Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thinly veiled tales from Bethenny's life?
We all have seen Bethenny on The Real Housewives but the question I wanted answered was: can she write? If turning tales from your real life into thinly veiled fictional narrative is ok by you, then you'll find this book lots of fun and a quick read. This is absolutely a guilty pleasure. It's chock full hilarious events in the main character's life - a struggling actress...
Published on July 20, 2012 by Jessica M.

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, lackluster, underwhelming
I expected more from Bethany Frankel,who is a bit funny on TV, and am disappointed that she would pen such a braggy and boring "fictional" story somewhat mirroring her own life story. To me, it's just one more example of a reality star taking advantage of their fame to make money on something that will sell simply because of her name recognition instead of any talent or...
Published on June 25, 2012 by Lisa R


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, lackluster, underwhelming, June 25, 2012
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
I expected more from Bethany Frankel,who is a bit funny on TV, and am disappointed that she would pen such a braggy and boring "fictional" story somewhat mirroring her own life story. To me, it's just one more example of a reality star taking advantage of their fame to make money on something that will sell simply because of her name recognition instead of any talent or ability. Reminds me of all the fashion lines, fragrances, cosmetics, wine, etc. coming from reality stars that are such a joke. Save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skinnydipping, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not sure if the fictional story worked in this case. The story was so close to a biography of Bethenny's life. I found myself trying to place actual names to the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Published, seriously?, July 7, 2012
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
Boring, repetitive, annoying. I started to hope the main character would stop talking. I lost track how many guys she slept with, drinks she had, or meals she skipped. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Carbon copy of Bethenny's life, July 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
Fiction this is not. It's once again all about Bethenny. It's not super creative and the writing isn't anything to write home about. It's a quick, easy read, but it so closely parallels her life, it's nauseating. She should have just written an autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thinly veiled tales from Bethenny's life?, July 20, 2012
By 
Jessica M. (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We all have seen Bethenny on The Real Housewives but the question I wanted answered was: can she write? If turning tales from your real life into thinly veiled fictional narrative is ok by you, then you'll find this book lots of fun and a quick read. This is absolutely a guilty pleasure. It's chock full hilarious events in the main character's life - a struggling actress slash wannabe businesswoman - as she searches for what many women search for, the right guy, a cool career and to come closer to the perfect body. The book also covers the 2 cities I like reading about best - New York and Los Angeles - and has a slew of hilarious, sexy misadventures. If you know Bethenny then you know there'll be some stuff in here that some people may find inappropriate but that's what I love about it. It's got snarky stuff to spare but also covers some ground that isn't flattering (again, assuming you believe this stuff comes straight from Bethenny's life itself). She doesn't shy away from missteps, embarrassing romantic moments, and outrageous stories of nights on the town. The book often feels like you're hearing these stories from a friend over cocktails - with no punches being pulled. Check it out and you won't be disappointed. I should warn you though - I felt it started a bit slow but definitely picks up in the late second half. But you also get some fun behind the scenes glimpses of her reality television experiences!

As an aside, if you're a reality TV fan like me, and have ever wanted to go on a show or wondered how people like Bethenny get cast on those shows, there's a really fun and informative book I also just checked out - Me On TV: The First Ever Kick-Ass Guide To Get You On Any Reality Show. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Non-Frankel fan beware, other problems., June 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
If you don't like Frankel's TMI, crude or vulgar-style, this book is probably not for you. It's written in Frankel's voice so you're stuck reading about tampons and "swamp crotch" and boners (in other words, I won't be buying my mom this book!).

"Voice" aside, the book did keep me interested until the reality section of the book, which is too long and so boring, but it picks back up and ends well. A good beach read, minus the boring parts.

So why three stars?

So much of the book seemed to draw on Frankel's life -- if she wanted to write a memoir, just write a memoir. Drawing a little on real life is fine, but so much was re-reading what I already knew (read in her other books, or heard on her shows) but with code names and a few skewed details. I wanted something new. The character names were also terrible and take away from the story. Sybil Hunter? Faith Brightstone? Jodi Sue? The Make Dreams Come True Foundation? Not an ounce of realness or creativity.

The other star loss: I read a free excerpt of the book before it was released (I rated it 4 stars). The early chapters were about Faith (the lead) meeting a musician and them going Skinny Dipping (which I guess is where the name of the book comes from?). At excerpts end, you're left wondering how the evening played out. Unless I totally missed it, this entire event, was never mentioned in the novel. WHAT?

It pains me to write this review because I worship Bethenny, but I'm a long-time novel and memoir reader in addition to Frankel groupie, and this was not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sassy, funny, and moving novel., May 1, 2012
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
I've never even seen Bethenny's show and haven't read any of her other books, but I actually had a chance to read a review copy of this book. Watching the main character grow into herself provides an interesting--and utterly hilarious--literary journey for the reader. While the book is funny, cute, and romantic--all of the elements to render it a perfect summer beach read--the obstacles that Faith encounters in her transition from New York, to L.A., to New York again speak to many women who endure transitions between major stages in life, especially the one between graduating from college and entering the real world. In this way, readers can relate to Faith as she fluctuates between feelings of intense self-criticism while eventually sassing her way to self-confidence, transcending life's pitfalls as she's caught by surprise and good fortune by the end of her journey.

One more thing: If you can't wait for the beach and happen to pick this up for a fun read--perhaps for some entertainment during your daily commute on the transit--you absolutely must be comfortable with laughing freely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Skinny Line Between Fiction and Reality, May 4, 2012
By 
Michelaneous by Michele (Sandy Point Resort, Northwoods Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
Reading this book felt like being immersed in a Bethenny Frankel marathon of her reality television world, including the Martha Stewart Apprentice, The Real Housewives of New York and Bravo's spinoffs, Bethenny Getting Married? and Bethenny Everafter. If you find the quick wit and at times foul mouth of this self-made star entertaining, you--like me--won't be able to put down this book.

Bethenny as a writer, along with her writing partner Eve Adamson, use her personal experiences during her rise to fame to create an alter ego named Faith Brightstone. The story about a young New Yorker moving to L.A. to try to make it as an actress, only to return to New York to find fame in reality television is a thinly veiled fun romp into her past. She has license to pick and choose facts and fiction and mix them into a cocktail named the "pink lemonade mojito" rather than the Skinnygirl margarita. It's a refreshing summer beach read, and the juicy stuff is not left out.

She serves up a tasty platter of what can only be called just desserts by creating highly unlikeable characters based on Martha Stewart and Jill Zarin, and she even adds a zesty little barb aimed at Kelly Bensimon (with a "I'm up here, you're down there" type comment). Her creativity in rewriting the past, including making up new challenges for the television contest named "Domestic Goddess," and her knack for witty/truly funny dialog prove once again why this woman is a star.

I had to deduct a review star, however, due to a critical fiction-writing error at the beginning of Part II, when she lapses into a classic tell rather than show technique, and what I felt was an anti-climactic and cliché conclusion of having the whole thing culminate in the life-lesson of "there are no certainties in life."

But that conclusion was NOT what I took away from this reading experience. Reading this book for me was just plain FUN--as fun as it's been watching Bethenny on TV.

Good for you Skinnygirl, and thanks for the laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable If You're Familiar With Bethenny, July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
I was eager to read "Skinnydipping" after reading other reviews of the book. I am a fan of Bethenny and have been following her since the beginning of her RHNY days. Sadly, I found myself struggling to finish the book. If you know anything about Bethenny's journey to stardom, you will find that the book is pretty much the same as her life, with a few altered details. From a distant, horse-racing father to her temperamental mother, to a "Celebrity Apprentice: Martha Stewart" like show, it didn't make for a very exciting read and was pretty predictable. Love Bethenny and her humor, but could have done without reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiction?, June 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skinnydipping: A Novel (Hardcover)
Part 1: 5 stars
Part 2: 1 star

Frankel's skinnydipping seems as if it is two books rather than one. Part 1 was original and relatable, however Part 2 seemed like a spin-off of the author's life (and any Frankel fan is already informed from her TV show).
Overall, the book was a fun, light, read, but I expected a better story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Skinnydipping: A Novel
Skinnydipping: A Novel by Bethenny Frankel (Paperback - December 4, 2012)
$15.99 $13.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.