Skeleton Coast (The Oregon Files Book 4) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Skeleton Coast (Italian) Hardcover – January 1, 2010


See all 21 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, January 1, 2010
$30.27

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Bone Clocks" by David Mitchell.

Product Details

  • Hardcover
  • Publisher: Longanesi (January 1, 2010)
  • Language: Italian
  • ISBN-10: 883042773X
  • ISBN-13: 978-8830427730
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.8 x 1.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (196 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #9,345,863 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Action packed - lots of fun to read.
Diane Plourde
I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of action/adventure novels or have ever enjoyed any other Clive Cussler book.
purple
Like all his books, it is very hard to put down once you start to read it.
Richard P. Strahan

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

66 of 70 people found the following review helpful By Kara J. Jorges VINE VOICE on December 14, 2006
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The two best adventure writers currently drawing breath deliver another superb adventure from the Oregon Files. This book bears the distinct stamp of both Cussler and duBrul, which means a great read for us! Though I kind of miss the old format of the Corporation pulling off a multi-pronged heist of some sort, this book's more basic adventure yarn format is a smashing success. Juan Cabrillo is turning into one heck of a leading man.

Like all Cussler novels, this one begins with a story from the past, this time about millions of dollars worth of diamonds that disappear off the African coast. DeBeers investigator Sloane MacIntyre is searching for them when she needs to be rescued from some very dangerous men by Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon.

The Oregon happened to be in the area because of a job delivering weapons to some rebels on the Congo River that had gone awry. The ship also intercepts a piece of a satellite phone conversation regarding a kidnapped industrialist and, ever the capitalist, Juan Cabrillo decides to send in a team to rescue him, sure of a handsome reward. Of course, the same people who kidnapped the American businessman and one of his employees are also involved in an even bigger scheme that threatens millions of lives, and it also ties together with Sloane MacIntyre's diamond hunt.

This book is not for the squeamish, full of lots of violence and starring some really evil bad guys. Typical of both authors, we never turn away from the action, instead relishing every moment of it. When not embroiled in an intense, unflinching battle scene, the book delves even deeper into the character of Juan Cabrillo.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Gail Cooke HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on October 16, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Scott Brick, who reads the Unabridged edition, is one of the most proficient voice performers to be found. Dubbed a Golden voice by AudioFile, he's also garnered a Science Fiction Audie and a few Earphones Awards. Gifted and versatile he brings the same standard of excellence to every title he reads, whether it be a mystery, historical biography or as in this case a high tech thriller. His voice is clear, distinct and a pleasure to hear.

The Abridged version is read by Jason Culp, an actor who has appeared both on stage and on television, most memorably on Days Of Our Lives and General Hospital. While he does not have Mr. Brick's experience with audio books, his narrative is worthy and highly listenable.

Fans of Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul know what to expect - an exciting tale with action galore. They won't be disappointed with Skeleton Coast.

The covert combat ship with Juan Cabrillo and crew on board almost became history. But luck was with them one more time, and they escaped virtually unscathed after a mission on the Congo River. Their survival is a good thing for a boat being fired upon. Cabrillo responds to the craft's mayday, saving the vessel and a gorgeous woman passenger, Macintyre Sloane. She's been searching for the HMS Rove which was buried under sand in 1896. Why? Because the Rove holds untold millions in raw diamonds.

Of course, Sloane's not the only one after the fortune, and some would just as soon kill her to make sure she doesn't get it. Cabrillo soon finds that saving Sloane has put him in more danger than he knew existed.

Typical Cussler, which is terrific.

- Gail Cooke
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Paul Weiss on October 13, 2008
Format: Paperback
The Corporation is a mercenary private enterprise for hire by any government agency that can afford its fees. Juan Cabrillo, the Chairman, runs his black ops from a ship called "The Oregon". Disguised as an overused, out of date, non-descript mercantile vessel that's destined for the scrap yard, the Oregon is actually a state of the art war vessel packed with high-tech intelligence gathering equipment, powerful weaponry and a fully muscled set of magnetohydrodynamic engines that, pushed to flank speed, will give virtually any ship on the high seas a run for its money. If you've read any Clive Cussler novels at all, it won't be a surprise to hear that Cabrillo is right over the top - an entirely unbelievable lead character (think Mr Phelps from Mission Impossible on steroids) leading an equally unbelievable crew with uncanny intelligence and virtually superhuman strength and endurance. The missions they accept in Cussler's Oregon Files series are typically of the "save the world from domination or destruction by a nefarious lunatic" variety.

When I reviewed "Golden Buddha", the first in the Oregon Files series, I gave it a grudging single star and swore that I would likely never read another Cussler novel again. Frankly, it was just awful! But after a two year abstinence, my past fondness for Cussler's earlier work over-ruled my reluctance and "Plague Ship" rewarded me with a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Read more ›
11 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?