Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game but a little more complex than before
This is the third Red Dragon inn game and the basic play is the same as the other two. You play an adventurer who is done with their quest and is back at the bar drinking and gambling. You want to be the last one sober enough to stand a still have money.

This time around they added special rules for each of the new characters. The orc paladin struggles with her...
Published on July 5, 2011 by tony williams

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the base game; but 12 is too many
I love Red Dragon Inn, and I got this game because I wanted to be able to accomodate up to 12 players (instead of 4 for the original and 8 with RDI 2). However, we soon discovered that 12 players makes the game fall apart fast-- you spend ages waiting for it to be your turn, the game takes forever and in general everyone loses interest. I wouldn't play this again with...
Published 20 months ago by Ann T. Muffin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game but a little more complex than before, July 5, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
This is the third Red Dragon inn game and the basic play is the same as the other two. You play an adventurer who is done with their quest and is back at the bar drinking and gambling. You want to be the last one sober enough to stand a still have money.

This time around they added special rules for each of the new characters. The orc paladin struggles with her purity, the troll alchemist is making potions, the pixie enchanter has a wolf constantly changing moods and how much card affects happen. and the gnome tinker making artifacts to varying affects. These special rules make this game good as an expansion for those who have played before ,but this is harder for new players looking for a quick fun game.

Don't get me wrong--this is a decent stand-alone game. It's just that it doesn't live up to the standard set by the Red Dragon Inn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag of Drinks, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
This is the third entry in this series and forces comparisons to the earlier entries. As a board game on it's own this is a ton of fun and is easily one of the best ways to cap off a night of more serious game play. There are also some hilarious possibilities for usage as a real drinking game if a beer pong table isn't available. In a vacuum this game is a must own.

But as an expansion or an alternative to numbers one and two, this game comes up a hair short in my opinion. I'm not saying that it is bad by any stretch. The bar was set high to begin with by the series. I'm only taking off one star and I'm still very happy with my purchase. But the game explores a new mechanic by introducing a second deck of playing cards to characters. The idea sounds cool and it definitely has it's moments. But in my opinion it unnecessarily complicates things and waters down the experience. The tinkerer deck in particular injects a huge amount of randomness to a game that already had plenty.

Again, this is a great game that should be very successful. If you already like the series by all means pick it up. But if this is going to be your first visit to the Red Dragon Inn I would grab the first or second game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive improvement over the first 2. Excellent complement for either 1 or 2., November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
Massive improvement over the first 2: Characters each have a distinct twist or complexity to add some minor depth to the game.

Best to have 1 set from first to games (1 or 2, doesn't matter, but both would be a bit redundant and repetitive) for new players to choose a character and a copy of 3 for experienced players to choose one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very fun and a great addition to the standard game!, January 16, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
I was looking for a new game to play with friends and family over the holidays and I came up with the first edition of Red Dragon Inn as my choice. It's now mid-January and I own all 3 versions! The game is very fun, pretty easy to learn and more durable than a lot of other card-based games I've played.

This edition brings 4 new characters to play but each are quite different than in versions 1 and 2. 3 of the characters have a second deck added to the mix to add a new level of play for them. For example, the fairy character has a wolf deck that you flip each turn that shows the current mood of the wolf. Based on his mood, your game play can change in the form of bonuses or negatives - so each round has another random level of game play that can be humorous and interesting.

I've seen comments on the game's forums where people thought this made these characters too powerful, but I disagree (so does the game creator, who commented back about the lengths they went through to game play these characters and the design works as equals to the others).

I've played these games with 2 people and as many as 6 so far - and in all situations it played very well. I recommend this game to anyone, really, and if your kid can read and play other "regular" card games, they should have the capability to play along with you as well.

This summer I plan on taking the full set on vacation with me and designing "drinking game" rules around it to see how that goes. I can't imagine that wouldn't go well, though. :)

-Drake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars card game, February 17, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
Bought this game for my son, age 24. He and his friends have great fun playing this game and he needed a copy of his own. He brought it over and we used it for a family game night - with the expansion sets. It's a fun game, but the more you get to know the characters, the better you can play. You quickly learn which characters can defend against what and who tend to be stronger in certain traits. A nice gaming product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Advanced Addition!, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
New characters with special rules for play!
Each of these characters opens up works of strategy and adds so much flavor to the game!
Vast improvments and expansion to RDI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Round, May 26, 2014
By 
nomdeplum (reno, nv 89503) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
Adding new characters, a further enhanced drink deck and new drink event cards Red Dragon Inn 3 when played alone or with the first two open the game to 12 players. This game is a sure hit with friends. Adding on to the initial game mechanics this game adds individual rules for each character. While these new rules are simple it is suggested you have a few normal games under your belt before trying to learn new rules. If you do play 1, 2, and 3 together for a 12 person game I suggest you make rules on turn time, and pull out poker chips for your gold markers. While each board has gold tokens keeping them separate is not as easy as the other cards which are clearly marked. The poker chips will allow you to avoid counting the gold in each box at teh end of the night. Given the drinking theme this may be better suited for adults. This expansion can be played as a stand alone with the same rules and mechanics of RDI1. A great party game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT "quickie" game for parties, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
Easy game to pick up, minimal mechanical complexities.

And most people love the fun of drinking and gambling your way under the table without a hangover in the morning.

We have THOROUGHLY enjoyed this game and now have 3 of the 4 main sets. As a side note, you can play basically without a player limit on this game because of the very well balanced mechanics.

The third set introduces side decks. This mechanic is a bit much for beginners, but is a very welcome twist for more seasoned players. All-in-all this may be my favorite of the sets that I have played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun., March 17, 2014
By 
Jeremy Harpestad (N. Mankato, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
Used it to up my original to a 5 player game. We had a great time with the new decks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RDI 3, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Inn 3 (Toy)
Awesome game. I like the new characters, but it really just seems like a way to complicate an already great game with the extra decks and counters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Red Dragon Inn 3
Red Dragon Inn 3 by Slugfest Games
$37.99 $24.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.