Customer Reviews


7,579 Reviews
5 star:
 (4,072)
4 star:
 (1,826)
3 star:
 (855)
2 star:
 (430)
1 star:
 (396)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


608 of 717 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...Can't Recommend This Movie Enough
Being the year of the 50th anniversary of the beloved super spy, the 23rd Bond installment had a lot to live up to. While Casino Royale was a worthy and thrilling reboot to the franchise, Quantum of Solace fell flat with critics and fans. To make matters more interesting, MGM has had financial woes over the last number of years and needed a hit to reinvigorate the studio...
Published on November 10, 2012 by Dan Thompson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring movie
Here is yet another of Daniel Craig bond movies I just could not enjoy. The movie was again lacking in all the things I have come to expect and enjoy in Bond films. No car chases with crazy gadgets, no cell phones that can see through walls and listen in on the bad guy's phone calls. The only thing I even somewhat enjoyed was the bad guy. Though even his motivations did...
Published 13 months ago by Haakmed


‹ Previous | 1 2758 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

608 of 717 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...Can't Recommend This Movie Enough, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being the year of the 50th anniversary of the beloved super spy, the 23rd Bond installment had a lot to live up to. While Casino Royale was a worthy and thrilling reboot to the franchise, Quantum of Solace fell flat with critics and fans. To make matters more interesting, MGM has had financial woes over the last number of years and needed a hit to reinvigorate the studio. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Skyfall.

Not only does the movie qualify as one of the most action-packed and entertaining movies of the year, it ranks on my list as one of the best Bond flicks to date. As has come to be expected, Craig is terrific as the British spy, portraying the character with charm and intensity. The action is top notch and the story is superbly written. Among my favorite moments were the blistering opening sequences, the introduction of the film's villain, and the intense final act, which finds Bond cornered yet unafraid. The real treat, however, is Bardem's role as the sinister Silva. Rivaling any villain in recent memory, save Heath Ledger's Joker, Bardem is intimidating, powerful, and irresistible to watch. You'll find yourself glued to the screen whenever he appears, and hoping he'll show up again soon when he's gone.

Another huge nod has to go to Mendes, whose vision of Bond is spectacular. The movie is tightly scripted and the director does a very fine job of bringing out great performances from his cast. The cinematography is some of the best I've seen in a film for a long time; the production crew did a remarkable job utilizing light, colors, and atmosphere to really draw the audience in. Another treat is the glimpse the audiences gets into Bond's past, which plays a crucial role in the film.

The transfer to Blu-ray is beautiful; the colors are pin-sharp and the picture is clear, crisp, and detailed. In a film that contains such vibrant colors and contrasts, this was immensely important for home release. All of the great cinematographic moments you saw in the theater look just as great here. The audio is equally perfect. The disc's DTS-HD MA 5.1 track contain all the intensity and clarity contained in the theatrical release so you can enjoy the crashes, explosions, gun shots, and dialogue in high definition.

By way of special features, there's just under an hour of behind-the-scenes featurettes that are an interesting watch, as well as the original action-heavy trailer for the movie, "Skyfall Premiere" feature, and two different audio commentaries; a detailed and information-rich feature from Mendes and a not-so-interesting one from producers Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson and production designer Dennis Gassner. The insight from Mendes is fascinating and any fan of the film will be sure to enjoy it. The commentary from the producers felt more like a promotion of the film and could have been left off the disc in my opinion.

Whether your a die-hard Bond fan or a casual observer, Skyfall has something for everyone. There are multiple references to past Bond adventures, yet enough new and innovative ideas to please newcomers to the franchise. I highly recommend this film. This BD set doesn't boast hours and hours of extra footage but it has enough to please fans that are curious about the making of the film. Overall a terrific movie, beautiful disc transfer, and engaging Blu-ray set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 317 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I've seen it twice already!!, December 28, 2012
By 
S. M. O. "Pianoman" (The Place Beyond The Pines, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a die hard Sean-Connery-as-James-Bond fan. I like most of Roger's and a couple of Pierce's. I was not happy when I first learned of Daniel Craig as the new Bond. Daniel who? Was my first reaction. Not another Lazenby, I thought...
I like Casino Royale, but it took me a couple of watches on DVD for it to grow on me. I didn't hate Quantum of Solace as much as others seem to, but then I saw Skyfall..... I love this movie so much that not one day has gone by when I haven't thought of it at least once. I saw it twice in one week, and I never do that when movies are in theaters. The writers of this film must be brought back for the next one, yes it has some minor similarities to The Dark Knight movies, but so what. I can not wait for the Blu Ray release. I hate to admit it, but this may just be my new favorite Bond movie. The only thing that would make it perfect for me would be if Connery were still young enough to play Bond. The opening sequence, the action, Javier as the creepy villain, the surprises in the end.. It's almost perfect. Bravo Barbara Broccoli and Michael Wilson. Now do it again for Bond 24....

Oh...and did I mention the awesome theme song by Adele?? How perfect for the 50th year! Slightly reminiscent of Goldfinger theme, the Monty Norman 007 theme, very well done. Nobody does it better these days. Pun intended....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


195 of 256 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Bond film in many years, December 3, 2012
Although I remain a loyal fan to the Bond of my youth (Roger Moore), Daniel Craig is, in my opinion, one of the very best of the rest. In Skyfall he demonstrated how he has matured into the character - and the writing and execution of virtually every other aspect of this film are superior to his first two outings. Some viewers are finding this Bond outing a bit slow moving. I didn't, although it is admittedly more restrained than many other films from the series. Nevertheless, I found it engaging from beginning to end. I thought certain parts of the film packed an emotional punch seldom felt in other Bond films.

It is interesting how the public's expectations for Bond have changed. When View to A Kill premiered critics blasted the level of violence and even Roger Moore said he thought at least one scene in that movie went too far. The current take on Bond is far more violent and the bad guys are often presented in a much darker light than the villains of old - even if ultimately their dastardly deeds end up having similar effects. I'm looking forward to what comes next in this long running series and highly recommend this entry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bond haunted by his demons, February 11, 2013
In this reviewer's not so humble opinion, a movie marketing campaign finally delivered as advertised! THIS IS THE BEST BOND MOVIE EVER!!! Don't get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed Sean Connery, the original Bond, in all of his Bond glory, and recurring resurrections of the 007 character, but I always had a problem with the way the previous Bonds had no problem or reflection in killing people, no remorse, they could plug a bad guy one minute and then crack a joke the very next scene. If James Bond existed, he'd be haunted by the lives he's taken. He'd struggle everyday with the lawful transgressions he committed in the name of country; unable to completely come too terms with what he's done, but always understanding that it was for the greater good, civic virtue if you will. Daniel Craig embodies that type of "realistic" Bond. Haunted by his actions facing the consequences of his decisions wether he was justified or not.

Director Sam Mendes has done a fantastic job with the imagery captured in the film. The cinematography is top notch, breathtaking in some instances, i.e. the Shanghai sequences. When you really get down to what makes a great film, it's the resonant images that linger with you and ultimately comprise your memories of the film. Skyfall gives you some very creative and striking memories to say the least! Mendes also does a great job with the pacing of the film scene by scene. In previous Bond entries I believe directors were easily swept away by the action mechanisms that are inherent in films like this, and get carried away with the speed of the content, force feeding the audience a traditional ho-hum action movie as oppose to taking their time and letting the story devlop into something special via witty dialogue and atmospheric scenery mixed in with technically sound action sequences. Mendes weaves all aspects together seamlessly, creating the most memorably Bond experience I've ever had. A beautiful Bond Quilt if you will.

Performance wise, Daniel Craig continues his top notch acting as a darker version of Bond; facial expressions that relay emotions that words would never communicate on camera are scattered throughout the film along with his distinctively, dry charm. Ultmately, Javier Bardem steals the show though. A villain you fear, at the same time find humorous, all the while rooting against him eventhough you understand where he's coming from. I have no other words to describe Bardem's performance except "RIVETING". Tell me that I'm wrong on this and I"ll call ya a liar! Behind your back of course, never to your face.

All in all, the most outstanding Bond ever made, and a film that should've absolutly been nominated for Best Picture! We agree on that Roger Moore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring movie, December 27, 2013
This review is from: Skyfall (Amazon Instant Video)
Here is yet another of Daniel Craig bond movies I just could not enjoy. The movie was again lacking in all the things I have come to expect and enjoy in Bond films. No car chases with crazy gadgets, no cell phones that can see through walls and listen in on the bad guy's phone calls. The only thing I even somewhat enjoyed was the bad guy. Though even his motivations did not feel very Bond like. But the thing that kills me is that Daniel Craig still does not feel like an actor that is playing a good Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Skyfall': New tricks for an old dog, December 24, 2012
All the accusations of the Bond franchise ripping off the Jason Bourne series are overblown. If anything, this latest installment in Bond's new evolution takes the high art of murder to a beautiful new level. The theme throughout is light and shadow, and the director makes excellent use of both to illustrate how death isn't dealt only in the shadows.

The other theme is old dogs in a world full of Internet-savvy young pups. Whether it's M (Judi Dench) or Bond (Daniel Craig) himself, they recognize themselves as relics of a bygone era in which satellites and video cameras do most of the spy work for them. And yet that's what makes Bond so important in this modern age -- he goes "off the grid," where the real terror lurks.

Javier Bardem plays an embodiment of that terror, Raoul Silva, a brutally warped villain who has an understandable (if unreasonable) motive to kill M. Just as Bond has an unspoken duty to Queen and Country, the new world tests that loyalty by robbing first Bond -- then M, then the entire organization -- of its identity. When politicians drag their doings into the light of day, the franchise feels invigorated because it's finally facing up to the ludicrous issues of the past. Bond can no longer casually sip a martini without being reminded that he's drinking taxpayer's money.

And that's a good thing. "Skyfall" works so well because it's not just another installment in the franchise, it's a milestone. Things are changing for Bond, in a good way, and it gives me hope that we can expect more out of this old dog in a new world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall-James Bond, February 14, 2013
This review is from: Skyfall (DVD)
This was the first James Bond movie I had been to in ages. Saw it at the theater and it was awesome!! I plan to purchase it as soon as possible. Just a great movie!! Daniel Craig makes a great James Bond!! Lots of action and intrigue. James Bond completely!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Evolution of James Bond, September 27, 2013
By 
Skyfall marked the 50th anniversary of James Bond on film (no that was not a typo). Bond is much different now than he once was, but at the same time he is much like how he was when he first began. While the tone of this story wasn't quite as action filled as some of the other entries it undeniably has the best cinematography of any other movie in the historical franchise.

The production and set designs were outstanding and even the wardrobe, particularly that of James Bond's (provided by Tom Ford) helped make the movie visual gold. The plot was fantastic in the way that it was unassuming and respected the intelligence of the audience. Because of this we were led to some more surprising events in the film. Traveling the world is a tradition in James Bond, but you have never seen it like this before. The locales were so exquisitely showcased it simply gave you an undeniable desire to make the journey to places like Shanghai and Macau.

I think the final showdown is one of the best ever. Overall if you are looking for a run and gun James Bond action flick, maybe try one of the Pierce Brosnan pictures, but for the first time in a long time I felt like I was watching art in a James Bond movie in a case of both style and substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Think on your sins.", February 11, 2013
Let's face it: after QUANTUM OF SOLACE, we were all kind of hesitant about what kind of film BOND 23 would be. Even when Sam Mendes, director of the classic AMERICAN BEAUTY, signed on, we were still skeptical. We all know Daniel Craig brings a certain screen presence to the role; he may not be Sean Connery, but then, Connery's Bond wouldn't necessarily work nowadays. (Don't get me wrong: love the classic Bond. Hell, I'm even a Roger Moore fan, don't hold that against me.) Craig's Bond is a morally flawed creation, a character with a dark heart who (usually) does the right thing for (sometimes) the right reasons.

Here's the trick about SKYFALL, what makes this film work so well: it isn't even about Bond. The film centers around M (Judi Dench), and her dangerous past, which is personified in the rise of a new villain: Silva. He's a cyberterrorist who could bring about the collapse of civilized society with the push of a button...but instead, he's using his power to bring M to her knees. Bond is merely a pawn in his scheme: two rats fighting for survival. Which animal will triumph, and which will be torn to shreds?

SKYFALL is a brilliant film. Plain and simple. It has its flaws, as do all Bond films (even a Moore film wouldn't have stooped to the level of CGI Komodo dragons...well, maybe). But its strengths far outweigh its weaknesses. Director Mendes has flat-out stated that, without the success of THE DARK KNIGHT, SKYFALL would not have been possible; this is evident, for what KNIGHT did for superhero films, SKYFALL does for the Bond franchise. (Purists beware: this is a Bond who wears his heart on his sleeve, and you may not like what you see.) The script is intelligent; that's a rarity for an action film. The directing is solid. The scope is broad: shifting Bond into a new era, while at the same time cementing his legacy. (Fanboys will get a few delights.)

But what this film really comes down to is the caliber of acting. Craig gives his best Bond to date, but even he's out-shined by the supporting cast. In her expanded role, Dench is a marvel. It's been refreshing to see her interacting with Craig; here, their chemistry truly comes alive, as two brilliant actors get to take their roles to new levels. Ralph Fiennes, as a bureaucrat who sees the 00 program as antiquated, is subtle; his performance slowly builds on itself, as his best usually do. Ben Whishaw and Albert Finney breathe some fresh blood into things; as far as "Bond girls," we have Naomie Harris, whose character is perhaps the least fleshed-out, and an especially good Berenice Marlohe. But as we all know, a great Bond film is nothing without a great villain, and Javier Bardem gives us one of the best (in my mind, THE best) the franchise has to offer. Silva is a menace; he's maniacal and unpredictable, a sociopath bent on a vicious, kamikaze vendetta. He's truly unhinged, and for good reason; as crazy and manipulative as he gets (his opening scene is a brilliant choreography of psychological manipulation; some viewers have gotten a little antsy, but pay attention and you'll understand), you can't help but sympathize with him. And that is the core brilliance of SKYFALL: it's an intensely personal film, so much so that viewers get sucked into the story despite the typical Bond locales and damseles in distress. SKYFALL is a great Bond movie; some have said it's the greatest, but that's really a matter of taste. What's hard to deny is that, no matter where it ranks in the Bond cannon, SKYFALL is simply a great movie. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall Shines, July 21, 2013
This review is from: Skyfall (DVD)
I saw this movie in theaters, and since owning the dvd I have seen it over 3 times. So I figured, why not do a review?

Casino Royale revamped my faith in James Bond. Die another Day was ok, but Pierce Brosnan was losing his step a bit. Alas, a man by the name of Daniel Craig took the reigns and ever since 2006, he has fit the suit and persona quite well.

Skyfall stars Daniel Craig as Mr.007 himself, Judi Dench reprising her role as M, and Rory Kinnear as Bill Tanner. We also have a strong cast of newcomers that include: Ralph Fiennes as Gareth Mallory, Naomie Harris as Eve, Berenice Marhole as the beautiful Severine, and finally Javeer Bardem as the villian Silva. The cast was great; Javeer Bardeem was very convincing in his role.

The Story line is what you would expect from a GOOD Bond movie. Although the film itself deals with issues such as Bond losing his focus and having to regain his composure and mentality to become Bond again, there is a lot of suspense, really nice action, and oh yes, very BEAUTIFUL women.

So overall, I thoroughly enjoyed Skyfall from start to finish. I really enjoyed the opening sequence where Adele sings her song for the film appropriately titled: Skyfall. Great cast, good story, a lot of action, and more importantly, Skyfall is James Bond as he is meant to be. Sam Mendes did a marvelous job directing this movie.

I do want to mention that I have been hearing rumors that once Daniel Craig's contract is up, that it is possible that Idris Elba(fantastic actor by the way) will be taking the reigns as the new 007. Even if that does happen, I have a strong feeling that Daniel Craig will continue to take James Bond in the right direction, and furthermore, we can expect even better things to come in the forseeable future.

9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2758 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Skyfall
Skyfall by Sam Mendes
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.