Start reading Skeleton Coast (The Oregon Files) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Skeleton Coast (The Oregon Files) [Kindle Edition]

Clive Cussler , Jack Du Brul
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (161 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $9.99
Kindle Price: $8.54
You Save: $1.45 (15%)
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Whispersync for Voice

Now you can switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible audiobook. Learn more or scan your Kindle library to find matching professional narration for the Kindle books you already own.

Add the professional narration of Skeleton Coast (The Oregon Files) for a reduced price of $9.99 after you buy this Kindle book.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

The author of the bestselling NUMA(r) and Dirk Pitt(r) series continues the adventure and intrigue featuring his unbeatable hero of the high seas: Captain Juan Cabrillo...




Editorial Reviews

Review

The guy I read Tom Clancy Cussler is hard to beat Daily Mail

Review

The guy I read Tom Clancy Cussler is hard to beat Daily Mail

Product Details

  • File Size: 672 KB
  • Print Length: 390 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0425211894
  • Publisher: Berkley; Reprint edition (October 3, 2006)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000OVLKWM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #14,052 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Great Writers Equal One Great Book December 14, 2006
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The two best adventure writers currently drawing breath deliver another superb adventure from the Oregon Files. This book bears the distinct stamp of both Cussler and duBrul, which means a great read for us! Though I kind of miss the old format of the Corporation pulling off a multi-pronged heist of some sort, this book's more basic adventure yarn format is a smashing success. Juan Cabrillo is turning into one heck of a leading man.

Like all Cussler novels, this one begins with a story from the past, this time about millions of dollars worth of diamonds that disappear off the African coast. DeBeers investigator Sloane MacIntyre is searching for them when she needs to be rescued from some very dangerous men by Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon.

The Oregon happened to be in the area because of a job delivering weapons to some rebels on the Congo River that had gone awry. The ship also intercepts a piece of a satellite phone conversation regarding a kidnapped industrialist and, ever the capitalist, Juan Cabrillo decides to send in a team to rescue him, sure of a handsome reward. Of course, the same people who kidnapped the American businessman and one of his employees are also involved in an even bigger scheme that threatens millions of lives, and it also ties together with Sloane MacIntyre's diamond hunt.

This book is not for the squeamish, full of lots of violence and starring some really evil bad guys. Typical of both authors, we never turn away from the action, instead relishing every moment of it. When not embroiled in an intense, unflinching battle scene, the book delves even deeper into the character of Juan Cabrillo.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TYPICAL CUSSLER, WHICH IS TERRIFIC October 16, 2006
Format:Audio CD
Scott Brick, who reads the Unabridged edition, is one of the most proficient voice performers to be found. Dubbed a Golden voice by AudioFile, he's also garnered a Science Fiction Audie and a few Earphones Awards. Gifted and versatile he brings the same standard of excellence to every title he reads, whether it be a mystery, historical biography or as in this case a high tech thriller. His voice is clear, distinct and a pleasure to hear.

The Abridged version is read by Jason Culp, an actor who has appeared both on stage and on television, most memorably on Days Of Our Lives and General Hospital. While he does not have Mr. Brick's experience with audio books, his narrative is worthy and highly listenable.

Fans of Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul know what to expect - an exciting tale with action galore. They won't be disappointed with Skeleton Coast.

The covert combat ship with Juan Cabrillo and crew on board almost became history. But luck was with them one more time, and they escaped virtually unscathed after a mission on the Congo River. Their survival is a good thing for a boat being fired upon. Cabrillo responds to the craft's mayday, saving the vessel and a gorgeous woman passenger, Macintyre Sloane. She's been searching for the HMS Rove which was buried under sand in 1896. Why? Because the Rove holds untold millions in raw diamonds.

Of course, Sloane's not the only one after the fortune, and some would just as soon kill her to make sure she doesn't get it. Cabrillo soon finds that saving Sloane has put him in more danger than he knew existed.

Typical Cussler, which is terrific.

- Gail Cooke
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Du Brul and Cussler succeed again! October 13, 2008
Format:Paperback
The Corporation is a mercenary private enterprise for hire by any government agency that can afford its fees. Juan Cabrillo, the Chairman, runs his black ops from a ship called "The Oregon". Disguised as an overused, out of date, non-descript mercantile vessel that's destined for the scrap yard, the Oregon is actually a state of the art war vessel packed with high-tech intelligence gathering equipment, powerful weaponry and a fully muscled set of magnetohydrodynamic engines that, pushed to flank speed, will give virtually any ship on the high seas a run for its money. If you've read any Clive Cussler novels at all, it won't be a surprise to hear that Cabrillo is right over the top - an entirely unbelievable lead character (think Mr Phelps from Mission Impossible on steroids) leading an equally unbelievable crew with uncanny intelligence and virtually superhuman strength and endurance. The missions they accept in Cussler's Oregon Files series are typically of the "save the world from domination or destruction by a nefarious lunatic" variety.

When I reviewed "Golden Buddha", the first in the Oregon Files series, I gave it a grudging single star and swore that I would likely never read another Cussler novel again. Frankly, it was just awful! But after a two year abstinence, my past fondness for Cussler's earlier work over-ruled my reluctance and "Plague Ship" rewarded me with a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I loved the book, I like and have read most of Mr. Cussler's books and this is another great one by him.
Published 16 days ago by Douglas T. Martin
5.0 out of 5 stars good book
action spread out but not hard to follow. read most of Clive Cussler'. can't wait for mores books and enjoy them
Published 21 days ago by michael
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Cussler as usual,provides the story that creates the reason for the current adventure. Both themes packed with action,imagination, and detail .
Published 23 days ago by PLee
4.0 out of 5 stars A very gripping read
Makes it very difficult to put down the book until the very last page is finished. Clive Cussler at his best.
Published 1 month ago by dorothy obrien
5.0 out of 5 stars CAPTIVATING
GRABS YOUR ATTENTION FROM THE FIRST AND HOLD YOUR ATTENTION TO THE LAST PAGE GREAT AVENTURE BOOK BUT WILL KEEP YOU UP TILL THE EARLY MORNING HOURS>
Published 1 month ago by Jackson Guest
5.0 out of 5 stars Roller coaster if excitement!
Clive Cussler and Jack DuBrul are each great story tellers. Together they roll out a spectacular story that is hard to set down once you start...
Published 1 month ago by mjbobin
4.0 out of 5 stars typically great action plot line for Juan.
Great action packed Juan story that ties modern science and nature into believability. Almost every chapter leaves you breathless with excitement.
Published 1 month ago by Jonathan Dyer
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book
This book was a great read, a lot of action and I just could not put it down. Clive Cussler owes my a few nights sleep
Published 2 months ago by Rachelle S.
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting book with some unusual twists
Skelton Coast has lots of action and a few twists in the story that keeps ones attention. Very good book. Read it in two days.
Published 2 months ago by Carol W. Kidd
5.0 out of 5 stars Skeleton"s?
So, what could be better than a book by Clive or Jack? It's one by Clive & Jack. Stand alone or together they produce a great adventure. I hope they never stop. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Robert A. Croft
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Book Extras from the Shelfari Community

(What's this?)

To add, correct, or read more Book Extras for Skeleton Coast , visit Shelfari, an Amazon.com company.


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category


ARRAY(0xa2f76f3c)