Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Baseball Romance (B+ Grade)
Samantha McNead, superstar publicist for the Heat, a professional baseball expansion team has been called upon to handle a very sticky PR nightmare. It involves Wade O'Riley, the best defensive catcher in Major League Baseball. Because of Wade's over abundant and very public playboy lifestyle, and being accused of fathering a child with a team groupie, Samantha has to do...
Published on February 9, 2010 by Katie Babs

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bummer
Okay, I typically like Jill Shalvis, I just finished quite a few of her books, including Double Play right before this. The thing I liked about this book? Wade. He is a great character. Sam, she was okay until I couldn't tell if the author was being ridiculous or she was. I am trying to figure out how to put this without spoiling the plot -- The hero would say one...
Published on March 12, 2012 by shellybelly


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Baseball Romance (B+ Grade), February 9, 2010
This review is from: Slow Heat (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Samantha McNead, superstar publicist for the Heat, a professional baseball expansion team has been called upon to handle a very sticky PR nightmare. It involves Wade O'Riley, the best defensive catcher in Major League Baseball. Because of Wade's over abundant and very public playboy lifestyle, and being accused of fathering a child with a team groupie, Samantha has to do some major damage control. One of the corporations who endorses the Heat has a new conservative CEO with high family values who is more than upset with the scandal surrounding Wade, even though he is innocent of all wrong doing. Samantha's father is one of the owners of the Heat and wants her to be Wade's pretend girlfriend for a month until the scandal dies down. She's mortified by having to play this role, but because she takes her job seriously, she has no choice. Things would be a lot better if she hadn't made a major mistake where she and Wade spent a drunken night together stuck in an elevator having crazy monkey sex. But she'll make this sacrifice and make sure that Wade keeps his hands to himself from here on out.

Wade is over the moon at having Samantha as his mock girlfriend. He can't get over the incredible passionate night they shared and would love nothing more than to have many more nights with her. He'll try his best to seduce the very buttoned up and professional Samantha at his friend's upcoming wedding. But, Samantha is so stand-offish unless they are in public and surrounded by the paparazzi. If Wade has his way, he'll find another elevator and show her how explosive they can be together.

Samantha is close to her sexual breaking point because Wade is always right by her side, teasing, flirting and whispering sexual innuendos about their elevator ride to the point where she can't handle it. She does something very stupid at the wedding reception they attend together, where they act out another extended scene sex fest in a bathroom, of all things. Wade is ecstatic, while Samantha not so much. Because they must act like they are in love, she has no choice but to put up with Wade. His feelings for Samantha have changed and he wants to make their pretend relationship a reality.

Things become every stressful when Wade's alcoholic father shows up on his doorstep, as well as Samantha's ten-year-old nephew, Tag. With no other choice, both Samantha and Wade have a whole slew of new issues to deal with. Wade wants to work on things with Samantha, and even though she is all for spontaneous sex, he wants more than just a few weeks of mind blowing love making. He now wants forever with Samantha and has to figure out a way to show her.

It's been awhile since I've read such a combustible and sexy romance such as Slow Heat. This latest contemporary baseball romance is near perfect in its telling. If you love baseball, a hero who is an adorable take charge type of guy, and a heroine who tries her best to do the right thing, but can't help but fall for the charms of the playboy type hero who makes her all hot and bothered, you need to read Slow Heat.

What I adored most of all is the fact that even though Samantha constantly tries to keep Wade at arm's length, he keeps pushing in such a way that he isn't too aggressive or he-man forceful. Wade enjoys loving life, from playing baseball to having a bad fast food addiction. When he wants something as bad as he wants Samantha, he won't let her go. They are two very different sides of a coin because their outlook on life and personalities are the total opposite from one another. They should clash, but they don't. Wade is there to help Samantha loosen up and help her with Tag, a confused and lonely boy whose parents act like he doesn't exist. In turn, Samantha is there to show Wade the way he handles his drunk of a father. One of Wade's faults is that he's generous to a fault, but thinks as long as he hands out money, he's doing the correct thing. These two begin to lean on each other and from that they grow into better people.

The dialogue and secondary characters also make Slow Heat over all fun reading. The love scenes between Samantha and Wade are hot, sweet and so very addicting. You can't help but want even more between these two.

Jill Shalvis has written one very satisfying read with this second title in her baseball series. I would recommend you read the first book, Double Play where Samantha and Wade are introduced.

Katiebabs

Double Play (Berkley Sensation)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jill Shalvis has done it again...another great book!, February 5, 2010
By 
Laura B (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slow Heat (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the the 2nd book about the Santa Barbara Heat baseball team following Double Play (Berkley Sensation). It is not necessary to have read the first book, but Wade & Sam were both introduced and Pace & Holly (couple from Double Play) are in this one.

Wade O'Reilly is a player--both on and off the field. He needs a better image for his sponsors, so in steps Samantha McNead, PR specialist for the Heat. They will play a couple for a month to tame his image down and get all the sponsors and media on board the "settled down Wade" train.

The problem is Sam & Wade have a history. Pretending isn't going to be easy for either one of them. And when life's complications get in the way, the relationship might be more real than either of them planned.

Jill Shalvis is probably my favorite author. She has a way of giving her characters depth and a realness about them. Their problems are real and not overblown. I'm never annoyed with the "how stupid can this character be?" thoughts...I loved both Sam & Wade. I laughed plenty and felt the chemistry between the two. The relationship developed at a nice pace and kept me interested. It was the usual witty, fun writing style I'm used to from Shalvis.

I had a hard time putting this book down when it was time for sleep. I finished it in just over a day (even with going to work and taking care of the house!). I'm looking forward to more from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bummer, March 12, 2012
This review is from: Slow Heat (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Okay, I typically like Jill Shalvis, I just finished quite a few of her books, including Double Play right before this. The thing I liked about this book? Wade. He is a great character. Sam, she was okay until I couldn't tell if the author was being ridiculous or she was. I am trying to figure out how to put this without spoiling the plot -- The hero would say one thing. The heroine would accuse him of meaning something else. If you've read Double Play, you know Wade is a player and likes his life easy and uncomplicated. Regardless of this Sam and other characters continually accuse him of being a jack*** and to stop screwing up. Okay, to me, I didn't get it. He wasn't screwing up, she was. There was no realistic conflict between the two. There was plenty of conflict in the book, but it was all manufactured. If you don't understand what I mean by manufactured conflict here's an example (not a spoiler from the book): "i love you" he says. "we can't keep going out, you're afraid of commitment," she replies. Then the next half of the book is devoted to this ridiculousness. What part of I love you and I want to be with you says "I can't handle a relationship and I just want to have fun and sleep with you and lots of other girls too" ???? Again, this isn't a spoiler, just a made-up example. I liked Wade and Tag. I seriously wanted to stop reading the book several times, but I have the hardest time just putting a book down and walking away out of principle. All in all, I'm conflicted. I seriously love Jill Shalvis' books, they're great! This just wasn't my favorite of hers. I'm sure there are plenty of people who will love this book and think I'm the weirdo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and emotional baseball romance, May 21, 2010
This review is from: Slow Heat (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second book in the Pacific Heat series, but can definitely be read as a standalone story. I loved the first book, and was very happy to discover this one is just as good.

Samantha works PR for the Heat baseball team - it's a family business, but she does not get on with her family. Wade is one of the team's stars, and they haven't been on speaking terms since an `incident' in an elevator some months earlier. But now Wade's in trouble in the media (through no fault of his own), and the two of them pretend to be dating to try and get the public to forget about the latest drama.

What Jill Shalvis does so well is create memorable and realistic characters. This is a character-driven story, and as always covers deep emotion at the same time as being laugh out loud funny. This book has some of Jill Shalvis' funniest writing (Wade trying to figure out how to stop fans writing on him was one of my favourites), and also two of her most likeable characters.

This is an excellent contemporary romance. It's about the way the characters find their way to each other rather than the action surrounding them, and it was such a great read. I haven't yet found a Jill Shalvis story I didn't love, and this one is up there with the Wilder Brothers books as one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 Hearts from TRS!, February 9, 2010
By 
This review is from: Slow Heat (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Slow Heat is the second book in her baseball series, Double Play. In this book, we have the same cast of characters with this one focusing on Wade and Sam. A secondary character that almost stole the show is Tag, Sam's nephew. While I thought Tag's character was slightly idealized, his personality and dialogue touched my heart. Tag was really the catalyst to softening Sam's personality and he brought Wade's past into the limelight. The book kept my interest by all the diverse characters but the pacing was pretty much even throughout. It didn't drag per se, but with the exception of Tag's antics, nothing much stood out in my mind. Wade and Sam's relationship was ongoing with plenty of misconceptions due to their lack of communication. It was actually a pretty real interpretation of a lot of real life romances. The sex scenes were intense, showing us the feelings developing in the relationship. I did enjoy their habit of playing Truth or Dare. I thought it genius as a way to break through Sam's reserve. Overall, this story is a mixture of two people brought together by their sexual attraction and kept apart by their differences. I loved the sexual tension, the great dialogue, and the well developed characters. Any book by Jill Shalvis is guaranteed to be a hit! - Lisa Freeman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love those baseball players, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
anyone who wants some good old baseball and a good dose of LOVE. I just love the series and can't wait for the next one.I really hope it is soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slow Heat (Mass Market Paperback)
Love Jill Shalvis books. Always funny with great quotes at the start of every chapter. She makes her characters fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another amazing romance by Jill Shalvis, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great romance and a great baseball story! Love the way the characters interact and the depth of the feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, March 19, 2014
By 
L. Layton "LLayton" (Jacksonville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Read it twice...won't be the last time! Fantastic book, great read. Jill Shalvis is the bomb! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shalvis does it again, March 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
REALLY enjoyed this book! Sam and Wade are the perfect couple. Add in Tag & John and the team and the story takes off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Slow Heat (Berkley Sensation)
Slow Heat (Berkley Sensation) by Jill Shalvis (Mass Market Paperback - February 2, 2010)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.