Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Disturbed $5 Off Fire TV Stick Amazon Elements Sensitive Baby Wipes, Exclusive to Prime Shop Popular Services tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Disney Infinity 3.0 Shop Now Deal of the Day
Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $7.01 (47%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Slammed: A Novel Kindle Edition

2,292 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$7.99

Length: 354 pages Word Wise: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Editorial Reviews

Review

If you're in a reading slump, and you want to try something genuinely unique, unlike anything else out there - here's your book. It sneaks up on you, starting out with one girl (Layken) missing one parent (check). Add quirky little brother (check) and an unwanted move cross country, because of a parental job transfer (check). She arrives at her new destination, and immediately meets cute, charming guy (Will - double check).
What you don't realize is that this is the end of what you expected...I honestly don't want to tell you any more. Just go read it already. And when you hit that point at about 20% or so that makes you go, "OMFG!" - that's your departure point, right there. Strap in and put your tray in the upright position. Oh, and prepare to buy the sequel (which is out now - lucky you!), because you're gonna want it. As. Soon. As. You. Finish. Reading.    -Tammara Webber, author of Easy     

From the Author

Colleen Hoover is the author of six New York Times bestselling novels. The SLAMMED series, which includes SLAMMED, POINT OF RETREAT and THIS GIRL. The HOPELESS series, which includes HOPELESS, LOSING HOPE and the free novella FINDING CINDERELLA. Her most recent release is the NYT's bestseller, MAYBE SOMEDAY, which includes links to an original soundtrack by musician Griffin Peterson. 
Her next standalone, UGLY LOVE, is scheduled to release August 5th, 2014. 

You can follow Colleen on Instagram and Twitter @colleenhoover. You can also find her on her blog at colleenhoover.com where she holds a daily book-a-day giveaway, or on her very active Facebook page at facebook.com/authorcolleenhoover where she loves to give away more free stuff when her husband isn't looking. 

Product Details

  • File Size: 1661 KB
  • Print Length: 354 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1476715904
  • Publisher: Atria Books (August 10, 2012)
  • Publication Date: August 10, 2012
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9383260300
  • ISBN-13: 978-9383260300
  • ASIN: B008TRUDAS
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #6,776 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Colleen Hoover is the author of ten New York Times bestselling novels. She self-published her first novel, SLAMMED, in 2012. Five months later it debuted on The New York Times. Colleen has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. Her next novel, November 9, is scheduled to release in November, 2015.

Ugly Love, a novel she released in August, 2014, is currently in pre-production with Hackybox Pictures and is slated to release in 2016.

You can follow Colleen on Instagram and Twitter @colleenhoover. You can also find her on her blog at www.colleenhoover.com or on her very active Facebook page at www.facebook.com/authorcolleenhoover



Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

337 of 364 people found the following review helpful By L. Frase on January 24, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
Disclaimer: I do not know the author personally. I first heard of her book on a writer's forum. A poster created a thread in order to accuse the author of gaming Amazon's system in order to create fake 5 star reviews. The author is new; unknown. Slammed is her debut book. Within seven days of release she managed to gain an unprecedented number of five star reviews. She came across this thread and tried to defend herself. She claimed she utilized the power of social media, as well as gained the support (tweet) of the Avett Brother's band. She also said she wrote the book in a month. I was intrigued and curious by all of this. I decided to read the book in order to give a fair, objective, and balanced review.

I confess that I had low expectations for this book. I found it hard to believe that someone could write and publish a book in thirty days and gain all five star reviews. First let me say, I read a lot of young adult books. This is definitely a young adult book, and quite frankly, she did an amazing job (especially considering the amount of time she spent on the book). I was blown away.

Is this book perfect? No. Hence -four stars. She writes in the first person, present tense, which is difficult to do, and requires the reader to make a shift. It took me awhile to get comfortable. She did a good job of staying in the present tense, but there were sentences here and there that felt a bit awkward. The book was relatively clean of typos and convention eras (another amazing feat in such a short amount of time). I spotted about three errors that jumped out at me -things like an extra word or capitalization. These minor issues are fixable and do not take away from the story.

The characters were strong, compelling, and believable. I was somewhat bothered by Kel's age.
Read more ›
17 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Melissa on April 18, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It is always an amazing book that immediately drives me to get up and DO. I don't just finish the book and reflect on the things I have read. I have an overwhelming desire to change something in my life or do something that I have never done before. I find myself wanting to truly experience something, to go out and LIVE life to its fullest. That is what Slammed did to me. No, nothing really life changing occurred with me after reading this book, but I couldn't move on until I immediately loaded the Avett Brothers onto my Pandora playlist so I could hear their amazing music. Then I searched for the beautiful lyrics of their songs so that I could soak them in and interpret them for myself. I have a need to find somewhere, anywhere within driving distance for me to see Slam poetry in action. I found myself sitting in my spare moments and thinking about the Slam poetry that I could perform about the moments in my life that have impacted me the most. I don't just want to sit around and think about the things that I read about in this novel. I want to DO.

In short, this is a book about grieving, but ultimately this is a book about living. Lake (a strange name for a main character, but soon it becomes natural and right to me as a name once I got to know her) finds herself transplanted from Texas to Michigan when her mom and she, along with a younger brother, move after the sudden death of her father. Although it has been a few months since her father's death, Lake is still experiencing residual sadness because of the loss of her happy family. Things are different now, and it is even more different when she finds herself in Michigan. She isn't happy to be there, but things begin to look up immediately when she meets the lovely man living next door to her.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
91 of 107 people found the following review helpful By Coywolf on January 14, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I read the description, and I am a slam poet so I was intrigued.

I happened to see it on my Kindle yesterday, got it when it was free and thought would give it a try.

The book totally blew me away.

Amazing characters, real emotion, excellent writing, real hardship.

It's rare that I believe the characters so much in their struggles.

Really excellent book, shocked it's a debut novel, I wonder what's next.

Excellent for fans of YA, Romance or just a good story.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
63 of 75 people found the following review helpful By Nicki on January 2, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Thoroughly enjoyed this book! I read it in one sitting. I just couldn't put it down! I highly recommend it to anyone who loves to read good fiction. I can honestly say not many books can make me cry, but this one made me cry more than once. I am ready for the sequel!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful By neverendingstory on June 14, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I do not know where to begin... I read A LOT and i have never written a review about a book until now. I wish I could scream from the mountain tops to everyone I know about how much I LOVED this series! If you love to read or are a light reader it does not matter you MUST read this series! I am 33 yrs old and the fact that this series is YA never even crossed my mind while reading it. I laughed out loud, I cried lots of tears and I felt a large realm of many other emotions reading this series. It was touching, heartbreaking, hilarious, moving, full of intense love and more than anything it captivated my soul! The poetry was amazing and the characters were so well developed. It was like I was watching a movie in my mind as I read the words on the pages. I never highlight or mark pages in books, but this one I did!! So much beautiful poetry that I wanted to remember and go back to. If you have any doubt about reading this book PLEASE just take a chance on it you will NOT be disappointed! THANK YOU Colleen Hoover for writing such an AMAZINGLY beautiful story, it was a gift and a pleasure to read! (Book 2 is Point of Retreat)
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?