Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars29
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on August 25, 2001
BLS' first cd, BLACK LIGHT SYNDROME, was so good I actually had great hopes for the then-fledgling Magna Carta label. Although they were thrown together as per the standard MC formula - Supergroups While U Wait - the resulting music was wonderfully organic-sounding, as if these three guys had been waiting all their lives to play in the same band without knowing it. (It helps that none of them have a signature 'day-job' band they're vacationing from - and I consider Papa Bear too much of a Renaissance man to refer to him as 'King Crimson's Tony Levin'.) SITUATION DANGEROUS is the just-released followup, one I wasn't expecting, that's every bit as good as its predecessor. A little different, though: it definitely sounds as if, this time, they had longer than 3 days to whip up something from scratch. A little heavier, too. But what put the debut over the top was the equal contributions of each member in terms of styles, influences, ideas, and, oh yeah, chops, and I'm happy to say that hasn't changed, except that this time they had more time, more resources, and a better feel for one another - do the math for yourself. Bozzio's ferocity puts the majority of today's progmetal double-bass thunder merchants to shame; he's equally masterful when finesse and restraint are called for. Steve Stevens continues to reveal levels of subtlety and taste that go far beyond the big-hair flash he's unfairly identified with, as exemplified by not only his playing but his classy liner-notes tribute to the late great Curtis Mayfield. And Levin? You need me to tell you how fluid, seamless and exciting a player HE is? There's no Stickmeister extant who coaxes more lyrical sounds from that odd-looking doohickey. SITUATION is as satisfying an audio purchase as I've made recently; you could do plenty worse than to grab yourself a copy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on October 31, 2006
The 2nd album from these instrumental superstars is even better than their first one in my opinion. The album features more variety with blistering rock and soft acoustic interludes. All 3 musicians shine throughout with Steve Stevens again displaying much more versatility than any of his work with Billy Idol. His flamenco guitar flourishes are a highlight of the softer tracks on the disc. Bozzio is all over the place as well adding various percussion nuances that lesser musicians would never even dream of. Levin, of course is as solid as ever. Overall I think this is a stronger release than the debut. If you love fun instrumental workouts this album is a great one. Let's hope they put something else out one of these days.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on August 8, 2000
Ok this album is a good example of outstanding good music executed by excellent musicians. Situation dangerous is a mixture among flamenco, heavy metal, jazz, i.e, progressive music. You can appreciate the difference between this album and the first one released in 1997, because the songs are more structured and "it's not as extended or jam-oriented" as Terry Bozzio says in an interview. Indeed there are more flamencoish parts in songs like "Tziganne". There is a remarkable influence from Genesis, Yes, Pink Floyd, King Crimson and this is because Tony Levin's bass. This guy is the best rock bassist of all time. And last but not least is Terry Bozzio, whose drumming is one of the most interesting in the last ten years owe to his style that mixes jazz, arabian music, flamenco, metal. He made a great job also in "Explorers Club" album, in which you can appreciate his performance with very talented musicians like John Petrucci(Dream Theater) and Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big) If you don't have Situation Dangerous, please go for it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 18, 2001
It's hard to beat the "sophomore slump" syndrome, but the Bozzio-Levin-Stevens troika has superseded their first effort gloriously. The overall feel of these eight composition is a much richer musical, mystical tapestry which begs repeated listenings. When I first encountered BLS I was a little wary, knowing the fruits of guitar/bass/drums PLUS keyboards, as exemplified by Mike Portnoy's Liquid Tension Experiment. I thought that without the benefit of an additional tonal pallet this "power trio" would be deprived of the textural richness that a foursome can bring...let's just say I needn't have worried.
Steve Stevens, quite simply, fills all--and I do mean ALL--of the holes where a keyboardist would normally be, overdubbing layer upon layer of guitars, nylon-string guitar, electric sitar, treated guitars, guitar synth, and industrial noise samples. He's like a flamenco-ized Fripp, weaving his lush textures in between strident Spanish nylon-string flourishes and screaming slabs of metalist fury. Tony Levin is no less remarkable, treating the listener to his vast arsenal of lower-register instruments such as funk-fingered bass, upright bass, electric cello, and Chapman Stick, often counterpointing Stevens and anchoring the manic songs with solid, indestructable grooves. Terry Bozzio presides over the progressive smorgasbourg like an ancient shaman or drum master, mystically wrenching a thunderous fabric of restless rhythm from his forest of gongs and cymbals, keeping time with his kick/tomtom polyrhythms and ostinatos like an entire Taiko drum troupe.
If there is any disc of progressive rock/fusion which NEEDS to be purchased and cherished this year, it is this. The combined magic worked by these men will draw you into a more dangerous kind of musical alchemy than you bargained for.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2006
If you like the wild brilliance of Liquid Tension Experiment, (and who could not be just blown away by the ending of Biaxident ?) then this is as good a compliment to LTE as you can get ... I rarely play a single track form this album, as the whole album is sheer brilliance.

categorize under: Complex, interesting, rocking, melodic, crazy, and if you dont have those categories, then just stick it in "EXCITING"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 5, 2000
I haven't heard a more *urgent* opening tune since Led Zeppelin's 'Immigrant Song'! The song 'Dangerous' kicks off the CD in a *big* way. From there, the listener is treated to one top notch instrumental after another, all the while touching base with almost every genre of music along the way. Each musician leaves his mark on every song, and if you liked the first CD (Black Light Syndrome) you will find this one is better, with a more cohesive overall feel to it. The last track 'Lost' makes things come full circle by using a theme from 'The Sun Road', the opening tune on the first CD. A must-have CD for music fans that enjoy expressive instrumentals that have a definite edge to them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2001
This is Bozzio/Levin/Stevens's second effort. Stevens insisted on 5 days of prep work, and it shows. Where the songs on "Black Light Syndrome" are rough and a little ragged -- although fascinating and occasionally inspired -- "Situation Dangerous" is a real gem. There is no single style that describes the album: some of it is meditative and gentle, and some of it is crackling.
"Crash", in 9/8, will have you *trying* to tap your feet (or thrash your head) to the beat, and the melody will give you chills -- this is Steve Stevens as rock guitar virtuoso, not flamenco guitarist, with Bozzio and Levin driving the song at a breathtaking pace; the only song that I know of that's even in the same galaxy with "Crash" is "Take it off the Top" by the Dixie Dregs -- and the comparison is only approximate.
The other song that will blow the top of your head off is "Tragic" -- which morphs from a quiet, contemplative piece to a flamenco-tinged rock anthem.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2006
This CD at least sounds like it had more thought and effort behind it than Black Light Syndrome. It is a better engineered and recorded album, and the music sounds much more refined rather than the hurried rushed tracks of the former. Still I would expect more from these 3.

And once again, any one expecting something to the effect of Liquid Tension these 3 have been compared to....forget it. You'll be disappointed if you like LTE.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on August 12, 2000
This has instantly become my favourite CD of all time! The muscianship by these guys is phenomenal. I was simply blown away by the playing. It has been on high rotation since I purchased it and it keeps getting better with every listen. These three muscians are very distinctive. They are stars in their own right, yet from quite different musical schools. However, when they come together the end result is dangerous alright! My only regret is that the album only lasts 48 mins. But is 48 mins of sheer musical nirvana. The music is at once passionate, precise, emotive, evocative - essentially each track is a sonic landscape. The styles are a combination of rock, jazz, flamenco, funk, blues blended together into an electric fusion.
Buy this CD and take yourself on a musical odyssey that you wish will never end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on April 5, 2001
I am shocked at those who think that Terry Bozio and Steve Stevens are not doing their best work. the techniques expressed in not only this work but in other works of recent months (such as Stevens' "Flamenco a go-go") clearly are not listening and self indulging their own wishes on what they would expect to hear on a second effort of the Bozio, Levins, and Stevens first release. Read the liner notes on Black light syndrome for Christ's sake. This clearly shows where Bozio is heading boh in his personal pholosophy and in his level of technique. Just because it is not Billy-freakin-idol or Jeff Beck, doesn't mean that they have not gotten any better since.
I submit that those who would criticize these three individuals are not players of any caliber and barely know how to listen.
Situation Dangerous is a continuation of some of the best creative side brain activity with an emphasis on composition that has come out of that generation of material in years. I am happy to be supportive of this type of music as well as all guitar music that comes out of Favored Nations Music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Black Light Syndrome
Black Light Syndrome by Steve Stevens (Audio CD - 1997)

Memory Crash
Memory Crash by Steve Stevens (Audio CD - 2008)

Flamenco A Go Go [Enhanced CD]
Flamenco A Go Go [Enhanced CD] by Steve Stevens (Audio CD - 2000)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.