Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 22, 2005
The excellent rave/techno song "Smack My Bitch Up" is often misunderstood. Case in point: N.O.W. claiming that it promoted violence against women. Rather, the song is about the drug heroin. "Smack" is slang for heroin; "my bitch" refers to the vein/artery in the arm used to inject the drug. The controversial video for the song explicitly shows someone shooting up heroin, then going club-hopping, to a strip-club, throwing up, and basically having a drugged-up night. This explains the mood of the song. So don't worry that the song promotes misogynistic attitudes; rather, it's a very thinly veiled "When I got high..." story, as evidenced by the video.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2000
This is the video that made MTV run a brief 30 second MTVNews spot to warn AMP audiences about the content of the video. They tried to keep it from us by showing it at 2:00 in the morning, now you can own it at home. This video is simply amazing, directed by Jonus Ackerland, who also directed one of Madonnas videos, it won breakthrough dance video at the MTV Video awards in 97. As is its an amzing video and at the end of the video itself is a twist that makes the video the greatest Prodigy video of all time, if not one of the greatest all-round videos of all time, be warned though, its not for the faint of heart, contains, nudity, alcohol use, drug use, and several scenes of grotesque acts (vomitting for instance).
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2002
One of the best bands to be signed on Madonna's Maverick label, Prodigy produced a smash hit song and plenty of controversy when "Smack My Bitch Up" was released in the United States in 1997. The song which was used in a major scene in the film "Charlie's Angels" incorporates eletronica, rock, and Middle Eastern music in providing the listener with a throbbing, enjoyable tune. This maxi-single contains several versions of the song, however I am still a big fan of the original album version. The other remixes are okay.
However, with the political correctiveness that runs the world today, many feminists and anti-domestic violence advocates caused a stir in the media saying that this song was sexist and degrading. With media news hounds interviewing such people and groups as Denise Brown (sister of murder victim Nicole Brown Simpson) and N.O.W., many rush to criticize Prodigy when in fact the title totally means something else in British slang (a similar case was when the film "Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me" was released in the USA; the term "shag" doesn't mean anything offensive in the USA, however the film was retitled for release in the United Kingdom, because the term "shag" is used as an expletive in that country's lingo).
Overall, "Smack My Bitch Up" was one of 1997's best songs. Madonna is one smart business woman if she is able to sign this great band on her label before anyone else could. What a great band and song!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2005
The song "Smack My Bitch Up" is often misunderstood. Case in point, NOW claiming that it promoted violence against women. Rather, the song is about the drug heroin. "Smack" is slang for heroin; "my bitch" refers to the vein/artery in the arm used to inject the drug. The controversial video for the song explicitly shows someone shooting up heroin, then going club-hopping, to a strip-club, throwing up, and basically having a drugged-up night. This explains the mood of the song. So don't worry that the song promotes misogynistic attitudes; rather, it's a very thinly veiled "When I got high..." story, as evidenced by the video.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 1, 2006
"Smack My B**ch Up" is a very good single. Naturally, you already own the title track on the corresponding "Fat of the Land" disc. 'No Man Army' is a strong instrumental that features the band's typical hard techno. While 'Mindfields' is one of the LP's best tracks, this Headrock Dub version sounds suspiciously similar to the original. For many, the purpose of a single is the release of a remixed version of the title track. The DJ Hype Mix does not disappoint. If you've listened to the LP version a zillion times, this mix will keep it fresh for a few more listens. Overall, "Smack My B**ch Up" will help to extend your enjoyment of what may be Prodigy's most compelling time period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2001
describes this cd single, which is one of many, to the fullest. Liam Howlet (the musical genious behind The Prodigy) gives a taste of whats to come in the, then upcoming album; "Fat Of The Land." In this single you hear to be what I believe one of the phattest songs in the set, and if you too get your kicks out of hearing slamming bass and meaningless shouted slogans mixed and remixed then this is the single your looking for. Definitely the phattest out of all the singles from "Fat Of The Land." Do yourselves a favor and Go Get It!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 1998
The single comes straight from the acclaimed album "the fat of the land" Most notable is the drum and bass remix. it's totally ganja kru
i reccomend, however, the album, as at only just over double the price (depending where you live), you get a lot more style for your money. NOT as good as Deisel Power! Shame, as after some months of listning, smack my bitch up has lost it's appeal whereas Deisel power keeps on stomping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2001
This is one of the best prodigy songs ever written. It has an amazing beat, tune and a breakdown in the middle that you will never forget. this vocals in it are amazing and the tune makes me shiver every time i hear it.
i strongly recomend that you at least think about buying this because it will rock the night away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2000
The radio edit is hyper cool...besides, how many radio edits are 4:46 and unedited? No Man Army is the instrumental version of One Man Army on the Spawn soundtrack. No Man Army is an awesome b-side. Mindfields is allright, but as someone said, why Mindfields? The DJ Hype mix is, well, all the "hype" (bad pun).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Sharp out of the box. Very secure sheath. I wrapped the handle with paracord for a better grip and it still disappears under a shirt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.