Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THE REGION 2 ITALIAN DISC!!!!!!!!!
First off the horrible DVD released in this country as Sleepless is pretty AWFUL in comparison to the Italian DVD. The Italian DVD has it's original title NON HO SONNO, the menus are nice, and if you own the Artisan disc you see this menu for a brief second before it switches to the horrible static frame of the [bad] cover picture.
The Italian DVD also offers a nice...
Published on July 7, 2003 by Lee Webster

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why Does Artisan Entertainment Continue To Mees Up DVD's?
This is a great giallo horror film, and Dario Argento has finally returned to full form with this latest effort. The fact that this disc is not only a full-frame version of the movie (making it look like a cheap 70's television show, with grain and "stretched" framing) but is also probably a R-rated cut of the film-- and we'll never knoiw because Artisan gives...
Published on December 16, 2001 by Loren Gillespie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why Does Artisan Entertainment Continue To Mees Up DVD's?, December 16, 2001
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
This is a great giallo horror film, and Dario Argento has finally returned to full form with this latest effort. The fact that this disc is not only a full-frame version of the movie (making it look like a cheap 70's television show, with grain and "stretched" framing) but is also probably a R-rated cut of the film-- and we'll never knoiw because Artisan gives absolutely NO information on the film's specs and there is NO extra features on the disc-- is really disapointing. This is a poor bare-bones DVD release of a spectacular new horror thriller by one of the masters of the genre. Too bad Artisan once again fail to recognize greatness when it's right in front of them and dish out crap like this to customers who want better DVD products for their money. For Argento fans and DVD collectors, this is just another slap in the face by Artisan Entertainment. Be careful when buying Artisan DVD's from now on. You usually don't get what you pay for (I.E. see the recent Ginger Snaps Artisan DVD compared to its Canadian counterpart that actually HAS extra features to see what I mean). A truly pitiful DVD release of a great horror film. That's why I gave it a 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Widescreen????, December 8, 2001
By 
frankenberry (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
Dario Argento's stylish and ultra-gory giallo is a return to form for the maestro and will definitely please his long-time fans. Unfortunately, it looks like Artisan's upcoming DVD will be FULL-FRAME only and not widescreen as previously announced(...). So buyer beware. If you really want to see "NONHOSONNO" in it's correct aspect ratio, pick up the Italian DVD instead (if you have a region-free player) because it is uncut, letterboxed and has an english track. Obviously Artisan is just releasing their "Sleepless" version as just another cheap horror title to fill up Blockbuster shelves. Unbelievable that even in 2001 Argento is still treated this way in the US. No wonder he stays in Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THE REGION 2 ITALIAN DISC!!!!!!!!!, July 7, 2003
By 
Lee Webster "arioch71" (Texas City, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
First off the horrible DVD released in this country as Sleepless is pretty AWFUL in comparison to the Italian DVD. The Italian DVD has it's original title NON HO SONNO, the menus are nice, and if you own the Artisan disc you see this menu for a brief second before it switches to the horrible static frame of the [bad] cover picture.
The Italian DVD also offers a nice clean LETTERBOXED transfer, that offers an English language track as well as english subtitles for those who want to see the film in Italian.
The film is definately a return to form for Argento, it has good pacing, the story is excellent, and at times it is quite terrifying. It is definately better than Argento's last few films Phantom of the Opera and Trauma.
The Foriegn disc is definately the way to go, when buying this film.
The foreign disc has extras that are not on the Artisan print, The disc has a behind the scenes/making of segment , an interview with Agento(In italian w/no subs), Cast and crew information, trailers and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Disappointed, December 13, 2001
By 
Michael Bird "doctoroddfellow" (North Richland Hills, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
Is this the beginning of some sort of trend? I've been collecting DVDs since the format debuted, and I've been quite happy to see that even smaller titles have been available in widescreen. Now that the format is becoming incredibly popular, there seems to be a trend to go with P&S on some titles (family, horror, etc.) DVD is not just another video format, it's a way to preserve films as they should be seen, and as such should always represent the most complete version of the film. There's just no excuse for cropping and chopping the movie to fit a soon-to-be-obsolete tv format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Argento, Poor DVD, January 2, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
The three stars are for the film. "Sleepless" has taken a beating by a lot of Argento "fans" who seem to take shots at the acting and the pacing of the film, and as a fan myself, I can't say that they're necessarily wrong. However, the acting and pacing of almost any Argento thriller (like Tenebre, Deep Red, or Opera) has never been that great. And no Argento film has ever featured any actor as good as Max Von Sydow, and the plot logic actually holds up fairly well here. The camera moves may not be as plentiful or as flashy as earlier Argento movies, but this one has good atmosphere and the usual attractive score.
Unfortunately, Artisan has released a cropped, full screen version (compare it to the included trailer). There are plenty of shots that are too crowded, and the transfer isn't that well done. It's not as awful as the hack job they did with "Knight Movies," but it's far from what this deserves. I just wish Artisan and Troma (which released "The Stendhal Syndrome") would leave Argento titles to Anchor Bay.
However, until someone puts out a proper DVD of this title, this flick is well worth an Argento fan's time and that of any adventurous fan of thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SLEEPLESS gets 5 stars..This Edit gets only ONE, January 1, 2002
By 
Saint Sangre (rockford, il. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
Damn you Artisan Entertainment!
I've been waiting months and months to get my hands on the new Argento classic and Artisan not only delivers a weak Pan And Scan copy of the film, they edit out 90% of the violence. The elaborate and dark murder scenes are a trademark of Argento's films and without them, the film is still great but to us Argento fans, it feels like something is missing. It just goes to show that after over 30 years of making great films, Dario Argento still doesn't get half the respect in America he deserves. Anchor Bay should have gotten their hands on this film first, atleast they are respectful to the film and the fans and are not raping good cinema like Artisan. I say rent this movie for now and wait and pray that a director's cut is released in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heeeeere's Argento!, December 21, 2003
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
I really couldn't tell you why I have yet to watch every film in Dario Argento's filmography. A few years ago it was easy to claim ignorance of many of this Italian director's important works because it was often so difficult to find any of them anywhere, let alone in an uncut form. Fortunately, DVD arrived on the scene and eager film fans with dollars to spend inspired numerous companies to start churning out any movie they could get their hands. Even Troma, the flagship of flaccid filmmaking, released a so-so version of Argento's "The Stendhal Syndrome." It wasn't too long before practically every Argento film arrived on store shelves, many of them in uncut, unrated formats. Unfortunately, most viewers have most likely never heard of Dario Argento. These days, more people are familiar with the director's beautiful daughter Asia than with the horror maestro himself. What a shame. Argento's films, at least the ones I have seen, are masterpieces of style injected with truly cringe inducing violence. For a few years in the 1980s and 1990s, Argento drifted away from his tried and true giallo formula, only recently returning to some semblance of form with "Stendhal" and this gruesome little shocker, "Sleepless." Starring Max Von Sydow and Italian horror fave Gabriele Lavia, the director once again resurrects the old giallo format and marries it with upsetting scenes of gory violence.
Von Sydow plays the role of a retired detective named Moretti, a cop who had an amazing record of solving murder cases but has since suffered from rampant insomnia and a fading memory. Moretti now spends more time ambling around his house talking to his pet bird and trying to remember the specifics about the one case that eluded his grasp than anything else. That case, called the killer dwarf crimes, seemed solved when the supposed killer died as police officers closed in. Now, years later, the killings have started up again, gruesome crimes that resemble in many ways those of the original case. Moretti finds himself sucked back into working on the case even though the cops on active duty wish he would just go back to his bird and leave the investigating to younger men. Our aging cop soon teams up with the son of one of the victims of the first spate of killings and the two men embark on a quest to discover what exactly is going on. The path to solving the crime is fraught with peril: arcane clues abound, strange nursery rhymes play a big part, and Moretti's ailing memory prevent him from making connections between the latest victims and those killed in the first wave. Even worse, the killer knows Moretti is looking for him and plans on doing something about it. The conclusion to "Sleepless" recalls the numerous plot twists of "Deep Red" and "The Bird With They Crystal Plumage," two of Argento's better films. There is a lot to like with "Sleepless."
Arguably, the best part of the film is the first twenty minutes. Argento turns a stalk and slash sequence on an empty passenger train speeding along a track into a masterful exposition of oppressive, claustrophobic atmosphere matched with a pounding music score produced by none other than Goblin. Moreover, the great cinematography employed in this extended scene reveals that the director has lost none of his imaginative abilities with the camera. Even better, the beginning of the film gives the audience two amazingly beautiful women of a type rarely seen in a horror movie. Seeing these two lovely girls convinced me, more than anything else I have seen or heard, that I must visit Europe as soon as possible. Sadly, Argento dispatches the two ladies quite quickly, but that shouldn't stop a dedicated viewer from making liberal use of the rewind button on the remote control.
The rest of the film is a mixed bag, since the performances from some of the principals are mediocre (excluding the always great Max Von Sydow). The pacing occasionally lags in "Sleepless" as well, as the film feels like it runs too long in places. What helps move the film along are the gory killings that pop up to say hello every now and again. We get a gruesome decapitation, a nasty looking--and sounding--flute stabbing (!), an ink pen punched through a head, and a face repeatedly introduced to a brick wall in grisly close up. You come to expect imaginative and stylistic violence in an Argento film and "Sleepless" delivers it all in bright, flashy color. The mouth kissing brick especially brings out the cringes even though it was done better with sharp furniture corners in "Deep Red." Anyway, don't go into "Sleepless" expecting a bloodless movie that zips along at mach speed.
I've seen a lot of grumbling about the Artisan DVD version of "Sleepless." Since I haven't seen the European release that is supposedly much better than the American version, I will say that I thought this DVD wasn't as bad as some think. The picture quality is good even if it is a full screen release. The extras are lacking, but at least there are a few: a trailer for the movie, bios, and some sneak peeks at a few other films. Maybe it's because I have seen some "classic" films lately with absolutely nothing in the way of goodies on the DVD, but I did not feel cheated with the extras for "Sleepless." Could Argento's most recent film receive better treatment from someone else? Probably, but the movie is entertaining enough to watch even in fullscreen. If you enjoy Dario Argento films, be sure and check out "Sleepless" if you haven't done so already. Despite a few problems, it is still a roller coaster of a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have only seen the DVD, I shall tell you about the film :), December 13, 2001
By 
Graham Robson (Durham City, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleepless [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Well...Dario is back, and is in a very slick mood.
I shall not babble on about how brilliant it is for him to be back, I shall just do the review!
This film starts fantastically, involving a prostitute being stalked by her client...mostly because she found this blue folder containing SOMETHING IMPORTANT :p.
She runs away and gets the train home, on the train (very empty, by the way). She then gets a phone call from her client threatening this girl with death. She gets freaked out...runs through the train screaming. She then finds a train driver. Her things she is a bit loopy. Then he dies, she finds him! She then hides in this little cupboard. THE FIRST 10 MINUTES ARE AMAZINGLY SHOT. She then gets her fingers chopped off. Poor girl.
That scene needed a VERY brief description. It is ever so violent and crazy. I would say...genius.
The murders are quite well displayed, and are quite horrific.
Lots of head bashing, BTW. And I don't mean dancing.
The music score is fantastic. It is superb, I can't believe how modern "Goblin" have become. It sounds as though it could be from a really good rock band. Enjoy the music too.
The acting is...bad! Max Von Sydow (or something) is very good. Although, the supporting cast are a little melo-dramatic. .
Another bad point is the plot does grow a little OTT, I recommend taking a breather. I enjoyed it more after my little break.
I have the Italian version, so the US version may be cut a little bit. I would expect it as the gore is quite disgusting (girls faces smashed up).
The best camera work?? er...the carpet scene...I shall mention three words...panning, carpet and ballerina!
Hope this was helpful...Dario is BACK ON FORM!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, but not really very good, October 30, 2004
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
I recently got through watching the core of Dario Argento's work(75-87), and was sufficiently impressed that I decided to immediately check out some of his less acclaimed work. First I viewed Two Evil Eyes, and was surprised by how good his segment was, and felt it was nearly equal to some of his very best work. Next I viewed this film, Sleepless, and well, I think the title of the review pretty much says it all. I don't demand my time back, I may check it out again some day, but as of right now I'm not terribly excited about this film. On the plus side, it's got a really cool soundtrack, and is quite extraordinarily brutal and gory, more so than any of his other films.(It's no surprise that it's unrated) The soundtrack is by Goblin, and is quite reminscent of their classic work, particularly for Deep Red, but with more actual instruments and fewer synths.(and far more natural sounding synths too, for the most part) I've heard them score 8 movies, I believe, and generally find there work to be quite good,(if somewhat flawed), and this is definitely some of there very best work. The rest of the film, however, is either average or subpar.

Sadly, the film is largely lacking in the style department. The set design is fairly conventional, and there isn't a whole helluva a lot of interesting camerawork. (Though a widescreen version would certainly be more impressive in this regard.) Quite a few perspective shots, but not that much else, and those aren't terribly exciting anymore. Furthermore, many of the kills are very straightforward and conventional, with little buildup or flare. Still, it has it's moments. The double murder early in the film, both on a train and at the station is easily the best. More stylish than any of the other kills, and it actually has a long, reasonably suspenseful buildup. Sadly, the actresses portraying the two victims are quite bad, which brings it down a bit, but it's quite an effective section nevertheless. Also, the decapitation murder is done very well, with a nice long shot moving across a rug for extraordinarily long time whlie the Goblin score pounds away. As it ends we see the victim's shadow, seemingly suspended in the air, and then see the decapitated head plop on the ground. Definitely a grisly and effective scene. Despite there relative lack of style, most of the other murder scenes are at least fairly effective through their brutal, disturbing nature. We have some horrific stabbings, drowning, face-smashing, pen-jabbing, a really nasty gunshot wound and, worst and weirdest of all, the old english horn repeatedly smashed into the mouth bit. Still, the brutal nature of much of the violence in Argento's earlier films was made far more effective by the beautiful, highly artistic nature of the film surrounding the violence, or even the violence itself. Sleepless largely lacks this contrast, and suffers for it. Also, the effects aren't nearly as convincing as you'd hope for such a recent film, but they work pretty well anyway.

The murder-mystery is of no great interest. For the most part, people just sit around and talk, waiting for the next murder or the next break in the case, rather than doing all that much actual investigating. The characters themselves are of no great interest either. Max Von Sydow gives the best performance, as a retired detective drawn back into work by the murder's in the film, which seem to be a continuation of a supposedly solved case which he worked on nearly 20 years earlier. Other than that the performances are pretty hit and miss, and never all that great. The 2 first victims are particularly bad, as is the homeless man Leone, and a witness who attempts to extort money from the killer. Most everyone else is at least passable, though no one is really sympathetic at all, other than Von Sydow's character.(and he isn't all that likable, really)

If you've seen and liked Opera, Deep Red, and Tenebre you might as well check this out. You'll probably enjoy, even if you're not likely to be terribly impressed. Worth a look for Argento fans, but definitely want to rent it, if at all possible. Definitely not the first Argento film you should see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Argento fans rejoice!!!, October 15, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sleepless (DVD)
THIS REVIEW IS OF THE DUTCH RELEASED UNCUT VERSION.
Ok, Ok, it's lightyears behind DEEP RED and SUSPIRIA but hey, it wipes the floor with TRAUMA.
I must say that my reaction to this film was so mixed that I immediately had to watch it again and I'm glad I did. Firstly, if your an Argento-file then you'll be happy to know that the murder scenes are graphic and gory but the film really looses out with it's atrociously dubbed voices and some miscasting in the major roles (Von Sydow excluded). Whilst this can be mainly overlooked, to a point, I also found the killer's identity to be blazingly obviously from my first viewing (something I don't like in an Argento movie) and the silly ending where all is revieled to be both unconvincing and particularly weak (I mean, this is Argento here). Also, whilst the film looks fine (don't expect the hallucination-inducing lighting of SUSPIRIA here), it looks like it was shot by the makers of the german horror/thriller ANATOMIE and not by a master like Argento.
Overall though, this is ten times better than the horribly inept TRAUMA and will satisfy many hungry Argento-files on those dark, rainy nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sleepless
Sleepless by Dario Argento (DVD - 2001)
Used & New from: $3.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.