Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liberate the Madness
I've been waiting for quite some time for a new Slipknot DVD to come out, and I was hoping it would be one that would show one of their live performances. Well, that day has come. Slipknot's "Disasterpieces" is for anybody who is a fan of Slipknot.
This live performance is more than satisfactory. The video and sound quality is really superb. It's almost...
Published on January 5, 2003 by Michael Crane

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wtf
Ok, so I rate this a 1 star. I get the movie and I'm super excited to see it. It's got a nice case, discs were clean. But my Playstation, Blu Ray Player and DVD player can't read it. What kind of format is it because I wanna watch it!
Published 12 months ago by Dakota Manning


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liberate the Madness, January 5, 2003
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
I've been waiting for quite some time for a new Slipknot DVD to come out, and I was hoping it would be one that would show one of their live performances. Well, that day has come. Slipknot's "Disasterpieces" is for anybody who is a fan of Slipknot.
This live performance is more than satisfactory. The video and sound quality is really superb. It's almost like you're there live. The concert took place at the London Arena, which shows us just how crazy a London crowd can be at one of these shows. Along with seeing them perform their songs, you get to see the band prepare for the show as well. They play a lot of songs from the second album, as well as with the first one. Some of them you can count on seeing are "disasterpiece," "wait and bleed," "(sic)," "purity," "left behind," "my plague," and many, many more.
This 2 disk collection also features all of the band's videos, including a rare animated version of "wait and bleed," the bonus audio track "purity," and more.
They're a group either people love or hate, which is fine. They're not for everyone. They take their music to the extreme, always willing to take it to the limit. Some may consider their lyrics brutal and violent, but that's not Slipknot's message. Yes, believe it or not, they do have a message. And it's not "f- the world" or "everyone is garbage." Their message is that it's okay to have negative thoughts, just as long as you deal with them the right way. They deal with their demons through music. Slipknot's "Disasterpieces" is a must-have for any Slipknot fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing.... The Greatest DVD of all time, November 25, 2002
By 
"burntoctober" (The Pit, Slayer Concert) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
This DVD is the most amazing thing ever. Suncoast in the mall sold me a copy on Saturday and I've watched the thing non stop. This mosnter is one of the most advanced and well done DVD's I've ever seen. They use over 30 cameras and have some great footage of every member of the band. The songs are of course amazing. They play fan favorites like Spit It Out, and then they play some of their less mainstream songs like Gently. The pyro is amazing and the crowd is friggin nuts. The whole show is a hundred minutes long when you include the clips of the band setting up. The second disc has tons of extras. It has the performances of The Heretic Anthem and People=S**t with a camera angle for every member of the band. Some of it is in first person view and some of it is normal shots. It's also got another multiple angle song, every music video (Spit It Out, Wait and Bleed, Wait and Bleed Animated, Left Behind Directors cut, and My Plauge Edited version). If you're a maggot or even just a metal fan, you have to get this DVD. You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SlipKnot's Generous Tribute To The Maggots, June 6, 2004
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
I've been a "Maggot" for about a year now. SlipKnot is one of those bands like Metallica, or Iron Maiden that when live, sounds almost identically to the studio version (Well Okay.. Corey's vocals can be a little blabbery at times). Here's how I'd rate the member's performence:
0 Sid (Turntable DJ) - Very interactive. He did a very good job. He mooned the crowd. It was cool!
1 Joey (Main Drums) - Stunning... Kick-ass solo!
2 Paul (Bass) - The true pulse of Slipknot!
3 Chris (Custom Percussion) - Custom Percussion has greatly imroved. Good work!
4 James (Guitar) - Not nearly loud enough. But good.
5 Craig (Samples) - Not used as much as I thought. Sid did more.
6 Shawn (Custom Percussion) - Same stats as Chris, Shawn is better though!
7 Mick (Guitar) - Better than James, but the amps were still too friggin' quiet!
8 Corey (Vocals) - Very good. He was enegetic through the whole concert. Really great job!
LIVE SONG INTEGRITY:
People = (...)- Very electrifying. 5/5
Liberate - Another good song. 5/5
Left Behind - A favorite off IOWA. 5/5
Eeyore - Heavy as Corey promises. 5/5
Disasterpiece - Another hit. 5/5
Purity - Nicely done. 4.5/5
Gently - Not my favorite, but good. 4/5
Eyeless - My second favorite! 6/5
My Plauge - Iddentical to studio version! Awsome! 6/5
New Abortion - Powerful. 5/5
The Heretic Anthem - Another IOWA favorite! 5/5
Spit it Out - My favorite! Sid & Corey were very interactive with the crowd. 7/5
Wait and Bleed - Another favorite. 5/5
(Sic) - Nicely done again. 5/5
Surfacing - SweEeEet! 5/5
*Joey's Drum solo - Ground breakingly god-like awsome! 25/5
*Sid's DJ solo - Good, but can get boring. 3.75/5
MUSIC VIDEO RATING:
My Plauge - From the Resident Evil soundtrack. Awsome! 5/5
Left Behind - A confusing plotless video, but a good song! 5/5
Wait and Bleed - A good SlipKnot song. 5/5
Wait and Bleed Claymation - Loved It!!! Very Cool!!! 6/5
Spit it Out - Very Good!! I Loved it! So Intersting... 6/5
DVD OVERALL:
Performance - Awsome as expected.
DVD Features - Multi-angle views are awsome! Very deep DVD!
Sound Quality - Almost like you were there!
Picture Quality - Sometimes it's hard to see because it's at night. But very clear!
Menu Setup - Ummm... Pretty good(?) I dunno...
DVD Overall - A Maggot's fantasy made reality... Thank you, SlipKnot!
If you're a maggot, you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, November 26, 2002
By 
firebat22 (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
This is a perfect DVD for the slipknot fan. It has phenomenal video and sound quality, unbelievable that it's live. They used over 30 cameras to film this DVD and it sure does show. This DVD includes a nice 15-song set performed in London. In addition to this, it includes 5 of the 'knots music videos. One word to describe this DVD would be "incredible."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be the Blueprint for all Live DVDs, October 10, 2005
By 
Mr. Bey (Riverside, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
Unless you're a diehard music fan sitting and watching a live dvd can sometimes be boring if all the band does is play but for Slipknot this is not the case. Not only is the music great but the band is just awesome to watch on stage. I've been to a Slipknot show and this DVD really lives up to what a Slipknot concert is all about. From People = S*** to Surfacing the whole DVD provides unforgettable footage from one of the greatest bands of the nu-metal era. Also the DVD includes the rare song Purity which is a great sogn and it's hard to find anywhere else unless you illegally download it.

Track Listing

People = S***

Liberate

Left Behind

Eeyore

Disasterpiece

Purity

Gently

Eyeless

My Plague

New Abortion

The Heretic Anthem

Spit It Out

Wait and Bleed

(Sic)

Surfacing

***Note there are little bonus footage of Slipknot events through the show so watch the whole thing to see them all.

The Videos

My Plague

Left Behind

Wait and Bleed

Wait and Bleed (animated version

Spit it Out

The reason I say that this is the blueprint for all live DVDs is that it is not only a great concert is also doesn't leave you bored for a minute. A must buy for all Slipknot fans and I can't wait to see live foot from Vol. 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, December 3, 2002
By 
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
This DVD is by far the best live concert DVD I own.(And I also own Mudvayne's and Rammstein's DVDs so this means alot)
Out the bat I would like to say to people that are looking to find out more about the band its not here, these DVDs are basically a live performance (which is great) and (Disc 2) Has all the bands videos and a multi-view camera version of 3 songs
so if u like what u hear buy it its worth it
AND FOR ALL U PEOPLE WHO ALREADY HAVE IT THERES A HIDDEN PHOTO GALLERY
TO FIND IT ALL U HAVE TO DO IS GO TO THE CONCERT SELECTION MENU ON DISC 1 THEN MOVE THE CURSOR TILL THE SONG IS OVER THEN A NEW MENU POPS UP WITH SID AND THE #'S 666 ON THE BOTTOM SELECT IT AND A CALCULATOR WILL POP UP FROM THERE SELECT # 9
hOPE U LIKE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how to do a concert/music DVD, March 9, 2005
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
Lovem 'em or hate 'em, you've got to admit that Slipknot can put on a really good show. Their live set on this Disasterpieces DVD proves this, but more importantly, this is how bands should do concert/music DVD's. The first disc of this two disc set features Slipknot performing in London during their Pledge of Allegiance tour, and the fan favorite songs you'd expect to hear are here, including "People = S***", "Eyeless", "My Plague", "Heretic Anthem", "Spit it Out", "Wait and Bleed", and "Surfacing" among others, plus an off the wall drum solo from Joey Jordinson, who is undoubtadly one of the best drummers in metal today. The sound quality is amazing, and you get to see the kind of chaos which breaks out at a Slipknot show. Disc 2 features videos for "My Plague", "Left Behind", "Spit it Out", "Wait and Bleed", and the rarely seen animated version of "Wait and Bleed", along with the audio only "Purity" which was available on the Digipak version of Slipknot's self titled debut. All in all, this is one concert/music DVD which is definitely worth the price, and for Slipknot fans, this is most definitely a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, November 26, 2002
By 
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
I have just finished watching the entire Slipknot DVD "Disasterpieces" and am still in awe of how incredible it is. The live performance has the best sound I have heard on a DVD, let alone any live performance yet. Of course, Slipknot is performing, therefore making it a given that the visuals are phenomenal. The performance captures every member's point of view in the incredibly intense event that is a Slipknot show. Watching the band prepare for the show is visually enticing. It makes the viewer realize how much work they put into every aspect of the show. Aside from the live performance, extras such as VIP, which shows the viewer a face to face view of a certain member at a given time such as DJ Sid when he's doing his solo. All Slipknot videos are included as well as the rare track "Purity". There are a couple of songs in which you can choose from which member's perspective you want to witness the spectacle. Overall, this is the best music DVD I have ever seen! Slipknot is the best band in the world and it is proven in this DVD. Enjoy because something as good as Slipknot can't possibly last long! Stay (SIC) and buy the DVD! -x555AL666x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Disasterpiece Is Amazing, September 11, 2005
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
Slipknot is definitely one of those bands that in all honesty is best seen as well as heard. If you find yourself simply listening to the CD and have no idea what the band image is all about you might not capture the point. Quite honestly I was not a big fan of their music at first since I lean more towards the traditional genre. Yet when I saw this concert DVD I knew that this was a band that I had to see in person. This double DVD Set delivers all of the intensity and antics that you can enjoy outside of the pit and in your own home. There are some unique camera angles done as well as some footage being shot from inside the masks of the Slipknot members. The show was filmed with 30 cameras at the London Arena to a sold out crowd. To define a Slipknot show as live chaos would be an understatement but I think it comes very close to that for when they hit the stage it is explosive. The eight member group are all over the place from the start and I honestly cant imagine how a band like this rehearses and gets the show down to a science. They just simply do it and feed off the audience. Singer Corey directs the swelling crowd who hang on his commands while the maniacal Sid works his magic on the DJ Tables. Ordinarily I find all these bands with DJ's to be unnecessary yet Slipknot show you that it can work in some context. There is a very interesting solo by Sid which is as non-conventional as the band themselves. The sound quality and visuals remain at a constant throughout the whole DVD. It is actually difficult at times to follow what is going on, since so much is happening at the same time.

Another interesting solo to experience is the drumming power of Joey Jordison. His technique and stamina are to be commended as with lightning speed he executes a drum solo that expands upon the stage antics first started by Tommy Lee (Motley Crue). The DVD Set also includes the bands videos that were released up to this time and features a large amount of backstage and rehearsal footage. As the group wears masks on stage, any images of them without them are blurred to protect their identities. This DVD is affordable and comes in a nice slim case. It's a high recommendation for the diehard fan as well as the curious and unaware. It is a DVD that will not leave you the same as when you began. Don't be "Left Behind" from witnessing this "Disasterpiece".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, February 24, 2006
This review is from: Slipknot - Disasterpieces (DVD)
I knew about Slipknot, but never really listened to them. I recently bought Iowa and liked it. So I bought this DVD. I took it home, put it in the DVD player, and when the band started playing, stood in my living room with my mouth open, completely frozen.

What a show. Wow!!!

If you are a fan of the band, you'll totally dig this.

My wife doesn't appreciate Slipknot at all, I showed her about thirty seconds of People = S**t. She sat there with her mouth open and then said, "This is a total spectacle."

The sound is great. The video has too many quick edits, but it fits with the music.

This is excellent.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Slipknot - Disasterpieces
Slipknot - Disasterpieces by Corey Taylor (DVD - 2002)
$14.98 $11.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.