Customer Reviews


1,321 Reviews
5 star:
 (872)
4 star:
 (227)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (86)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, great screenplay
Have you ever watched a scary movie in the dark, and almost swore you saw someone moving out of the corener of your eye? I have, and after seeing this movie it happened a lot more.
"The Sixth Sense" has great performances from Bruce Willis (who plays Malcolm, an emotionally wounded psychologist)and Haley Joel Osment (who plays Cole, a little boy with a...
Published on January 24, 2000 by Reb

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I loved this movie when I saw it in the theater. However, the DVD was a big disappointment. Not only were the previews in the beginning not needed, there were vital scenes that were missing from the DVD that were in the original movie. These scenes are needed for the impact that the movie should give the viewer. If I had known that the movie was not the original...
Published on April 3, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, great screenplay, January 24, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
Have you ever watched a scary movie in the dark, and almost swore you saw someone moving out of the corener of your eye? I have, and after seeing this movie it happened a lot more.
"The Sixth Sense" has great performances from Bruce Willis (who plays Malcolm, an emotionally wounded psychologist)and Haley Joel Osment (who plays Cole, a little boy with a remarkable gift:he sees dead people) The screenplay is wonderful.
"They don't know they're dead," laments Cole."They think they're alive.They see what they want to see." Malcolm is determined to help him. His marriage has been failing ever since an old case that showed almost the same symtoms shot him in the side and then killed himself.Malcolm is determined not to let that happen to Cole.
This is a remarkable movie with a Hitchcokian twist at the end.Watch it, and you'll be doing double takes next time you feel that strange presence behind your back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best film of 1999., January 15, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
Writer/director M. Night Shymalan's "The Sixth Sense" is that rarest of breeds: an intelligent, well-made film that conquered the box office. Equal parts mystery, drama and bone-chilling horror, "Sense" deals with a weary, wounded child psychologist (Bruce Willis) whose latest patient (the remarkable Haley Joel Osment) has a mysterious and terrible gift: he sees ghosts.
Shymalan, ably assisted by Tak Fujimoto's brilliantly icy cinematography, wrings suspense and terror out of empty doorways, split-second glimpses of figures in the background, and unknown things lurking in the dark. But this is hardly a cheap slasher film: perhaps the most wonderful aspect of this film is its message, that fear can be conquered through understanding and compassion.
Cleverly plotted, bolstered by fine performances from Olivia Williams as Willis's melancholy wife and Toni Colette as Osment's worried mom, and graced with a twist ending worthy of Hitchcock, "The Sixth Sense" is a magnificently creepy film that will have you jumping at shadows long after it's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't need a "Sixth Sense" to tell this one is good!, January 23, 2000
By 
"chrisignis" (Columbia, SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
There has never been a type of movie with more allure than the thriller series. Many have scared the socks off of their poor audience, with a paticular tip of the hat to "The Blair Witch Project," but this movie is different. The movie tells you with its story, its tone, and its color that something will happen, but you can not put your finger on it until the end. The movie supports no "cheap scares" present in movies like Scream in which a scene is not scary, just sudden and startling. This movie, "The Sixth Sense," Will make you afraid. Afraid of the dark, and afraid of being alone. The genuine surprise ending added closure to a genuine 21st century scary movie. And, with added footage, you will not want to miss "The Sixth Sense." Note: This movie is only for those who are not afraid to be truly afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory Previews Ruin Much Anticipated DVD, March 31, 2000
By 
Robert E Hunt Jr (Rock Hill, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
Having seen and *loved* this film during its theatrical run, I pre-ordered this DVD nearly two months in advance of its earliest availability. When the disc arrived, I immediately canceled all other plans and set aside that evening's hours to watch it.
Imagine then my profound sense of disappointment when I saw the first preview come on. Instantly, I reached for the DVD remote and pressed the Menu button only to find it had been disabled.
When the second preview followed and still the Menu button was dead, I started to feel annoyed. By the time the fourth one began, I was thoroughly and completely angry and pledged never to watch any of the four movies that had been forced on me.
Yes, I will admit that once The Sixth Sense began, the experience was every bit as satisfying as I had hoped. And the extra features are a very nice bonus. I don't doubt that this disc will be played many many times before I tire of it.
However, in the end, the forced previews ruin this disc. I would have been happy to watch any previews the disc producers wanted me to watch ... so long as they gave me the freedom to choose when to watch them.
A fatal mistake. Simply brutal. This disc should be recalled and replaced with one that does not force the experience. At this point, this studio is in my doghouse. If they pull this stunt again, I will never buy another disc from them.
This is one Collector's Edition that may become a Trash Collector's edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sixth Sense, March 15, 2000
By 
Brendan Donegan (Donegal, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
One thing that is true about The Sixth Sense is that it is an especially creepy film. The way in which Shylaman builds up the suspense is terrific, letting the audience wait until about halfway through the film before the first physical encounter with a ghost. One of the main things that made the film so chilling is that the ghosts seem to have retained there injuries after they have died. These injuries range from smashed in heads to burnt flesh and all this makes The Sixth Sense much more horrifying for it.
And that is exactly what The Sixth Sense came very close to being, a horror film. Except The Sixth Sense is like a horror film with brains, not relying on gore and cheap shocks to scare the audience, instead making us scared in a much subtler way. All the actors put up great performances, with Bruce Willis probably putting up the greatest performance of his life.
In the end The Sixth Sense is a good film but not a great film, only being let down by one or two less interesting scenes where nothing nuch goes on. And one more thing. Theres an absolutely fantastic twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Film of the 20th Century, January 10, 2000
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
Wow - what can I say? A very intelligently scripted and amazingly acted film in which Bruce Willis proves that the action stereotype is just a misconception of him while he plays a child psychologist with a real sense of character. The supporting cast offer a uniformly high standard also, and with an amazingly scripted plot, make this the best film I have seen in a long, long time. If it's action you want then stay away, whereas if it is suspense, drama and plot you want order it now!
Fantastic all round. Bet it makes you jump.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the decade's best!, April 17, 2000
By 
Jeremy George (Galloway, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
Sight, smell, taste, touch, sound, and seeing dead people.
In the '90s we've been constantly bored with horror movies: the Scream trilogy, I Know What You Did Last Summer, and so on and so on. Finally a horror film that gives depth to it's characters! This is just a great old-fashioned ghost story. What better place to set a ghost story than in Philadelphia? Every building has a history behind it (including young Cole's school). Any film that drops clues (the color red) and demands repeated viewings is worth buying. Haley Joel Osment (Cole), who may have the most lines in the movie, truley gives the year's best supporting performance (sorry Michael Caine). The movie grabs you immediately in the first five minutes and gives one of the best endings in recent memory. This is the role Bruce Willis will be best remembered.
Also impressive is Toni Collete as Lynn Sear, the mother of Cole who feels so hopeless in helping her obviously torchured son. She makes triangle pancakes for him, takes him for a joy ride in a supermarket parking lot, and arranges get-togethers with the other kids, but she can't help him. Only Malcom Crowe can (Willis). But maybe Cole can also help Malcom. Only American Beauty was better in '99. Buy the DVD. Extra footage is very engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what defines Excellence!, January 21, 2000
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
I was surprised when I first heard the rave reviews and witnessed how much money this film was making... it seems to me, that it would've been much more a "sleeper" The reason is that, compared to most horror/pyschological horror films, this movie is "slow". It moves more like a 3-hour long movie, than an hour and a half or so, and it contains only sparesly, albeit well-placed, bits of gore. On the whole, the violence in this movie is only included to tell a story, not give a cheap thrill. For this reason, and because it seems to me to be a sensitive, thoughtful look at the possible existense of "ghosts", I highly recommend this movie. If movies were assigned personalities, and if "ET" was cutsie, and "Exorcist" was loud and profane, then "The Sixth Sense" by M. Night Shyamalan is quiet, pensive, brooding and clever.
As for Haley Joel Osment, the 12 year old who plays 9-year-old Cole Sear... there is only one word to describe his acting abilities: AWESOME. Never, and I mean never, have I come across a youngster who is as capable of giving such a realistic performance, and of influencing the mood of the audience to such a degree. Haley has a way of claiming the screen, and is coupled well with a quickly-maturing Bruce Willis, who was darkly-mysterious as the tenacious, caring child psychologist, Malcolm Crowe.
By now, you probably know that this movie is about a young boy who has the very-real ability to "see" dead people. Consequently, if a child really was capable of seeing such things, they would be terribly frightened and probably give the impression that something is very wrong, without necessarily stating what the problem is. This is where Malcolm comes into the picture... he wants to "help" Cole because, at the beginning of the movie, Cole appears to be living the life of an emotionally abused child. And also... Cole represents the chance to 'redo' the past; a past that has one, rather large, error in it for Malcolm (one of his patients had a mental breakdown and committed suicide, after shooting Malcolm in the solar plexus).
Even if you don't think this movie will satisfy your need for constant 'blood, gore and shocks', see it anyway. It is almost a calming experience, when compared to the gaudy, LOUD horror movies that are flooding the market, and, to me, a welcome change.
Congratulations, Bruce and Haley, on this awesome landmark film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i think this is a great movie., April 10, 2000
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
first of all, anyone with any common sense knows not to watch the extra stuff before you see the movie. therefore, it should go without saying that the added material does give away the twist. the ending does lose its surprise after the first viewing, but you notice so much more each time you see it afterwards. i went to see it at the theatre opening weekend, and i am glad i didn't wait. too many people gave away the ending, and i'll admit that it was hard not to tell people the end when i was telling about it. Haley Joel Osment is awesome; i hope he continues to find scripts that are a challenge for him. there are a lot of really neat camera angles and such that you wouldn'y normally think about using. if you are looking for a blood and guts horror movie, don't see this, because that's not what it is. rather, it deals more with psychological issues and pulls in your emotions, rather than your fear. i too am somwhat annoyed that the DVD makes you watch the previews, but i think i can deal with it. it certainly isn't going to stop me from watching it again. like Thomas Crown Affair, the ending does surpirse you, and is a big part of the movie's appeal, but t shouldn't keep you from multiple viewings. overall, i think this is a great movie, and it has been added to my family's list of favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, April 3, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) (DVD)
I loved this movie when I saw it in the theater. However, the DVD was a big disappointment. Not only were the previews in the beginning not needed, there were vital scenes that were missing from the DVD that were in the original movie. These scenes are needed for the impact that the movie should give the viewer. If I had known that the movie was not the original version, I would not have purchased it. When they say "deleted scenes" on the back of the case, they don't mean previously deleted scenes have been added, they mean they have deleted scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series)
The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series) by M. Night Shyamalan (DVD - 2000)
$6.25 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.