Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched with good supporting evidence.
I thought this was a fairly easy read, chocked full of well reasearched facts. However when hard documentation was not available, well argued reasoning is injected to make the intended point. I've read many treatments on Drake and find this to be the most definative.
While there are many missing pieces to Drakes life, the author really gives a good picture of the...
Published on January 9, 2008 by john D. Sanders

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a proper download
Only half the book downloaded on my tablet so I was unable to finish it.
Published 19 days ago by Peter Cullen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched with good supporting evidence., January 9, 2008
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Hardcover)
I thought this was a fairly easy read, chocked full of well reasearched facts. However when hard documentation was not available, well argued reasoning is injected to make the intended point. I've read many treatments on Drake and find this to be the most definative.
While there are many missing pieces to Drakes life, the author really gives a good picture of the man and his times without putting him on a pedestal or dragging him through the mud as many authors try. In other words this book is not based on just trying to get another "ANGLE" to Drakes story.
I think you be pleased you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Easy to Read, April 28, 2001
By 
Aaron Brown (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Paperback)
The author has a healthy respect for Drake without becoming too enamored. The author points out at near the end of the book that Drake was the right man at the right time. On Drake's later expeditions (that were failures) the Spanish had fortified their holdings in the new world to a point that made it more difficult for privateers. This, however, does not detract from Drake's earlier success which would not have been accomplished by men of lesser genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Bio!, March 29, 2010
By 
Schwibbogen (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Paperback)
This was an exceptionally well written account of one of the greatest sailors in history. One sees the man, not just the captain. The information presented is very well researched and as complete as could ever be expected with the spotty records available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir Francis Drake, July 2, 2011
By 
David A. Grant (Newport Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Paperback)
Very well done -- excellent historical background as well. Portions of Drake's log are invoked regularly and are very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Kindle Edition)
This outstanding biography is an enjoyable way to review 16th century history as the author draws a balanced portrait of the life of a national hero in the light of his times, and reviews scholarship since and as a result I am now a fan of Sir Francis Drake and will place him in my hall of fame of this world's outstanding leaders, explorers and inspirations. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sailing, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Hardcover)
Better then I expected. Written with a awareness of the human interest for this great man. Extensively researched
and presented. Enjoyable and informative historical novel. I highly reccomend this book to all
history enthusists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great subject, and very well written., January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Kindle Edition)
Drake is an electrifying subject, and John Sugden handles it beautifully. He writes especially well about the social and religious context of Drake's life and achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent History on English Navigation during 1500, November 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book to learn about English explorations and navigation with Sir Francis Drake during the 15 century around the world. It's fascinating to observe how Drake developed plain Sailing ships into superior Battle ships, but no matter how sophisticated his ships were, the winds and tides dominated the outcome of a battle against the Spanish Amada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Kindle Edition)
Very Goood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, June 30, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sir Francis Drake (Kindle Edition)
Great read on a great figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sir Francis Drake
Sir Francis Drake by John Sugden (Paperback - May 1992)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.