Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sketching (12th printing): Drawing Techniques for Product Designers
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$28.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 29, 2011
The other reviews of this book appear to be describing another book altogether. This book has pages and pages of example sketches with small captions that describe conceptually what has been done. However, this book is *not* a textbook and it provides very little instruction. This book is more akin to a coffee table book of cool sketching examples.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2009
This is a great book for inspiration, and it has bucket loads of great instruction on the techniques and rules of such things as perspective, ellipse construction etc. What it didn't have, and what disappointed me, is an almost total lack of media instruction. Almost every sketch in the book is done in marker, yet there is no info (at least none I have found, and none listed in the index for the sections I haven't read yet) on how to properly apply smooth blocks of colour, or the best way to apply pastel. There is loads of info on drawing construction. I have to agree with other reviewers on here, the grammar, spelling and layout is quite atrocious in many places. I understand that English is a second language for the people who wrote it but that is no excuse. If you can't properly speak a language, hire someone who can to fix your mistakes. The other issue I have with it is that it is a (very) thinly veiled mass-promo for Dutch designers. Many of the accompanying real product examples have, in my opinion, tenuous at best relations to the drawing subject at hand, and they are almost entirely Dutch. Even the international companies featured, such as Ford, have Dutch designers working there and featured. I personally got way more out of "Design Sketching" by Erik Olofsson and Klara Sjölén from the Umeå Institute of Design.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2008
As a professor in Industrial design drawing, this book is a long required book for teaching product design drawing, it has everything. I am thrilled with it and all other professors in my department are begging to borrow it from me.

Thank God for this book I have been using Powels books for years but this book includes new materials for drawing. More PLEASE!

I had to buy this book via Frame magazine.. why is amazon taking so long to have it in bountiful supply
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2008
You can order this directly through the publisher!! (about 60 bucks)

I have been designing products for 15 years and have purchased quite a few reference books. This would be the bible of sketch-o-rama. LOTS of different techniques and excellent breakdowns of method. Worth every penny. Ir you are a product designer get one and saddle up the Cintiq for a ride!! Giddy Yup!! Hopefully Amazon will pick this up soon.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2014
Good book with a lot of good examples and some good helpful insights in the accompanying text snippets (most of the text is in the form of extended captions, but that works very well here). Grab your favorite drawing program (I vacillate between Inkscape and Sketchbook Pro depending on what I'm doing) - or even paper, pencil, pen, and markers (if you're brave enough to go undo-less) and duplicate some of these sketches - you'll improve your skills markedly and much faster than you might expect. BTW, the chapter on ellipses is great, especially when combined with another excellent treatment you can find by searching the web for "The Bad Ellipse: Circles in Perspective" ) Lastly, this book offers a few tips that only come with lots of experience, so they're invaluable to those (like me) trying to teach themselves to sketch passably well without having to create a 3D model in CAD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2009
This book runs the gamut of what is possible regarding design sketching. A very informative textbook style offers vital tips and techniques for the beginning or serious designer. From analog to digital sketches to a merge of both media this book will surely impress. As this book is currently in its 5th printing and sold out everywhere you'd do well to find a copy and put your mitts on it. It does not disappoint. A job well done to the author and the many designers featured in the book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2009
As a graphic artist and budding Industrial designer this book has been a joy to have and learn from; for the last couple of months I've started my day sketching with this book and a cup of coffee,this has been marital bliss.My sketching skills have improved considerably and I've found myself repeatedly telling myself, oh so that's how this and that is done, followed by I can do it !, followed by It only took me 5 minutes !

The book itself has 2 distinct sections intertwined;a very loose lesson on the various aspects of sketching for product design, and case studies of actual product designers that incorporate some aspects of the lesson at hand.

There is ample room for improvement though, while it is chock full of great graphics, photos and sketches,I would rather have had more reference sketches maybe even a compendium of shading,shapes and lightning ,and less case studies,it also lacks on the step by step department, and yes it follows no clear path and just trows itself recklessly into the subject;this is a book best read in small doses with some markers and paper at hand.

In any case these flaws are easily overlooked by how useful and effective it is as a learning and reference tool.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2015
This book is just a portfolio of other designer's final rendering. First, the process material is very general and sloppy. Second, it combines traditional paper rendering with digital rendering and seldom talks about rendering techniques, which are not the same at all. I found use Pinterest is way much informative and useful than this book. If you are looking for a tutorial, don't buy this. Sorry, maybe it's just not for me, but I really do hate books that are so lazy in content!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
If you can only get one, get "Sketching: The Basics " by the same authors. Also, it is better to get the other one first even if you intend to get both. Still useful and interesting, though and recommended if you like "Sketching: The Basics".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
More of a showcase of an artists ability rather than a "how to draw". Not for a beginner, this book is fairly advanced and doesn't show how to start. Its not a bad book, its just not overly helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse