Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The richest "Cinderella" movie ever made
This has long been my favorite movie ever made. As a lover of fairy tales, it sparked my interest immediately, and as a girl my favorite fairy tale of all was "Cinderella."
Here, the Sherman Brothers (writers of "Mary Poppins") have brought this classic story to a whole new level. The richness of this tale is unsurpassed. In spite of its being...
Published on December 11, 2003 by Laura Bellamy

versus
37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best DVD version out there!
Price wise....ya its cheaper than the 2000 issue
BUT!

this one is only Full Screen 1:33
and
127 min run time

the 2000 issue is now up to $25.00 +
but is Wide Screen 2:35
and
143 min run time

yes their really are reasons to know what movie versions are out there to know what one really is the best to buy...
Published on November 25, 2007 by Gypsymuse


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The richest "Cinderella" movie ever made, December 11, 2003
By 
Laura Bellamy (Greensboro, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slipper and the Rose (DVD)
This has long been my favorite movie ever made. As a lover of fairy tales, it sparked my interest immediately, and as a girl my favorite fairy tale of all was "Cinderella."
Here, the Sherman Brothers (writers of "Mary Poppins") have brought this classic story to a whole new level. The richness of this tale is unsurpassed. In spite of its being fairly cheesy (hardly surprising in a fairy tale, after all) it is also wonderfully charming. The story is expanded excellently, and this new release of it includes never-before-seen footage as well. The added footage was wonderful, I was so upset that they had actually left it OUT! There are even two new songs that were not in the original release, and a couple of other songs are expanded.
The music is breathtaking and sometimes downright haunting (as in the case of "Tell Him Anything" or "I Can't Forget the Melody"), the cinematography is gorgeous, and the costumes are simply unbelievable! I wanted to be in that movie if only for the sake of those scrumptious costumes! ;-)
For the lover of the musical, or simply a lover of fairy tales, this is the best of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Suddenly it happens, and the dream comes true!", February 18, 2000
This review is from: The Slipper and the Rose (DVD)
"Wonderfully, beautifully it happens and your world is new," says Cinderella in this long awaited film, which is FINALLY being released in its entirety -- the full length, British version! This wonderful, lavish musical of the story of Cinderella, stars Richard Chamberlain as the Prince, Gemma Craven as Cinderella, and a wonderful cast including Annette Crosbie, Michael Hordern, Christopher Gable, Kenneth More, Margaret Lockwood, and Dame Edith Evans. The musical score is brilliantly written by the incomparable Sherman Brothers, who also co-wrote the script with Director Bryan Forbes. This is a great film for all ages, and sure to be a perfect addition to your movie collection.
ALSO INCLUDED on the DVD are an audio commentary by director Bryan Forbes, a video interview with the Sherman Brothers, and a promotional featurette -- "Cinderella Story: The Making of 'The Slipper and the Rose".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Magical & Romantic Movie - Best Cinderella Ever!!!, May 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Slipper and the Rose (DVD)
I first saw that movie when I was in second grade and I remember putting "Gemma Craven" (the actress, who plays Cinderella) as my "Favorite Actress" in my diary. I have seen this movie so many times now and I can watch it over and over again... The music is amazing (by the Sherman Brothers, who also wrote "Mary Poppins" and "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang"). The story is so detailed and realistic for those times and full of humor and subtle irony. Everytime I watch that movie I find another detail that makes me smile - it is definitely not only for children, but also for adults with a big heart. It was produced with a love to detail. The costumes and the scenery are truly magical and splendid. There are no words to really describe the beauty of them. The dancing scenes are wonderfully choreographed and danced. The actors not only play their roles - they ARE them. I would not change one single actor - they all are so unique and could not have been chosen better: I love the slightly confused King, the wicked but stylish Stepmother, the loveable Fairy Godmother and of course Richard Chamberlain as the charming Prince and Gemma Craven as the beautiful and touching Cinderella. I can unconditionally recommend that movie. I have seen most Cinderella movies (old and new, musical and fairy tale, ballet versions etc.) and this is my most favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, Stunning Scenery. A Musical Triumph!, February 19, 2000
By 
"tea-boy" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Slipper and the Rose (DVD)
I think I was about five years old when I first saw this movie, and immediately I was hooked. It tells the story of Cinderella, and has to be one of the most lavish tellings of the tale that I have ever seen. The sets and scenery are beautiful, as are the magnificent houses which remind me of the castles we all longed to live in as young children. All roles in the film are cast perfectly, especially Margaret Lockwood as the wicked stepmother, who makes life hellish for our beautiful heroine.
The Slipper and the Rose, never takes itself too seriously, but at all times remains engaging. At the time of its theatrical release, this film was not received well, however everyone that I know who has seen it, has remarked on what a fun, witty, and romantic film it is, with fantastic music and songs that you hum for days afterwards. Definitely one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful HD Transfer for a Marvelous Musical, November 7, 2013
A box-office disappointment upon its original release, the lovely David Frost production of THE SLIPPER AND THE ROSE has arrived on Blu-Ray from Inception Entertainment.

An extravagant musical adaptation of the Cinderella story by director Bryan Forbes and song-meisters Richard M. and Robert B. Sherman, who wrote a handful of tuneful compositions, "The Slipper and the Rose" was one of the last big-budget musicals of its kind produced for the screen. Gemma Craven makes for an endearing Cinderella while Richard Chamberlain struts his stuff as the Prince (in a sympathetic performance Dougray Scott would draw upon to a degree in "Ever After" years later), and many wonderful British vets appear in secondary roles, from Kenneth More to Edith Evans, Michael Hordern, Margaret Lockwood, and others. The film is overlong but beautifully shot by Tony Imi, whose widescreen compositions give the mostly set-bound dramatics some theatrical impact. The Shermans' songs run the gamut from bouncy to unnecessary, but between the good-natured performances and stripped-down fantasy elements (again, an aspect "Ever After" emulated some time later), this is one of the more memorable adaptations of the Cinderella story placed on-screen, with ample charm and elegance to spare.

Out of circulation for many years, "The Slipper and the Rose" made is way to DVD in the U.S. over a decade ago from Image Entertainment. That release contained the full-length British version of the movie (Universal trimmed some 15 minutes for its U.S. theatrical release) along with several special features. Inception's Blu-Ray marks the first release of the film on video domestically since that out-of-print release, and it's a beauty: the label's 1080p AVC encoded transfer is spectacular, marked by fine detail, natural grain and gorgeous colors. It's as impressive as any catalog release I've seen this year.

A number of audio options are included, from a 5.1 DTS MA mix to a LPCM 2.0 stereo track that's more limited in its stereophonic range, and an "alternative" 5.1 DTS MA mix that's not quite as bass-heavy as the other DTS MA mix. All the extras from the Image release have also been retained: audio commentary by director Bryan Forbes (particularly interesting as he discusses the film's production and bizarre financing), a 30-minute, vintage promotional documentary hosted by Frost (who executive-produced the film), and a 17-minute on-camera interview with the Sherman Brothers rounds out a terrific package all around. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With the best Fairy Godmother ever, February 11, 2004
By 
Leslie Kusz (Spokane, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slipper and the Rose (DVD)
I remember seeing this when I was young, but couldn't remember the name of it. I was delighted when I found it again.

The leads are wonderful, particularly Richard Chamberlain, a very kind and thoughtful prince. As a veteran actor, you can almost see what he is thinking. Veteran, indeed; though 40 when he played this role, he is believable as young prince Edward. Actually getting to know the prince (who is onscreen at least as much as Cinderella) is one of the things that make this retelling of the tale superior and adds to the richness of the story.

Gemma Craven's Cinderella is lovable rather than "parroting" goodness, managing to stay just this side of sappy. You believe in Cinderella as a noble being, one willing to sacrifice her own happiness for her people while trying to minimize the pain this will cause the prince. You can't help being delighted for her when things turn out right in the end.

The ensemble work is good as well. The showstopping song and dance of "Position and Positioning" is particularly fine, bringing back memories of "Chim Chim Cher-ee" on the rooftop in "Mary Poppins," also the work of the Sherman brothers. A few songs, like "Proticoligorically Correct," do drag things down a bit, but the rest of the film more than makes up for it.

The best performance by far, though, is that of Annette Crosby as the Fairy Godmother. Bypassing sugary-sweet, Ms. Crosby's performance is delightfully tart and very funny. As a bonus, the reason for the "leave before the stroke of midnight" stricture is at last explained.

Even the actors without lines add to the fun. The facial expressions of the Queen mother of "the other bride" in the scene where her husband and the King of Euphrania discuss their problem children make me laugh every time I see it.

For fans of the Cinderella myth, this is a good version to choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best DVD version out there!, November 25, 2007
This review is from: The Slipper and the Rose (DVD)
Price wise....ya its cheaper than the 2000 issue
BUT!

this one is only Full Screen 1:33
and
127 min run time

the 2000 issue is now up to $25.00 +
but is Wide Screen 2:35
and
143 min run time

yes their really are reasons to know what movie versions are out there to know what one really is the best to buy!
this one isn't it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Roger's and Hammerstein's!, June 5, 2000
I found this movie one day on the Disney Channel while flipping throug the channels. I only saw the last hour or so, but I was enthralled. I have looked for it for 2 years. Then I discovered it's finally on video. I bought it at once, naturally. This is the most romantic version of the famous tale that I've ever seen. Richard Chamberlain does an outstanding performance as the prince. He's handsome, charming and witty. I'm surprised more of the princesses didn't agree to come to the bride finding ball. Gemma Cravens is the perfect Cinderella: beautiful, sweet, and kind. A princess in her manner and character. Edward and Cinderella are the perfect couple. Their love is touching. And I like all the twists and turns in the story that leave you wondering if maybe the prince won't marry his beloved Cinderella. But of course he does, but the two go through a lot. They have their problems and separations. It's not all roses for them. Though this is a fairy tale, it doesn't seem like it. It's all very believable. And very well done. It didn't lack anything at all. It's just a wonderful, romantic tale, and a joy to watch. Love really does find a way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love a fairy tale?, June 16, 2000
By 
Lori (Washington) - See all my reviews
I saw this movie years ago on the Disney Channel, fell in love, taped it, and have worn out the tape. I have been searching for over ten years for this wonderful musical and was utterly delighted to find it finally available. The characters are intelligent, funny, and believeable. The plot fleshes out the familiar story and adds enough twists and inside jokes to keep adults guessing but keeps it colorful and magical enough for kids to love it too. The music is memorable enough that even without seeing it for years I can still hum the tunes. Cinderella and her prince are as charming and noble as any self-respecting fairy tale lover would wish and the Fairy Godmother nearly steals the show. This wonderful movie can be summed up in one word: Enchanting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different slant to an old story..., May 5, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Slipper and the Rose (DVD)
The story of Cinderella has had numerous dramatic incarnations over the years, probably the best known being the 1950 Disney version, and the Rodgers and Hammerstein TV adaptation from 1957 (and 1965 and 1997). The story is timeless in its appeal, and in its variations ("My Fair Lady" is the same story with Henry Higgins functioning both as Fairy Godmother and the Prince...). But perhaps the most intriguing, and undoubtedly most physically beautiful, telling of Cinderella is in the 1975 British film "The Slipper and the Rose". Adapted for the screen with genuine affection as well as patience and care, this original film musical was released to unresponsive audiences in the US during the fall-out period that came after the age of reserved seat musical extravaganzas. Cut by about 20 minutes after its US premiere at Radio City Msuic Hall, the movie played listless engagements before seemingly disappearing from the face of the earth. Now all that has changed with Image's beautiful new DVD release - Panavision, 5.1 digital stereo, lots of extras, and best of all, it's full length of 143 minutes.
What makes the film so intriguing, aside from its stunning visual beauty (locations shot in Austria), is the very dark slant to the fairy tale that's given here. The Prince refuses to marry just anyone, he wants to marry for love; the King needs a political marriage for his son to stave off the prospect of war. Not only that, but the search for the mystery girl who rushes from the "bride finding ball" at midnight (and leaves behind one sparkling slipper) is unfruitful. When the Prince and his beloved are finally reunited, politics rears its ugly head once more, and Cinderella is put in exile while the Prince is betrothed to a Teutonic maiden (in a really ghastly wedding headdress). All ends happily, yes, but this is definitely a much more sophisiticated slant to the traditional way the story usually plays out.
Sprinkled in along the way is a generic score by the Sherman brothers (of Disney fame and fortune), some truly uninspired choreography, and a raft of fine supporting character actors. Richard Chamberlin is surprisingly effective as the Prince (he has a genuine singing voice, by the way), and Gemma Craven (who?) does very well as the heroine. Some parts of it are enchanting, and others are so maddeningly attenuated that you want to scream, but it's a gorgeous sight to behold and there are a couple of not-bad tunes. And it's great to have it on home video uncut and letterboxed as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Slipper and the Rose
Slipper and the Rose by Bryan Forbes
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.