Start reading Skeleton Coast (The Oregon Files) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Skeleton Coast (The Oregon Files) [Kindle Edition]

Clive Cussler , Jack Du Brul
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (180 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $9.99
Kindle Price: $7.99
You Save: $2.00 (20%)
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Whispersync for Voice

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $9.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

The author of the bestselling NUMA(r) and Dirk Pitt(r) series continues the adventure and intrigue featuring his unbeatable hero of the high seas: Captain Juan Cabrillo...




Editorial Reviews

Review

The guy I read Tom Clancy Cussler is hard to beat Daily Mail

Review

The guy I read Tom Clancy Cussler is hard to beat Daily Mail

Product Details

  • File Size: 672 KB
  • Print Length: 390 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0425211894
  • Publisher: Berkley; Reprint edition (October 3, 2006)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000OVLKWM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #13,447 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Great Writers Equal One Great Book December 14, 2006
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The two best adventure writers currently drawing breath deliver another superb adventure from the Oregon Files. This book bears the distinct stamp of both Cussler and duBrul, which means a great read for us! Though I kind of miss the old format of the Corporation pulling off a multi-pronged heist of some sort, this book's more basic adventure yarn format is a smashing success. Juan Cabrillo is turning into one heck of a leading man.

Like all Cussler novels, this one begins with a story from the past, this time about millions of dollars worth of diamonds that disappear off the African coast. DeBeers investigator Sloane MacIntyre is searching for them when she needs to be rescued from some very dangerous men by Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon.

The Oregon happened to be in the area because of a job delivering weapons to some rebels on the Congo River that had gone awry. The ship also intercepts a piece of a satellite phone conversation regarding a kidnapped industrialist and, ever the capitalist, Juan Cabrillo decides to send in a team to rescue him, sure of a handsome reward. Of course, the same people who kidnapped the American businessman and one of his employees are also involved in an even bigger scheme that threatens millions of lives, and it also ties together with Sloane MacIntyre's diamond hunt.

This book is not for the squeamish, full of lots of violence and starring some really evil bad guys. Typical of both authors, we never turn away from the action, instead relishing every moment of it. When not embroiled in an intense, unflinching battle scene, the book delves even deeper into the character of Juan Cabrillo.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Du Brul and Cussler succeed again! October 13, 2008
Format:Paperback
The Corporation is a mercenary private enterprise for hire by any government agency that can afford its fees. Juan Cabrillo, the Chairman, runs his black ops from a ship called "The Oregon". Disguised as an overused, out of date, non-descript mercantile vessel that's destined for the scrap yard, the Oregon is actually a state of the art war vessel packed with high-tech intelligence gathering equipment, powerful weaponry and a fully muscled set of magnetohydrodynamic engines that, pushed to flank speed, will give virtually any ship on the high seas a run for its money. If you've read any Clive Cussler novels at all, it won't be a surprise to hear that Cabrillo is right over the top - an entirely unbelievable lead character (think Mr Phelps from Mission Impossible on steroids) leading an equally unbelievable crew with uncanny intelligence and virtually superhuman strength and endurance. The missions they accept in Cussler's Oregon Files series are typically of the "save the world from domination or destruction by a nefarious lunatic" variety.

When I reviewed "Golden Buddha", the first in the Oregon Files series, I gave it a grudging single star and swore that I would likely never read another Cussler novel again. Frankly, it was just awful! But after a two year abstinence, my past fondness for Cussler's earlier work over-ruled my reluctance and "Plague Ship" rewarded me with a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TYPICAL CUSSLER, WHICH IS TERRIFIC October 16, 2006
Format:Audio CD
Scott Brick, who reads the Unabridged edition, is one of the most proficient voice performers to be found. Dubbed a Golden voice by AudioFile, he's also garnered a Science Fiction Audie and a few Earphones Awards. Gifted and versatile he brings the same standard of excellence to every title he reads, whether it be a mystery, historical biography or as in this case a high tech thriller. His voice is clear, distinct and a pleasure to hear.

The Abridged version is read by Jason Culp, an actor who has appeared both on stage and on television, most memorably on Days Of Our Lives and General Hospital. While he does not have Mr. Brick's experience with audio books, his narrative is worthy and highly listenable.

Fans of Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul know what to expect - an exciting tale with action galore. They won't be disappointed with Skeleton Coast.

The covert combat ship with Juan Cabrillo and crew on board almost became history. But luck was with them one more time, and they escaped virtually unscathed after a mission on the Congo River. Their survival is a good thing for a boat being fired upon. Cabrillo responds to the craft's mayday, saving the vessel and a gorgeous woman passenger, Macintyre Sloane. She's been searching for the HMS Rove which was buried under sand in 1896. Why? Because the Rove holds untold millions in raw diamonds.

Of course, Sloane's not the only one after the fortune, and some would just as soon kill her to make sure she doesn't get it. Cabrillo soon finds that saving Sloane has put him in more danger than he knew existed.

Typical Cussler, which is terrific.

- Gail Cooke
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss It
Another great Cussler book!
Published 6 days ago by RayT
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Cussler is so good and so consistent a wonderful book to read. I recommend it to everyone who loves adventure
Published 13 days ago by william
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Another Well done book in the Oregon Files series.
Published 17 days ago by Southern California
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story
A typically good Cussler story line. The leap of faith is pretty small and easy to make. It held my attention and even surprised me in a few places.
Published 25 days ago by Glenn A. Legge
5.0 out of 5 stars great
It was just what I expected no problems, arrived quickly and in good shape. The packaging was fine and the deliverly was spot on, Thanks
Published 25 days ago by Gary Rutledge
5.0 out of 5 stars Clive Custer
Great book, this is the first book by this author that I have read and really enjoyed the action and characters .
Published 1 month ago by Maggie Surdock
5.0 out of 5 stars Skeleton Coast by Clive Cussler
Awesome! The books starts in the 1890's with H.A. Ryder, a English opportunist who leads a group of men to steal diamonds from the Herrera tribesmen and their blistering trek... Read more
Published 1 month ago by Morris E. Graham
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast of caricatures and story line!
The story line, the author, and the caricatures made this book hard to put down, this is a book I would recommend.
Published 1 month ago by John Hummel
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Cussler's best
I've read almost all of Cussler's books. Many are great. He set a high standard. Skeleton Coast is of the same genre, but gets a bit too Tom Clancyish with too much technical... Read more
Published 1 month ago by Jim Jung
4.0 out of 5 stars skeleton coast
i thougt the book was a fast read ,i enjoyed it very much.
i have always been clussler fan.Irv. russo
Published 1 month ago by irving russo
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category