Customer Reviews


496 Reviews
5 star:
 (377)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My absolute favourite movie @}->---
Other than The Breakfast Club, Sleepless in Seattle is my all time favourite movie. I know it's older now, but to me I will always watch it over and over again. I like to watch it a couple of times a year because I always enjoy it and never tire of it.

As everyone probably knows, Tom Hanks and his son move from Chicago to Seattle after Tom's wife dies and...
Published on November 19, 2006 by Little Miss Cutey

versus
24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better get the older version
Comparing tyhis edition, to the older one, I see very little difference, other than a gift certificate: They pretty much just changed the box design. If you know you will be spending $10 at Starbucks within a few months of this DVD's release, then perhaps you might want to buy it; otherwise, it is far cheaper to get the "collector's edition", which has all of...
Published on July 23, 2004 by Chris Griswold


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My absolute favourite movie @}->---, November 19, 2006
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sleepless in Seattle (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Other than The Breakfast Club, Sleepless in Seattle is my all time favourite movie. I know it's older now, but to me I will always watch it over and over again. I like to watch it a couple of times a year because I always enjoy it and never tire of it.

As everyone probably knows, Tom Hanks and his son move from Chicago to Seattle after Tom's wife dies and they need a new start. Hoping to find a new love for his father, Jonah calls a radio station to speak on a talk show to help his dad out. Their radio call name is Sleepless in Seattle. Listening to the conversation all the way in Washington DC is Meg Ryan who has just announced her engagement to Bill Pullman. She seems to fall in love with Sam (Tom Hanks) instantly as she finishes his sentances and is hooked by his story. Being a writer, she does a story on him and finds herself wanting to get in touch with him. She makes the journey over to Seattle and manages to say Hello to him (before almost getting hit by cars on a busy road). She backs off after thinking that he's in a relationship already and heads back home. All the while through the movie, these events parallel the movie An Affair To Remember, so eventually there is an arranged meeting for Annie and Sam on top of the Empire State Building on Valentines Day (Sam hasn't arranged any of this; Jonah has done all the correspondance without his knowledge). Long story short, you can gauge the rest of the story line. It's fun and enjoyable and yes it's a chick flick but there is nothing wrong with that.

There is some great acting in it by Jonah (Ross Malinger) and the chemistry between Hanks and Ryan is always great to watch (although they don't have many scenes together). I really love this and I don't imagine there being another great love story like this one. Nora Ephron did a great job with the screenplay and I will never get sick of watching this movie. It really is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Magic, November 23, 2001
Some people have songs, my husband and I have a movie. We not only met in Seattle, my husband lived next to Lake Union, very close to where this movie was made. He actually saw them filming scenes from the movie.

You could say the roles were a bit reversed, being I was the one getting over a relationship and he was not really looking at the time. Having lived in Seattle for many years, I especially enjoyed seeing scenes from Pike Place Market and West Seattle.

Rosie O'Donnell adds to the wit with lines like: "You want to be in love in a movie." Tom Hanks gives a sensitive performance as Sam who lost the love of his life. He and his son Jonah, live on Lake Union. Annie (Meg Ryan) is caught up with plans for her wedding. She is engaged and not looking for love. Yet, as it so often happens, love does appear when you are not looking.

One night Annie hears a radio show where Jonah has called in to ask how his father could find a new wife. The radio host invites Sam to reveal his heart and Annie literally cries when he says how his wife used to make everything in his life beautiful. She makes a connection and starts fantasizing about a man she has never met.

The songs are masterfully woven into the story and provides a feeling of old fashioned romance, where destiny draws two lovers to one another. There is also a sense of family and how everyone has needs and desires. Jonah especially wants a mother. Annie and Sam don't really know what they want, but they do get what they need. I found that very true to life.

Wit, chemistry, laugh-out-loud humor and romance, romance, romance! Worth watching at least once a year during the holiday season!

Dreamy!

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two guy heroes, only one girl does not a "chick flick" make..., November 10, 2006
By 
William E. Adams (Midland, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleepless in Seattle (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Most people think "Sleepless" is meant to please a female audience, but I think it is a dad/son bonding story all the way. I like it, I see parts of it as often as it shows up on cable, and it portrays man/woman love in a very good light. In this age of easy and too-often divorce, that's a positive. Yes, it is sentimental, but there is nothing wrong with provoking sentiment in an honest fashion. It is perfectly cast, competently written, directed and filmed, and only a Grinch could hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleepless in Seattle, March 26, 2008
This review is from: Sleepless in Seattle (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
This is a wonderful timeless romantic drama. Annie Reed is heading to see her family on Christmas Eve and is listening to a radio call in show. One of the callers is eight year old Jonah who tells the audience that his dad needs a new wife. After it comes out that Jonah's mom died, and dad Sam is put on the spot to talk to the radio shrink on air, women all over the country fall in love with this man that loved his deceased wife so passionately. Annie is determined to meet Sam because she feels a strong pull toward Sam and Jonah. When they meet, destiny is forged. This well acted film starring Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan closely follows another beloved classic An Affair to Remember. There are some funny moments, but it is the drama that captures the audience. It reiterates the old saying that love conquers all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleepless in Seattle: Special Edition DVD is great!, May 27, 2000
I have been a fan of Ephron's work and also of movies such as "When Harry Met Sally"...love stories. I'm not sure how many times I have seen this movie but I love it.
The thing is I own the VHS copy and when the first DVD came out, "Widescreen Edition", I was disappointed. The reason is because it was just the movie and it was widescreen, that's it?
Well, not too long ago, they released a second DVD. The "Special Edition". Now, I'm happy because it's widescreen and it has quite a few extras but it wasn't in digital 5.1. I know this is a dialogue movie but I watched many dialogue movies that still use 5.1.
Aside from that this is the right DVD to get, especially if you enjoy love stories. I'm so happy to see the music video of "When I Fall in Love" by Celine Dion and Clive Griffin. Also, there are a few theatrical trailers. Also, they included subtitles from other three Asian countries (except Japanese subtitles).
The commentary was very interesting. To hear Nora Ephron and her sister (the fourth writer in the movie) Delia discuss how certain things happen in the movie and especially how Tom Hanks did certain things to enhance a scene. It shows how good and how true this actor is for his work.
I know there were several cut scenes but I wish they included them in the movie. The featurette was interesting especially to see Adam Corolla and Dr. Drew of "Loveline" in it.
What it boils down to is it's better than the VHS version if you love the movie and it's definitely better than the previous DVD because it comes with more features.
If you enjoy love stories, this is one that will be a classic for romantics forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Romance, November 10, 2001
Regardless of how cyberspace has seemingly diminished it's size, the world is still an awfully big place, and it's impossible for any one person to occupy more than a minuscule portion of it at any given time. So it's imperative that individuals find that special niche for themselves, that little piece of the world that becomes their own, where they can live and love and engage in the pursuit of happiness. And once that "perfect" world is created, it's devastating when something upsets the balance, as in the case of this film, the death of a spouse. When the love of a lifetime is abruptly taken away, how does one recover? Can one recover? How do you go on when your heart has been removed? All valid questions that are explored and addressed in Nora Ephron's touching and romantic "Sleepless In Seattle," starring Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks. The film begins on a somber note, with the funeral of Maggie Baldwin (Carey Lowell), respectively the wife and mother of Sam Baldwin (Hanks) and his son, Jonah (Ross Malinger). Maggie was the love of Sam's life, and inconsolable after her passing, he decides the best thing for himself and his son is to move to another city and try for a fresh start. So they head west as far as possible, to Seattle, where Sam remains unable to emerge from the funk of his loss.

Christmas and New Year's is especially tough on Sam and Jonah, and around this time Jonah happens to tune into a late night talk show featuring Dr. Marcia Fieldstone (Caroline Aaron), whose job is to help her listeners with their problems. Jonah calls her and tells their story, then takes the phone to his dad in the next room, and in deference to his son, Sam consents to talk about his situation on National radio. In the Baltimore area, writer Annie Reed (Ryan) is listening, and touched by the sincerity in Sam's voice, she cajoles an assignment that subsequently takes her to Seattle, where she attempts to hook up with Sam, a man she knows only as a needful, disembodied voice from the radio.
So begins a romantic odyssey that probably could only happen in the movies, but it makes no difference because in Ephron's capable hands, this story works, and it works beautifully. There's a line in the movie, in fact, that kind of sums it all up: Becky (played by Rosie O'Donnell) says something to the effect to Annie that, "You don't want love, you want "movie" love. And maybe that's why this movie is so endearing and enduring; it's about the kind of love you find in a perfect world, the kind of love everybody wants and needs (though few will admit it, even to themselves) but rarely finds, and Ephron knows exactly how to make it connect with her audience. It has to do with understanding basic human needs and knowing how to translate it all into a cinematic art form that will effectively reach those who see it. And Nora Ephron does it as well-- or possibly better-- than any director before or since, and as she proved later with "You've Got Mail," this film was no fluke; she knows her stuff, and she knows how to deliver it. It's intentionally and shamelessly sentimental, but rather than maudlin, Ephron hits just the right emotional tone, and it's perfect, from the romance to the humor she injects at just the right moment to offset the drama, to the music-- using just the right song at just the right time-- that does so much to enhance the story.
Having a great cast, of course, certainly helped her in her endeavor, beginning with Tom Hanks who, with his portrayal of Sam, demonstrates once again what a consummate actor he is. Few actors can step into any given genre of film and create a character that is so complete and believable every time out the way Hanks can. Some of his characters may share some traits and have similarities, but he manages to make each one unique, which is quite a feat. When you can watch Hanks and forget that you're watching "Hanks," you know he's accomplished something. As an actor he is remarkably giving, and so undaunted when it comes to using and exposing what he has inside. And his ability to circumvent any natural inhibitions makes him great at what he does, and it's what makes a character like Sam so memorable.
Meg Ryan, as well, is an accomplished actor who can play drama as well as comedy (check out her performance in "When A Man Loves A Woman"), but she really sparkles in romantic comedies like this one, and she is absolutely perfect for the role of Annie (just as she was for her role in "You've Got Mail"). She makes Annie a very real person, and through her we can empathize with Sam's situation, as she enables and allows the audience to experience what she is feeling right along with her. Ryan, through her character, makes that emotional involvement possible, and it's one of the strengths of the film. And like Hanks with Sam, Ryan makes Annie a character you're going to remember.
The exemplary supporting cast includes Bill Pullman (Walter), Rita Wilson (Suzy), Victor Gerber (Greg), Tom Riis Farrell (Rob), David Hyde Pierce (Dennis), Dana Ivey (Claire), Gaby Hoffman (Jessica) and Rob Reiner (Jay). Essentially a poignant and heart-felt treatise by Nora Ephron on life and love, "Sleepless In Seattle" is a film that offers a multitude of rewards if you are simply willing to reach out and open yourself up to it. All you have to do is let it in. Do it, and you'll be glad you did, guaranteed. It's the magic of the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chick Flic for Women as well as Men, February 3, 2002
By A Customer
I cannot stand "Chick Flics" at all. My wife cannot force me to watch Julia Roberts in My Best Friend's Wedding and the like. However anytime she pops this movie in I won't hesitate to sit right down along side her and watch the movie from beginning to end. Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan are superb. The movie doesn't have that big time romance that many women seem to watch this type of movie for. However it is a soft-spoken light hearted comedy that is thoroughly enjoyable for both the laughs and family atmosphere that this classic brings out.
"Sam" (Tom Hanks) is a widower now solely taking care of his son "Jonah". He decides to move from Chicago to Seattle in search of a new start, however after a year and a half hasn't come close to recovering or starting over. Jonah phones a radio psychiatrist to try to be able to help his dad. 3000 miles away "Annie" (Meg Ryan) is listening to the radio and is touched by the story. She's not alone...thousands of other women are dying for Sam's number and want to meet him. After a time, Annie decides to write Sam herself and before she knows it she's falling in love with a man she's never met. Whats more is she is engaged and soon to be married to "Walter", a dull business man who is allergic to everything....EVERYTHING!!! Annie finally decides that to truly know what she wants she must atleast meet Sam in an attempt to find out if they will ever have a chance of falling in love. Sleepless In Seattle brings a smile to my face everytime I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Laugh-Out-Loud Funny Charmer, July 28, 2002
By 
SDGirl (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
First of all, Sleepless in Seattle IS a chick flick, yes, and there are certainly some stretches of the imagination required as far as plot goes, but the real emphasis is the characters, and that is the strength of the movie...the entire cast is excellent, from Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks to the supporting cast (Rosie O'Donnell, Bill Pullman, Ross Malinger and Robert Reiner). The story and chemistry is charming, but more than that, the movie is hysterical. Everytime I watch the movie again (I've seen it about 5 or 6 times now) I realize how funny it is...Nora Ephron may be the best current writer of real romantic comedies. There are SO many funny little things scattered throughout the movie...even if you don't like "chick flicks," you should watch it because it's one of the funniest movies ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, But Missing one of the Best Scenes, December 24, 2004
This review is from: Sleepless in Seattle (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Sleepless in Seattle is among my favorite movies, and I was looking forward to seeing the ENTIRE film. Unfortunately, I discovered that this edition is missing at least one significant (and in my opinion, very funny) scene: The part where Annie, having received a phone call from her friend Becky telling her that Sleepless in Seattle was on the radio again, ends up hiding in the broom closet so that she can listen without Walter finding out. I have no idea why it was cut from the DVD edition, and wish I had known before purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceedingly Amiable Rom-Com Offers Hanks, Ryan and a Plethora of Intentional Hollywood Contrivances, December 29, 2007
This review is from: Sleepless in Seattle (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Between the excessively repeated TV showings of this 1993 concoction and the 1998 You've Got Mail, Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan seem like they have made a hundred movies together when in fact, they only made three (the one people tend to forget about is the quirky and wholly original 1990 Joe Versus the Volcano). They have an easy chemistry when it comes to mainstream romantic comedy, but the irony of this film is that their characters don't really meet until the end. Nora Ephron, who directed and co-wrote the screenplay with David S. Ward (The Sting), Jeff Arch and her sister Delia, regales in the predictable contrivances of the plot which hinge repetitively on old-fashioned Hollywood conventions like fate and destiny. She pays particular tribute to Leo McCarey's An Affair to Remember, which in itself is an inferior remake of his 1939 classic, Love Affair. It is the presumption that all women love the 1957 remake so much that they will be taken in by this contemporary throwback. It turns out she was right.

If you don't know already, the story follows too-good-to-be-true Chicago architect Sam Baldwin and his eight-year-old Jonah to Seattle as he attempts to start his life over to forget his recently deceased wife. Concerned that his father has been grieving too long, Jonah calls into a national radio program hosted by an unctuous therapist named Dr. Marcia Fieldstone. She convinces Jonah to get Sam to talk about his feelings of loneliness, which causes an avalanche of letters from smitten women across the country. One is Annie Reed, a Baltimore-based journalist who is already getting cold feet about her recent engagement to allergy-prone Walter. So enthralled by Sam's description of "magic", she writes a letter to him only to throw it away. Her best friend and managing editor Becky, not a fan of Walter, mails the letter, and Jonah immediately recognizes Annie to be the one for his dad. Meantime, Sam has started dating a decorator named Victoria, whose hyena laugh is an understandable sore point for Jonah. There is no need to go further since the rest of the plot is inevitable including a wish-fulfillment finale on the top of the Empire State Building that serves as a what-if variation on the previous cinematic incarnations.

Neither Hanks nor Ryan is particularly stretched here, though both manage to exude the charm to get away with the basic silliness of the storyline. His character's ailments and boring attempts at wit aside, Bill Pullman is almost too likable in the Ralph Bellamy role of Walter, so much so that his open-hearted naiveté becomes concerning toward the end. Rob Reiner has a couple of amusing scenes as Hanks' business partner, while Rosie O'Donnell is both funny and uncharacteristically restrained as Becky (she claimed later that her role model for Becky was Bette Midler). A talented child actor, Ross Malinger manages to play Jonah with a minimum of irritable precociousness. As Sam's sister-in-law, Hanks' real-life wife Rita Wilson gets a funny scene to herself when she tearfully describes the ending of An Affair to Remember to eye-rolling Sam and her husband, who respond by recounting The Dirty Dozen in a brotherly crying jag. There hardly seems a valid reason for the 2003 10th Anniversary DVD given how often it plays on TV, but it does offer an interesting commentary track by the Ephron sisters (recorded separately). Also included are a disposable making-of featurette from the time of the film's original release, an execrable Celine Dion music video of "When I Fall in Love" (the song played over the closing credits), and several trailers for films of that period. This is a contrived but still likeable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sleepless in Seattle (10th Anniversary Edition)
$14.99 $6.70
Usually ships in 9 to 10 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.