Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A math masterpiece!
"Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens" is a Math Adventure book for elementary age children that uses the king's surprise birthday celebration for a chance tl learn to count by tens. Surprise party guest attendance must be counted quickly because Lady Di and Sir Cumference, the host and hostess for the birthday party, need to know how many guests to feed for lunch and...
Published on March 20, 2010 by Midwest Book Review

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I beg to differ
I was disappointed in this book after the glowing reviews. I think it did a poor job of teaching place value and really missed the mark. I'm still looking for a good book that teaches place value in a fun way...
Published on June 25, 2012 by A. Brooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A math masterpiece!, March 20, 2010
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
"Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens" is a Math Adventure book for elementary age children that uses the king's surprise birthday celebration for a chance tl learn to count by tens. Surprise party guest attendance must be counted quickly because Lady Di and Sir Cumference, the host and hostess for the birthday party, need to know how many guests to feed for lunch and dinner. In a comical series of preparation adventures, Sir Cumference and Lady Di count guests by tens, hundreds, and even thousands, using a system known as "place value" for their numbers. How many guests attend in total, and does the gloomy king finally smile and enjoy his birthday party? Inquisitive budding math minds will want to know, so pages will painlessly turn and numbers will effortlessly be learned in "Sir Cumference and All the King's Men," a math masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for teaching place value to third graders, April 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
Cindy Neuschwander does it again! Her Sir Cumference series is what initially got me interested in using the power of math literacy to enhance student understanding of math concepts. This book on place value couples an interesting story with a critical math concept for students. I immediately added it to my third grade math literacy library, and I think you should also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Math Literature Review, January 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
Well written, beautiful illustrations, easy explanation of the math concept.
I have all their books and have used them with students of all ages and skill levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Math is fun, September 20, 2009
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
Finally a fun way to introduce math concepts to kids. I love Cindy Neuschwander's way of combining an interesting plot with a mathematical concept. Children can visually see the idea and have it connected to a story. Love it! The illustrations are not my favorite, but that is of secondary importance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Cumference, September 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
Paperback is very high quality and, in this grandparents's opinion, outstanding for all children exposed to the wonders of mathematics. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for students, October 24, 2009
By 
teacher "teacher" (New Bedford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
I thought this would be a great way to introduce this concept to my students. It worked and they really enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
Great book for introducing math concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Place Value Wonder, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
This book is an excellent addition to your math book collection. I found it very useful to teach place value and there are some awesome lesson resources available online as well. The kids still love to read it and a few even noticed the play on words with the character and town names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book and great for students, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
This is a great math book, the whole series is a great one. It can be a little confusing but when it is explained to the students and then read again the students really love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story and appropriate for use in the classroom, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure (Paperback)
This book was great, but maybe just a tad confusing. I used this in a lesson plan with 3rd graders. The story is sufficiently interesting, and it tells a story of place values up to the thousands place. This would be a good book to introduce a lesson on place values, or to close a lesson on place values. Just don't use it for the instructional part of your set or your kids will be a bit confused. Good book overall and I would use it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure
Sir Cumference and All the King's Tens: A Math Adventure by Cindy Neuschwander (Paperback - July 1, 2009)
$7.95 $7.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.