Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (hic!) Halloween (hic!) fun!! (hic, hic, hic!)
Skeleton wakes up one morning (the headboard of his bed is a gravestone with RIP engraved on it) and discovers that he's got a bad case of the hiccups. He starts his day off, but the hiccups aren't making things easy for him. In the shower, he looses the soap. Brushing his teeth, his jaw flies off! Polishing his bones, the hiccups cause his arm to come undone...
Published on October 26, 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dem bones, dem bones, dem hiccuping bones...
Normally, I LOVE children's picture books and am quite forgiving if something isn't right about the story or the illustrations. However, this time I am going to say that I just don't care for this story.

S.D. Schindler's illustrations are great--very realistic, the color backgrounds are fabulous in making the skeleton stand out, there is ghoulish humor on...
Published on October 9, 2008 by Judy K. Polhemus


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (hic!) Halloween (hic!) fun!! (hic, hic, hic!), October 26, 2002
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Hardcover)
Skeleton wakes up one morning (the headboard of his bed is a gravestone with RIP engraved on it) and discovers that he's got a bad case of the hiccups. He starts his day off, but the hiccups aren't making things easy for him. In the shower, he looses the soap. Brushing his teeth, his jaw flies off! Polishing his bones, the hiccups cause his arm to come undone! Carving a pumpkin and raking leaves aren't easy, either, with these bone-rattling hiccups!
When Skeleton goes outside to play ball with Ghost, the old remedies for curing hiccups are suggested. Skeleton eats some sugar (which falls through his jawbone and over his ribs), he drinks a glass of water standing on his head (he water gushes out of his eye sockets), and Ghost tries to scare him. Well, nothing works until Ghost gets a sneaky idea involving a mirror...
The team of Cuyler and Schindler have combined to produce a wonderful and funny book in "Skeleton Hiccups." The illustrations are big and bold with vibrant colors that delight the eye. Skeleton is beautifully drawn with enough detail to see his individual bones but not so much detail that he'd be scary to young children. Ghost, too, is a character, sporting a blue baseball cap he wears backwards and a pug nose. The pages are large and uncluttered and easy to read.
The text of "Skeleton Hiccups" is brief and simple, with small-font "hic! Hic! Hic!"s bouncing on each page as skeleton tries to go about his business with these pesky hiccups. When I read this book to a class of preschoolers, they really liked the hic-hic-hic part, and would repeat it every time they saw it on the page. Children who were normally a bit skittish around Halloween skeletons thought that this one was pretty funny, especially because he had troubles that they themselves have had!
"Skeleton Hiccups" is perfect for Halloween time, of course, but there's no reason why it should only be read during October. I showed the book to the art teacher at our school who immediately fell in love with it-"it's sooo hard for kids to draw skeletons!" she said, "they require so much detail. But THIS Skeleton is just perfect!" She went on to say that she intends to use this book and another one called "Hobgoblin and the Skeleton" to teach about human anatomy and proportion in her art classes.
For anyone who likes Halloween or a good laugh, for those of us who have a fascination with the human skeleton, this book comes highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dem bones, dem bones, dem hiccuping bones..., October 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Paperback)
Normally, I LOVE children's picture books and am quite forgiving if something isn't right about the story or the illustrations. However, this time I am going to say that I just don't care for this story.

S.D. Schindler's illustrations are great--very realistic, the color backgrounds are fabulous in making the skeleton stand out, there is ghoulish humor on almost every two-page spread. In fact, other reviewers note the humor, especially on the wake-up scene when Skeleton first has the hiccups. The walls are darkly purple, like bruises, the coverlet is a magnificent cardinal red, the bedside table is upheld by two grass green snakes, the foot board is a big bat spreading its wings, and the head board is a RIP tombstone. You can't get better than the sum of those items!

Skeleton's hiccups are so bad that doing simple everyday (night?) things breaks his jaw, breaks his arm, slices up a pumpkin he tries to carve with the jolt of hiccups, can't catch a ball because of jerking from hiccups. His friend Ghost gives several tips to ending hiccups--none work.

Finally, Ghost hands Skeleton a hand mirror. That does it--Skeleton shrieks in horror when he sees himself and his hiccups run away, kind of like fleas. I guess the means justifies the end in case of Hereafter friendships. I just wasn't satisfied with the ending.

I certainly would not want to discourage potential buyers from purchasing this book. Other reviewers love it. The illustrations are wonderful. That's all I am saying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Especially in keeping with the Halloween season, September 5, 2002
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Hardcover)
A simple word text by Margery Cuyler is wonderfully illustrated by S. D. Schindler making Skeleton Hiccups a highly recommendable and spooky picture book for young readers just learning to sound out their first words. The playful theme of a skeleton plagued with hiccups and the ingenious cure his ghost friend discovers make for a thoroughly delightful tale that is especially in keeping with the Halloween season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non Scary Skeleton Book!, October 11, 2006
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Hardcover)
Skeleton Hiccups is truly an original, and the artwork is the shining star. The images are creative, and hilarious! S.D. Schindler's work, the same illustrator of the famed Big Pumpkin, is fresh and creative. For instance, Skeleton's bed has a headstone headboard with R.I.P. craved into the back. In another scene where Skeleton is shining his bones, the can of polish says, "Ghost-White Bone Polish." I love the absurdity.

In no way are the pictures scary, or upsetting. Margery Cuyler's writing is simplistic, and appropriate for the very young such as a 2-years old. Older children 6 and above might be amused, but bored. Skeleton Hiccups isn't a Halloween book per se, but it helped to get us in the mood for the season. My 5-year old adores this book and has slept with it for the last 10-days! A REAL winner in my corner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Preschool Favorite!, June 10, 2009
By 
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Paperback)
My 3- and 4-year-old students absolutely LOVE this book. It's become one of my go-to gifts when buying books for children. Scholastic's audio recording is equally fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My students love it!, February 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Hardcover)
This story is entertaining for both adults and kids. As noted in other reviews, the skeleton character is drawn in a friendly light, non-threatening, and not scary. There is a lot of humour in this story that both adults and kids will find amusing. My students ask for this story every day, and they are getting quite proficient at reading the story using their own words (they are only ages 3-4). They also really enjoy doing the hiccups, especially acting out the jumping hiccups. This story is repetitive, funny, and many teachable moments can come out of it. A must-by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute illustrations, December 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Hardcover)
Very well done illustrations but not much as a story. My 3 and 6 year old were very happy giving it to their school library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, February 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Paperback)
My 5 year old checked this book out at our local library. He loved it and didn't want to take it back, so I bought it for him. It has simple sentiences that he can read to himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fun book!, October 22, 2004
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Hardcover)
My 2 year old loves hearing this book, & he makes the "hic" sound along with me as we read it. Fun & clever. Amusing illustrations & scenes. A great halloween or hiccup book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short lived fun, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skeleton Hiccups (Paperback)
The story is short and simple. Bought this for little kids - below 5. Act it out and be very animated to keep their attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Skeleton Hiccups
Skeleton Hiccups by Margery Cuyler (Paperback - August 1, 2005)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.