Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabuloso
This book is a delight, both the words and images. A feisty young girl lets her parents know in no uncertain terms that she does not want to go to bed. Who hasn't been there before? They convince her that bed is a good place to be and a parade of wonderful animals unfolds. Buy this book for the kids in your life! Both you and they will sleep better for it.
Published 21 months ago by Lino

versus
20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet but no real story here
This is a nice story of the gentle manner in which parents can get a child who may not feel like going to bed to lie down (if only it were always this easy). I was inclined to give it four stars, but my six year old was quite insistent that it only deserves two. She said that there was no real story and that she did not like the style of illustration. That may simply be...
Published 20 months ago by Basil


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabuloso, October 29, 2012
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
This book is a delight, both the words and images. A feisty young girl lets her parents know in no uncertain terms that she does not want to go to bed. Who hasn't been there before? They convince her that bed is a good place to be and a parade of wonderful animals unfolds. Buy this book for the kids in your life! Both you and they will sleep better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story and pictures., December 10, 2012
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
The story of a recalcitrant child toward going to bed is familiar to all parents. Each page is filled with lovely, detailed illustrations as the parents work toward putting the child to bed. I loved the wheels on the bottom of the shoes and the circle and wheel theme throughout the book. A delightful, beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Bedtime Story Book--A Blend of Dreams and Independence, September 21, 2013
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
Yawn, goes the child who says they aren't tired. Rubbing their eyes and nodding their heads, they ask for yet another hour. Dreams, they are quietly approaching. And here is the tale that sweeps them in.

Sleep Like a Tiger is every bit deserving of the awards bestowed upon it. You and your kids will enjoy the slow drift into an autonomous dream world. The young protagonist of the book, much like your own child may be, claims not to be ready for a night's worth of slumber. Go ahead and brush your teeth, her parents instruct her, just to fulfill good measure.

Each page is a fully drawn fantasy that moves from the small hints of imagination, like the tiger rolling out with the sun or an otter sinking into the sheets, to the large fanciful world of dreamland and the jungle labyrinths of the sleeping tiger. Just the right amount of words are used with each page to keep your child's imagination flowing and the story moving along.

The first few pages may not seem out of the ordinary, but the conclusion ties everything together and creates a sleepy scenario not unlike those in classics such as Where the Wild Things Are. With confidence, I can recommend this book to any weary-worn parent wishing to read their kid to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleep Like a Tiger, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
I love this gentle book. The story flows like a poem and the gorgeous illustrations perfectly enhance the words. It is a true delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything to encourage going to sleep!, November 26, 2012
By 
M. Grigsby (Kansas City, KS USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the electronic version of this book to read to my 4 year old grandson on the iPad. He just loved it. It is a fairly long book with lucious illustrations. It gives both a verbal and visual sense of coziness and blissful sleeping, as portrayed on the cover of the book. I think this is a delightful book about that rather difficult process of getting kids to get under the covers and GO TO SLEEP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, April 3, 2014
By 
Dollfacekilla (salem, ma United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
My 2 1/2 year old niece loves this book and the pacing of the story really does make it a good read before bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Family Needs This Book On Their Bookcase or Kindle, March 24, 2014
Mary Logue has written a lovely lullaby of words that will rock-a-bye even the most resistant child into a dreamy slumber. Pamela Zagdrenski's stylized colorful illustrations with hidden treasures make us search for clues. Exquisite effort by both Mary and Pamela. This book should be on every family's bookshelf. It is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet but no real story here, November 14, 2012
By 
Basil (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
This is a nice story of the gentle manner in which parents can get a child who may not feel like going to bed to lie down (if only it were always this easy). I was inclined to give it four stars, but my six year old was quite insistent that it only deserves two. She said that there was no real story and that she did not like the style of illustration. That may simply be her personal taste, but I do find that some of the slightly abstract styles of illustration appeal less to children than do the softer lines of pastels (a la Tomie DePaola). Upon reflecting upon my daughters comments, I reread the book and now agree with her that although sweet, this book does not really go anywhere. Still if this is the style of illustration to which you incline, you might like this book more than us.

I personally enjoy the literary allusions, such as the mother carrying a copy of "The Little Prince" and an allusion to William Blake's "Tiger, Tiger Burning Bright" at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
My 3 year old son loves this book. It is the first book we read every night. Amazing illustrations. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!!!, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) (Hardcover)
My infant grandson received this book as a gift. I love to read it before naptime to his almost 3 year old brother. I can't tell you which one of us likes it more. It is beautifully illustrated and has a sweet calming story line. By the time we are finished he is yawning and ready to settle down. I purchased several more and will be giving it to other grandma's or soon to be first time grandmas for their collection of must have children's books. Don't pass this one up!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s))
Sleep Like a Tiger (Caldecott Medal - Honors Winning Title(s)) by Mary Logue (Hardcover - October 23, 2012)
$16.99 $9.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.