it, plug in the key, put the disk back in the package and put the package away in the closet for when you reinstall your OS and have to reinstall your games too. It doesn't even do a disk check.

Beyond trusting their customers, Stardock has really put out a fun game here. The graphics are awesome in that you can scroll out (mouse wheel) and view 20 star systems with little lines between them, or you can scroll all the way in and watch your enemy's battleship get pounded by your fleet and explode. The level of tactical control is up to you as well. I usually satisfy myself with sicking my fleet on high-priority targets and letting AI sort out how special weapons are used, but you can turn off the auto-use functions and control that too. You can't directly pilot ships though, it's not *that* hardcore of a game. The RPG element of your battleships and carriers leveling up is fun too.

Overall this is a space-based RTS with RPG elements (like Warcraft 3's heroes), and it's extremely well done. You do the normal "expand, mine resources, build army, attack" pattern, but none of it feels terribly hurried. In fact the UI, pace, strengths/weaknesses of fighting, tech tree, etcetera all seem very well thought out.

Finally, presumably because this is a trilogy pack and it was released long after the games had been on the market, I haven't run into any bugs, and I haven't even patched it. It ... just works. Somewhat refreshing really.

I'd totally recommend this to anyone who likes RTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity - Review, August 20, 2011
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
I have my fix for Sins of a Solar Empire - Trinity, yeah! At first when I started playing this game, I thought I wouldn't like this game but it grew on me. If you like RTS games, I'd recommend giving this game a try. I'm eagerly the next sequel, Sins of a Solar Empire - Rebellion. If you want the best experience I'd recommend playing Dipolmacy. It has all the basics and additional add-ons. A few things were cut from the original, but it still all the same. After awhile, I got bored but all-in-all, it kills good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out-Friggin-Standing!, July 12, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
Two words for this game "Simply Amazing". I am a big fan of RTS games, and the pure scale of this blows every other game out of the water! You may find yourself asking questions like "Why did I bother playing Age of Empires II, or Rise Of Heroes, or Empire Earth III?" Don't beat yourself up...it's okay.

Okay, so I usually don't go into graphics when I review games, but I feel I have to make special note here. The pure scale of how far you can zoom in and out amazed me. You can zoom all the way out to full galaxy view or all the way in to the cockpit of a starfighter. Simply Amazing! Also, you can rotate your view to any angle, so you can view your ships from behind, above, under, in front, from the side....wherever. Simply Amazing!

The "fun factor" of this game is definitly a 10. If you love building a massive empire over a couple of days to later unleash the fury of your rail gun on your enemy, then you'll love this game.

The learning curve is a little steep, but nothing that a few hours of play can't cure. I will put a caveat here that there is a cheat method for this game....not that I'm advocating cheating....but it is a bit indepth, and really not worth it. Just learn to play the game well.

There are a couple of items that you need to be aware of when you buy this game. First, be prepared to play for awhile. This is not Age of Empires, where you can finish a game in like 3 hours. Secondly, there are 3 games included with this package, but they all install at the same time. If you save a game using the old game (not entrenchment), your save file will be corrupt. This has to do with a patch that the expansion packs add in, and it will mess up your original saves. How do you fix it? Just play the game using Entrenchment....

In summary, I would HIGHLY recommend this game to anyone who enjoys RTS type games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great RTS, June 20, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
The Trinity package for Sins of a Solar Empire is a must-have for any RTS gamer. Three unique factions each have a rich and diverse array of abilities that create a nice balance of strengths and weaknesses. In addition, choose your strategy to win: military might, economic power, cultural hegemony, diplomatic relations, or any combination of these. All are viable, none are a sure bet. There are many pre-made maps to play, and you can design more of your own, but the random generator is my favorite. Play on a tiny planetary system or across many suns, the game's graphics are very slick, allowing smooth zooming from the galactic level all the way to right down where the action is. I like the game because while you have the option to micromanage your units, they also have enough AI that most of the time you can let them take care of the nitty-gritty while you concentrate on meta-strategy. All in all, a whole lot of fun both on single player and multiplayer with tremendous replay value. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SoSEt, March 23, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
sins is an amazing strategy game, is one of the best space battle RTS games i've ever played up their with nexus the jupiter incident and homeworld
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for the price!!, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
While I would consider it the greatest space combat/strategy game. It definitely is a good one. Highly recommended and much enjoyed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally!, November 11, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX (DVD-ROM)
Except for Galactic Civilizations, there hasn't been a 4X game in space that I enjoyed since MOO2. But Sins of a Solar Empire does it for me. And not only is it a great game, the blend of 4X and RTS is brilliant. I really enjoy this game.

One downside is I was hoping there would be a larger online community...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX
Sins of a Solar Empire: Trinity MBX by Jack Of All Games (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
$39.99 $23.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.