Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cheapest solution that will work great
After having a few nails and screws flatten my tires, I started to learn how the guys at the tire shops were fixing them (for $10-$20). The last time I took a tire in it took the guy no more than 60 seconds. I thought, heck, I can do that. And what would be really cool is to be able to do it when I'm stranded somewhere on a road trip. So I bought one of these kits. This...
Published on November 15, 2010 by Chris Edwards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great
The tool does the job, but don't expect to have the tool work for more than a couple jobs. the metal is extremely soft and bent on the first plug.
Published 4 months ago by Jordan Asquith


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cheapest solution that will work great, November 15, 2010
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
After having a few nails and screws flatten my tires, I started to learn how the guys at the tire shops were fixing them (for $10-$20). The last time I took a tire in it took the guy no more than 60 seconds. I thought, heck, I can do that. And what would be really cool is to be able to do it when I'm stranded somewhere on a road trip. So I bought one of these kits. This morning I had a chance to try it out. There was a screw stuck in my tire and I just turned the wheels so that I could access it, i.e. left the wheel on. Everything worked just like it was supposed to. The handles are good enough to take the determined force you need to use to ream and set the plug. The plugs and glue were in good shape despite being baked in the spare wheel area of my black car for the spring and summer. It paid for itself already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, but not recommended for permanent repair, December 28, 2007
By 
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
The kit works well, but as the instructions say, the tire should be inspected by a professional as soon as possible. While I have used tires for many thousands of miles after they were repaired only with the plugs, tire manufacturers and the NHSTA recommend that the tire be repaired from the inside rather than just the outside. The recommended inside repair puts a plug in the hole and a patch over the area surrounding the hole. This is supposed to keep air from entering the rubber, which could lead to a bulge. The inspection by a professional, if done with the tire off the rim, lets him look for damage that is not visible from the outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works great!, July 14, 2011
By 
Rapsalicious "Sarap" (Centreville, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
Bought this in store in Target (same guy selling here in Amazon). 2 of my rear tires had nails (a self tapping + long woodscrew on the other). The other tire deflated to flat so I used my temp tire to bring the flat to the gas station. They plugged it with pink plugs and charged me $10 without installation. So I was in Target and saw this. It has 4 plugs so I figured I can save myself the time and effort of going to the gas station each time (seems more work if its a busy place). Since Im a DIY kind of guy I tried to fix the other tire even though it wasnt losing air. I jacked the car up and took out the tire and saw the self tapping screw lodged in. Took it out and let the tire lose air for a bit. Followed the instructions applying the rub cement on the plug before putting it in through the hole. The hard part was trying to force it in the tight hole. Pulling it out was somewhat easy but didnt really give me that warm fuzzy feeling before doing so because I figured that I might do it wrong. So with one rapid pull it worked to my amazement! I thought the whole thing was going to be cumbersome but the tool did release the plug since it has a release slot for the plug. I used a sharp knife to cut the gooey tar plug to proper length and had to clean the knife with a Brillo Red - 18 Pack. I put back the tire and checked the pressure the next 48 hrs and its been keeping pressure. Its already paid itself off by one use! I just dont know if the roughing tool is necessary but I did it anyways. I doubt the gas station even does that step.I will probably leave this in the tire compartment as you never know what could happen on long trips. And Ill probably get a more decent portable compressor and air gauge on Amazon.Q Industries HV35 SuperFlow 12-Volt 140 PSI Air CompressorAccutire MS-4021B Standard Digital Tire Gauge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed--Works Like a Charm, November 25, 2009
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
I as many others have discovered the annoyance of having just been the proud owner of a new rear tire on my Victory Vegas 8 Ball. I then found a week after my glorious purchase, that the tire was violated by a big-ass nail (new technical term). I contemplated sliming the inside of the tire, but opted out for fear that I would end up counter balancing the weight of the tire. I bought these plugs at my local Yamaha dealer, and after 20 minutes the install was done. Installation was incedibly simple. After removing the excess and topping it with the included rubber cement, the tire was\is able to maintain the recommend preasure. I plan on using this on my car as well as I have a screw that I need to remove. Cheers hope you all find this helpful. Best wishes and happy holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works. Period., March 19, 2010
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
Used this four times now. Works great. Tires maintain pressure. Yes, a patched tire is statistically more likely to rupture than a new one, but only slightly. Running a tire at -5 psi under the recommended pressure is far more dangerous, and that happens every day. Doing it yourself this way is likely safer than getting it done at Walmart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little large, but suitable for motorcycle use, July 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
This is a "pull out the nail/screw, debride, apply glue to plug, insert plug, pull out, cut to fit" kind of permanent patch that every long distance motorcyclist should have. This, an air pump to reinflate the tire, and (1) each non-alcoholic beer to inflate the rider will fix the flat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice kit, August 1, 2009
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
This is a fantastic kit. But be sure to take the tire off to work on it, otherwise you'd have a hard time inserting the plug. Also, use a grey Sharpie to circle the puncture area. It is a lot easier.

"Designed for emergency tire repairs" line is used by the manufacturer to cover their XXX legally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works, December 17, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
What more can I say than it works? Follow the directions, plug the tire, inflate. No problems. Oh yeah - always go for T-handles on these things. Much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works but only time will tell for how long, March 14, 2014
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
Length:: 0:50 Mins

Disclaimer: I wrote this review on the screwdriver handle style slime plug kit. However they work exactly the same way. Having used it I actually think this would work better because of the handle ergonomics. It takes ,not much, but some, muscle to push the tool into the tire. Heres the original review.

y tractor tire got a hole from a bougainvillea thorn. I got sick of filling it up every time I had to cut the grass so I picked one of these up. All of the tire plugs work on the same principal. Basically you find the leak, shove the tool into the hole. This makes the hole bigger but prepares it for the plug you will be putting in. The plug itself is like dental floss covered with a thick coating of tacky rubber which you use the tool to shove in. You then pull the tool out with a smooth motion leaving the plug in the hole.

The process was easier than expected. The hardest part was threading the plug into the tool. It held after I inserted it. The instructions state that this is to be used in an emergency to get you through until you replace the tire. I am hoping it will be more of a long term solution. I will post updates on how it works.

7/14 Update: Well the plug worked where it was but I had a number of smaller pinpoint holes that required attention and I ultimately wound up using the tire slime which filled all the holes without a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It worked great!, June 27, 2013
By 
Bobn "Bobn :>)" (San Luis Obispo, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit (Automotive)
I bought this as a last resort thinking I would probably never need it. Yesterday I had to use it and it was not hard to use and worked perfect. It got me to the motorcycle shop to get a new tire, saving me a very expensive tow. I also bought an Innovations Air Chuck Elite CO2 tire inflator and extra cartridges. It brought the tire up to pressure in seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Slime 1034-A T-Handle Tire Plug Kit
$8.95 $8.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.