Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Characters Every Skylander Needs!!! SKYLANDERS GIANTS COMMING SOON!!!, January 2, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
Every Skylander needs this set of 3 Characters; WRECKING BALL, STEALTH ELF, and SONIC BOOM. You get two additional elements needed to get through all the phases of the game; Life and Air. These don't come with the original game and are an awesome addition to anyone's collection. Wrecking Ball is the element of Magic. With the original character set sold with the Playstation 3 (Spyro, Trigger Happy and Gill Grunt) and these three you will still need to get the Earth, Undead, and Fire elements in order to unlock all the gates within the game. The upgrades for all three of these are AWESOME! You might think they are a little weak when you first start to use them.. but WITH A LITTLE PATIENCE they become VERY COOL!!

WRECKING BALL wreaks havoc by slapping with his tongue and can eventually turn into a force field protected bowling ball with a burp attack! He's so fast in his bowling ball mode..he can be a little hard to maneuver..BUT..he's excellent at the beginnig of a battle when you're surrounded by opponents! After acquiring the "Digestive Detonation" upgrade you can press and hold his burp attack.. (to be released at your convenience)for an even wider ranged impact. His soul gem upgrade enables him to use his tongue to slap and ...slurp up his smaller enemies. His STRENGTHS are ELEMENTAL POWER and ARMOR..(Dark Spyro is a little stronger for elemental power...but..only available at retail in the Nintendo 3DS starter kit).

STEALTH ELF moves very quickly and slices up her opponents; upgraded she moves and leaves another decoy image behind her. The only way to know where she really is... are the green glowing eyes. Additional upgrades turn her into an acrobatic ninja that can do flips; and if you pick the "POOK BLADE SAINT" upgrade she has a bunch of magical knives that float alongside her where ever she goes... and do some of the work for you. These blades makes her a force to be reckoned with.. along with her extremely fast flips. With the SOUL GEM she can REGENERATE HER HEALTH over time.. which is extremely handy beacuse her WEAKNESS is ARMOR...her STRENGTHS..SPEED..CRITICAL HIT and ELEMENTAL POWER.

SONIC BOOM uses a roar and an egg toss (her little babies appear for a few seconds after the eggs break open..my son loves having her babies follow her around... he thinks it's too cute) in the beginning as her weapon. The egg toss is handy in creating a diversion strategy, sometimes the minions(bad guys) attack them instead of her..You can also throw her eggs out in front of you in a bait strategy (comes in handy with spiders) and then with more upgrades mom and her babies can fly. With the soul gem... when Sonic roars at her babies they roar too ...for a wider ranged attack and increased destruction. Sonic and Stealth Elf are among the fastest characters starting out..SONIC along WITH HER BABIES.. are quite capable of doing a LOT of damage...

BEGINNING STATS=baseline where your characters start out. The card that you get with the figures is referring to the online "Skylander's Universe" portion ONLY...So for those that are trying to strategize...or if your on a budget and trying to decide...MAX HEALTH refers to the total number of hit points your character can take before dying...SPEED..self explanatory..ARMOR.. ability to block damage.. CRITICAL HIT..ability to inflict damage.. ELEMENTAL POWER..extra power when your character is in their own elemental zone.. The higher..the Better!

WRECKING BALL'S BEGINNING STATS:
MAX HEALTH:270
SPEED:43
ARMOR:24
CRITICAL HIT:20
ELEMENTAL POWER:39

STEALTH ELF'S BEGINNING STATS:
MAX HEALTH:270
SPEED:50
ARMOR:12
CRITICAL HIT:50
ELEMENTAL POWER:46

SONIC'S BEGINNING STATS:
MAX HEALTH:280
SPEED:50
ARMOR:18
CRITICAL HIT:30
ELEMENTAL POWER:39

RETAIL FOR A TRIPLE PACK...IS $19.99 AT WALMART, AMAZON(direct) AND TARGET. TOYS R' US..$24.99!
ANYTHING ELSE IS MARKET DRIVEN..DON'T PAY ANYTHING MORE..

"SKYLANDERS GIANTS" IS COMING in October 2012!!
The great news is... your current figures will be compatible with the new version! They will have less upgrades than the new series 2 re-poses in "GIANTS", but at least they will still be usable. The series 2 re-poses are backwards compatible with the original "Skylanders" game, but won't have the additional powers. The light-core RE-POSES (that glow on the portal) are backwards compatible, they just won't light up. NONE OF THE NEW CHARACTERS FOR GIANTS WILL WORK IN SKYLANDERS SPYRO'S ADVENTURE. THEY WILL JUST WORK IN THE GIANTS VERSION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pick the right 2 Packs!, August 19, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
I don't play Wii, but when my son was shopping with his birthday money, we saw Skylanders, and I said, "I think you need that!" I thought it was so cool (still do). The Starter Pack gives you 1 Magic, 1 Water, and 1 Tech. Naturally you "need" at least ONE guy from each Element. You can certainly buy characters individually, but it's cheaper to buy the Packs. If you choose two 3-packs carefully, you get 1 guy from each element, plus an extra Magic guy.

If you get THIS (reviewing) 3-pack (Wrecking/Stealth/Sonic) PLUS Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Eruptor, Chop Chop, Bash), you cover all the Elements for cheaper than buying them separately. After that, you can add in other characters as your kid likes, but this allows them to unlock all the areas.

I bought the two 3-packs, but opened the packages & re-wrapped each guy separately. My son can "earn" a new (surprise) guy each week by good behavior and cheerful helpfulness. He got Chop Chop yesterday, and was thrilled to add an Undead to his team, after a week of only the 3 original Elements. He has 5 more Saturdays worth of guys (assuming he's nice), then he can select/earn add-on guys on his own. I felt that deferring the collection of characters makes it more anticipatory and stretches out the fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skylanders, March 23, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
They are awesome. Stealth elf is fast and powerful. Wrecking ball is cute and with upgrades Can be powerful. Sonic boom can fly and has babies that can fight also. It arrived quickly and undamaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Characters in this Pack!, February 23, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
My son bought skylanders for himself with extra Christmas money, with me knowing nothing about the game. Well, now I am hooked on it. I'm on a mission to get all the characters, and this set has some great ones. I haven't played with Stealth Elf yet, but I understand she is a great character. Wrecking ball has got to be the cutest character, almost acting like a dog all the time. Plus you can upgrade him to have a burb attack and eat smaller enemies. What's not to like about a burb attack. His tongue attack doesn't do a ton of damage, but my son seems to love using him all the time. And he can roll up into a ball (hence wrecking ball) and roll over the enemies. Now, for my favorite character to date - Sonic Boom. She has it all. She is quick, you can upgrade her to fly (like Spyro), and she has babies that also attack for you, though with much less power. Her roar (or sonic boom, I guess) does some serious damage, though you can't attack from too far away. But, if you have the babies out, they sometimes go ahead and start attacking before you get to the bad guys. Plus, you can upgrade to have the babies fly and roar too. While I (um, we) only have about 10 characters so far, the combination of these three in this pack is one you can't pass up, if you can find it. My only critique of this game is the limited availability of the characters. That's almost another element of the game, trying to locate the characters you want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Toy, January 16, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
This is the latest for kids. I bought this for two of my grandsons. Not only were they excited; but my other grandson was upset and a little jealous because he does not have the game. Little does he know--after Christmas I ordered one from Amazon for his February birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper in this pack than individually., January 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
First, Skylanders is a great game, for both kids and adults. My kids (age 5 and 9) got the Skylander's game for Christmas and we all quickly determined the level of awesome as HIGH. The day after Christmas, we ordered this triple pack from Amazon when it was still at it's normal price and hadn't yet succumbed to the price gauging that is going on right now. It was $19.99 and I paid $3.99 extra for the one-day shipping with Amazon Prime. The price of each of the characters on their own at that time was between $8 and $10. So, this triple pack was around $7 cheaper for all three. I am looking forward to when the prices for the characters goes back to normal, as my children would like to spend some of their hard-earned allowance money on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triple Pack - Wrecking Ball, Sonic Boom and Stealth Elf, December 30, 2011
By 
PJ Huff (Vancouver, WA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
We went to Best Buy, ToysRUs and Target right after Christmas, looking for "some other characters" - and there was an apparent frenzy to get characters, but the item that seemed short in supply was the AIR element.

I read around, that there are (as of 12-2011) only 2 Air Characters even available, with Sonic Boom and Whirlwind, and Whirlwind is Target ONLY.

So, when I saw this Triple pack IN-Stock for the regular price (19.99) I was happy to give it a try. I worried though, because the other packs had the NAMES of the characters, but this one just said "Standard Edition" (no names.)

It arrived today, and it is indeed all 3 that it shows. - Not that you need a character in every element, but, it has been hard to actually find a chance to buy either AIR element character.
Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little brother loves this, January 16, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
Bought this for my little brother (he's 14) and he loves it. He plays this game all the time and I guess this is like an expansion pack type thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Them, December 28, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
We were in at Toys R Us when I seen the game & I told my husband lets get this for my 14 yr old son for Christmas. It looks like we would enjoy playing it with him. Well I seen the extra characters you could buy for it too. I had to have Stealth Elf for myself. I couldn't find her anywhere besides on Amazon. By herself she was $26 something. I've decided she is very popular. Everyone in the 3 pack are awesome. We have a blast playing with all the different characters. We can't wait to get more. Skylanders is a blast :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon makes it easy to please our children !, July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Triple Character Pack (Wrecking Ball, Stealth Elf, Sonic Boom) (Video Game)
There's nothing special about this pack . But what was nice is that it allowed us to get characters that were hard to find at the time . Skylanders is a great game and a lot of fun to play in two player mode . Thank you Amazon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.