Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars49
Price:$20.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 3, 2007
I've been a big fan of the Tony hawk games until the last one. I just got tired of the same game with a few boring additions added every year. So I decided to check this game out.

PROS
I have to say I'm impressed. The "flick it" system is a refreshing change to the way skating games are played. No more button mashing. I didn't think I would really care how the tricks were executed, but I was wrong. It takes a few minutes to get used to, but it's great when you get it down. Having to memorize 500 commands to do a trick is no longer necessary.

The graphics are excellent. There's no loading time no matter where you travel, unless you "jump" to certain points. It's pretty fun seeing how many different ways you can bail, too.

CONS
The create-a-skater is very limited. There isn't much you can do to change how your guy looks. You can tweak the face and hair all you want, but it ultimately ends ups looking like the same average homeboy regardless.

Story mode is a little thin. The challenges aren't that hard, and you have access to every move from the get-go.

SUMMARY
If you're looking for an in-depth skating game with a deep story mode, then don't get this game. If you want something closer to what real staking is like, this game is for you.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2007
I've played Tony Hawk games from the very first one and this game is on a completely different level. Since skating in video games started it's been flawed with the idea that pressing a but makes you ollie or grind. But this game is all in the joysticks. To ollie you simply flick the joystick. To grind you land on the rail, you don't press a button. It's very realistic in the sense that you're trying to become pro by making your own videos to get on to a skate team. I could go on but instead you should just buy it and enjoy it yourself.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2008
I bought my copy about a month ago and I haven't touched another ps3 game since.

I hate the unrealistic elements in tony hawk's pro skater. Anyone who skateboards in real life can tell you that there is not a drop of realism in that game. Skate, however, is insanely close to the skateboarding experience. The analog stick controls are very innovative, as is the unique angle from which you see your skater. These two aspects when combined with a great physics engine make for extremely fun game.

When you're coming up to a ledge to grind it, it's not a simple push button sequence. You have to be going at a proper speed, from the right angle and you have to know when to come off. This is insanely fun. You will not be able to easily perform all tricks. Much like a real skateboarding trying to land something, you will have to make several attempts. The realism is very absorbing.

My one complaint about this game would be that the controls for some tricks are very similar to others. Sometimes you just can't fine-tune the way you flick the analog stick enough to differentiate between tricks. This makes some of the challenges in career mode a bit of a hassle. Career mode itself isn't as fun as free skate or party play anyway though, you probably won't spend too much time in it.

Overall, this game is great. Ditch the aweful Tony Hawk games and play something more realistic like Skate.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2008
This game is such a breath of fresh air from Tony Hawk. I've been playing the series since Pro Skater 4 but EA's skate really does an awesome job of breaking free from the button mashing of Tony Hawk and makes it a whole new experience. It's much more laid back and down to earth than any skateboarding game before it. I highly recommend you rent or purchase skate and be on the lookout for the sequel coming soon.

Thumbs Up:
- use of real life brands and magazines make the game more realistic
- the new flick-it controls are unbelievably fun to play around with
- graphics and sound are nicely done and the overall presentation matches the skateboarding culture
- the instant replay is a blast to use, you will crash and crash and love ever single minute of it

Thumbs Down:
- for those like me who are use to pulling off 50 tricks in a single line in Tony Hawk might have an early learning curve as the new controls and camera angle might get you frustrated in the beginning
- Some of the music is a little off and weird, luckily you can choose to turn off any songs you don't wish to hear
- Some of the loading times are randomly long especially going to watch a saved replay
- you cannot delete any photos, videos, or profiles from within the game, you must navigate to the saved game directory in the cross media bar
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2012
Wonderful game, in what is now three games. While the first introduced a new idea, the second game (Skate 2) completely defined the core mechanics, worked out the bugs, and refined the gameplay down to a smooth sailing Skate game. Would recommend for anyone trying to play a "realistic" Skate video game, and would recommend for anyone who actually skateboards.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
I was interested in getting a skateboarding game for my PS3. I decided to get the first game in the series as it was the cheapest. The graphics are excellent, great trick and combos available. The online gameplay is only so-so. The music is really good as well. I only wish that my character could get off his board and climb stuff instead of being glued to the board. There is also a great selection of clothing and personalization. Highly recommended if you're interested in skateboarding and don't mind the basic elements of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2007
This game has the graphics and unique ability to show a real skating environment. Yes, it is still a game and there are things that game will never be able to do like the real world. In my eyes I really thought they spent a lot of time talking to skateboarders to get the real gaps and rails those cities and towns have. Overall great game, but takes a while to get used to because it's not like any other skating game before. Reminds me of "thrasher skate and destroy" on PS1.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2008
Skate is the kind of game that one would expect to play when a next-generation console comes out. It takes a genre thats more or less globally enjoyed and ramps it to the next level.

Skate is a skateboarding game through and through. It cuts more to the core than any Tony Hawk skateboarding game ever has. Pulling off tricks in Skate is more more akin to doing the tricks in real life, as the player has to angle up a line for a grind and kick and spin the board in certain places for different tricks, all the while avoiding real-life obstacles like traffic and security guards.

The most impressive part is that Skate pulls this off so well that the player will not have to consciously focus on individual play mechanics. Doing nollie tre flips and backside lipslides require the same precision in-game as it would in real life, but the control in-game is so streamlined that its almost second nature.

The game is very impressive, but a few unfortunate drawbacks keep it from being a perfect experience. First and foremost is the stair set problem. If you attempt a trick down a flight of stairs and mess up, you will have to skate around large areas to get back to the beginning of the flight of stairs. The only real fix for this problem is to get familiar with the session marker system, and being quick to apply a new marker before tough obstacles that you can quickly return to. Skate 2 will allow the player to get off the board and walk right back up. The second problem is related to session marker load times: if you have an objective that requires you to skate a few blocks before a huge trick (and these do exist), you will have a four to six-second load time going back to your initial marker.

Besides these, there are a few spots where general slowdown is a problem (though not many), and given the nature of the game some players find it hard to keep track of obstacles on screen. You do have to ollie over sidewalks.

These issues do take away from the overall experience, but the game is so awesome in every other regard that these are basically non-issues.

Other than simply skateboarding, players will have the option of doing tricks over tough obstacles for magazine photo shoots, putting together complex lines for spots in skate videos, bombing in downhill races and participating in skate contests. Goals for magazines are extremely varied, between getting X number of points to seeing how many bones you can break in a spectacular multi-story launch. Players can also expect to meet and challenge pro-skater friends, get sponsored, and prove themselves as the best skater San Vanelona has to offer.

If you are a fan of sports and/or skateboarding titles, you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. Tony Hawk was fun, but that's the old-school -- this is the new.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2015
Son bought at pawn shop. Looks alright, but there is no way to change the default controller settings. So, if you are not comfortable with the flickit setup your sol. Should be able to change to personal preference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2008
This game is it when speaking of skateboard games now, Tony hawk games are dead by the time you'r reading this, if you don't know which game to get, get skate, period. My only problems with the game are sometimes awkward camera (nothing too bad) and can't get off your skateboard and walk up stairs which can get annoying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items

$15.17

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.