Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
9
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$24.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 5, 2009
This is an early example of pink film from Japan. It's not as explicit as roman porno films of the 1970s; however, it has charm. There are some nice artsy cinematic moments during love scenes, closeups of the body, sweat, lakes and some posturing. Where the film falters is the pretty weak dialog, the character who plays the maid (who is pretty inconsequential to the story), and the poorly remastered print. The 35mm print has a lot of blemishes and the original subtitles are used (white on the print itself). If you are familiar with some of the Something Weird re-issues of black and white art house films, you may like this. If you are expecting an all out exploitation flick, you may be disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2013
A dark film-noir type film. The actress is sultry and the film has a very sexy feel, the way it is filmed, as much as the male-female situations. It is not necessarily a happy topic, tho, as you will see from the summary above. There was something really attractive about the film, not just the sexuality, but the way the story was unfolded and how you were kept interested. This movie is nothing like hk film, but if you have ever seen those, you will know-- low production values, rushed schedules, making a million movies a year, but yet, perhaps partly because of the practice everyone was getting, there were some real gems among them.

In the same way, though this is probably in the sexploitation genre, some of the cinematography, some of the direction, some of the acting really shines.

It is not like one of my favorite films of all time, but for what it is, it gets 4-5 stars as a genre thing that came out well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
Noriko Tatsumi gives a strong performance as the "slave widow". But once again, it's Naomi Tani that steals the show, whenever she appears on screen, in this minor role, early in her career. Mamoru Watanabe is considered one of the best pink directors. There are only 4 sixties pink films available. The transfer could be better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2010
Altogether plausable situation in which a recent widow is approached by her late husband's major creditor with an offer to exchange indebtedness for sex. Women apparently bore some kind of legal responsibility for their husbands debts, which is terrible. Although it sounds outrageous I suspect that things like this happen all the time, even here in the United States. There is some pretty tame sex in the movie, not quite up to an R rating. I found myself feeling sorry for the woman. On the other hand she did not seem to be entirely rejecting the arrangement, either. If he would have married her I think she would have gone along, but no such luck. He plans to marry someone else but keep her around for sex. Bad ending. This was apparently the kind of movie that excited Japanese in the 1960's. Damned if I can see why. Other than the novelty of a different culture and customs, I wasn't too impressed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
old black & white--story jumps around, bad movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2016
Boring and slow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2015
OK classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2016
Long
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2008
The first thing that jumped out to me about this movie is that it's an old black & white movie, if I had known that ahead of time, I would never have purchased this movie. If you are looking for something racey and like watching nude asian women, then this isn't the movie for you. If this movie were to be released today it would probably be rated PG. If you like old movies (like movies with Humphry Bogart) then this might be the movie for you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.