Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
5 star
76%
4 star
0%
3 star
24%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 11, 2013
I bought this album on vinyl back when it first came out in the early '70s. Mick Ronson as a guitar player has been so underrated and under appreciated for so many years, it's sad. I'm glad that I was lucky enough to have listened to and see him (and Ian Hunter) live back in my teen years. If you're a Mick Ronson fan(or a David Bowie fan), I think you'll like his work on this album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
I still have the plastic version of mick ronson talking about this album with love me tender and Slaughter on it. it came in a magazine circus or crawdaddy. But the album itself i used to listen to doing homework. Amazing stuff. My mom loved the slaughter on 10th ave song which i had no idea was a movie. Mick is sorely missed. So i`m going to download this and next month get his 2nd album in mp 3. i do have Heaven and Hull.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2010
I have been looking for a long time for this CD, Mick Ronson's first solo effort. I owned it years ago on vinyl but wanted it on disc to round out my collection. It is an excellent album which really showcases Micks superb guitar work, especially on songs such as the title song. It also shows of Micks vocals which aren't half bad. He never got a chance to prove he could sing when playing with Bowie. All in all, I would recommend this album to anyone who is a fan of rock and roll and definitely is a must have for any fan of Mick Ronson. Leave it to Amazon to once again come through with a hard to find title.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2002
I give this album a qualified 5 stars simply because of the weakness of side one. However side 2 is another story. This absolutely blows the doors off anything else by this flamboyant 'glam' guitarist. From I'm the One,,,Pleasure Man/Hey Ma get Papa to Slaughter on 10th Ave. this one cooks. With help from Brit stalwarts this side slides from one tune into the next seemlessly and after 20 minutes (+/-) you are left breathless and wanting more. Not just guitar either - great piano, sax and drums-almost free-form jazz-rock fusion. Just play this side over and over. I have this since it's release and still play it regularily. A couple of good Bowie-esque tunes on side one but I find Love me Tender to be embarassing.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2005
Mick is my guitar hero. Plain and simple. At the time, Bowie had disbanded the Spiders (see Ziggy the Movie) and things were in flux. Mainman and Tony DeFries wanted to milk the cash cow of Bowie to the ummphh degree, hence the first solo record for Mick.

Sure things were rushed to get this out but some of the songs are KILLER.

The standout track is obviously Slaughter on 10th Ave. An instrumental of a song from a bad 50's movie. Remember that the backing musicians were the Spiders except for Woody Woodmansey, who was replaced by Aynsley Dunbar!!

To hear Mike Garson do his jazz/rock tingling on the ivories in this song is to die for.

Bowie provided Mick with the song 'Growing Up and I'm Fine' as a final farwell.

This song is as out of place on this record as 'All The Young Dudes" is on Mott The Hoople's record of the same name---all production----granted it's soooooooo Bowie and worth the price of admission, but it's not what the album is.

Mick was in charge of everything--production, arranging and conducting. He was IT. Everything was on his shoulders and he basically pulled it off. Not the greatest of albums like Ziggy, but you have to take everything into consideration. 'Pleasure../Hey Ma..' is vintage Mick making that Gibson guitar talk in the solo slot.

Love Me Tender is better live--a little forced on the studio version

All in all, a GREAT LP/CD/CS

FYI- Mick is uncredited on a John Mellencamp LP and single that was was a HUGE hit---guess what it is!!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 1999
this is the very best of the very best.. inspiring to say the least, depressing because he's not around to make more. Mick produced L.A. roc en espanol band Los Illegals (A&M Records) in the early '80's, pretty visionary.. an absolute masterpiece: should be played over and over.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2010
Great album. Definitely original while some parts remind me a lot of Ziggy. There's an instrumental piece on side 2 that's similar to that Mott The Hoople piece on side 2 of their "Mott" album. Sleeve says Bowie did not sing at all but is credited with some writing and it certainly sounds like he's on there at times. The whole album is an instant favorite for me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2010
It was great finding this previously out of print CD available as a release by Lemon Records for this price. It is a Glam Rock classic from a Bowie Era musician. Mick Ronson is widely regarded as one of the greatest mid tempo guitarist!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 1998
The sonic excellence, a few pretty strong songs, Mick's boffo guitar stylings, and his astonishingly Bowie-like vocals (hey, the guy sang back-up for him for some five years, whatt'ya expect) keep this mid-seventies release from being a 'guitar player goes it his own' blemish on the long unappreciated guitarist. Still, it's easy to see why Ronson's solo career didn't take off. A few songs are ridiculous in the glam-vein, and the superfluous bonus-tracks are just that. I believe fans of 'Transformer', as well as Bowie's 'Ziggy Stardust' and his early days might interested in hearing this long-buried album from this extremely talented legend.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2009
This album is just amazing from the beggining to the end and have very great covers like "Love me tender" of Elvis Presley and original like "Growing up and im fine" godddd gorgeus song or "Only after dark", with a hard riff and great arrangements. Honestly if you are a fan of nice music, just buy it you'll not feel disapointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.