Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sketching User Experiences: Getting the Design Right and the Right Design (Interactive Technologies)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2016
This book exists for more of a rant than a method of learning. Buxton whines about how designers aren't respected enough in the industry, and takes too long to get to the point. In fact, I feel like I purchased a book of short stories and quotes rather than a book about how to sketch user experiences.

Each point Buxton makes is preceded with pages of history lessons, quotes, and irrelevant details. You actually have to read a quarter of this book (literally 104 / 419 pages) before any sketching happens. And even then, it's plagued with the same problems.

I quote Buxton here:
"This may seem like a little too much arcane detail, but you kind of need to know it in order to understand THE FOLLOWING EXCERPT from a recent book ... " (pg.105)

Now keep in mind, this is the page where the sketching starts, and Buxton does it again. Just when I thought I was finally through with all the introductory crap, there's yet again, more irrelevant fluff to skim through! And excuse me? It's not "a little too much arcane detail," it's a lot of it!

Seriously the entirety of the text seems to be written as a 400 page persuasive argument for some generic college assignment. The design of the book itself is so bad, I cannot recommend this to anyone who wants to learn or expand their knowledge about UX.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
Covered this thing in a highlighter. Great insights and good examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2015
This is a book that I will read many times. I think this book will be helpful for many years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
Bought this for a Hci class. Clear, readable and entertaining to boot. If your not a design type this book will help,you see the value of good design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2014
Great book and just as described, thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2014
Bill Buxton seems like a very nice guy, and I wish that instead of reading this book I had been able to pick his brain on UX over a beer.

In 2007 this book was probably awesome, but now it is out of date and not especially useful. Some of his key "emerging trends" like the power of rapid prototyping and iterative design are now accepted. It is not worth reading chapters of conjecture on why they might be useful.

Additionally, some may be put off by his folksy writing style... This book sometimes reads like a passive memoir.

The one key nugget stopping this book from getting one star from me is his point that it is important to make early drawings look rough or "sketchy" :) so that people won't believe you are committing to it. This will ensure that they give you constructive feedback.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
My interest is the user experience in web applications. The author makes some good points, but it would appear he never took the time to read his own writing. Typos, grammar and some illogical points really detract from the reading experience. While he implies that this is all relevant to web design, he takes his time tying it in, whereas he makes his point most often with the design of physical objects like bicycles and iPods that are hard to relate to web design.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
One of my favorite tech/design books. Buxton really gets into it, and it contains a ton of practical advice, and scholarship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
good to buy this book Sketching User Experiences: Getting the Design Right and the Right Design...
good to buy this book Sketching User Experiences: Getting the Design Right and the Right Design...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I believe in refreshing knowledge and one way to do that is to see what others are doing and keeping up with. The text book is great and covers many aspects that anyone getting into UX should know. I would also say that anyone that has been doing this for a long time will also be able to sharpen their saw and remember what we are focusing on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse