Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc blink-182 Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$19.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 2, 2001
This lovely little book is packed with beautiful photos. every page reminds me why, when i build a house, i'll build it adobe-style. you learn a little bit about the history of adobe, its evolution as new architectural ideas moved west, and crucial bits of vocabulary pertinent to adobe homes, such as vigas (celing beams), latillas, canelas & more. this is a lovely book, and excellent for fantasizing about the future.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2008
I grabbed this book with enthusiasm since I'm in the middle of trying to design a small (1000 square feet) house and wanted to incorporate some adobe design elements. However, this book is just about the most shallow introduction one could find to adobe home design. It is basically a collection of photos of posh homes (some of which aren't even adobe -- while the preface confesses, the captions don't reveal) with a text that strings together architectural blandishments -- I laughed especially at the quote that "white plastered adobe walls serve as blank canvases for...exotic artwork". Anyone who has lived with adobe knows that hanging something on a wall made of dirt is a bear.

Even just within the state of New Mexico there are far more, and better, examples of adobe houses, which are truly small, aren't "architect designed" or stuffed full of modern art and antique furniture. A less rarefied take, with more attention to the design elements that arise honestly from the material, would be welcome.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2009
This book is sort of odd. It starts off as a brisk chapter by chapter ode to elements of adobe houses. But it ends with an inordinate amount of space dedicated to one contemporary house that is somewhat related to the houses discussed throughout the bulk of the book.

Not enough space is spent discussing any one element of adobe houses, so it should be considered something of a small, short coffee table book.

I liked the book I don't really even understand why the word "small" is in the title since it doesn't even discuss the concept of small houses in any seriousness.

Its most redeeming feature is that it has attractive photographs.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
The Small Adobe House, by Agnesa Reeve. I was looking for a book that specifically focussed on the details of one, two or three small adobe homes. What I got was a smattering of several homes and very few photos of each of these homes. In my opinion, this was a shotgun approach to getting another "Santa Fe style" book on the market. The photos were excellent, by renown architectural photographer Robert Reck, no issues there. The book was well written, by Agnesa Reeve, no issues there. I just wanted to see more of a detailed photo study on the adobe homes featured, i.e. like the one on the cover. This book was too general. There was one home in particular that actually had a floor plan but no photos of the interior or the back side. I rated this book three stars because it is a sparse reference book at best but not a "go to" book for intense study and research on a small adobe home. Buy it used and you will appreciate that you didn't spend the full $21.95 for a new one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2006
This is a beautiful book. It is an excellent addition to my library of Adobe house books. I will be building an adobe house in the next couple of years and this book is a great reference.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2007
This is a great additional to our book collection and is a must have for anyone who is designing their house with the "Santa Fe" look. The pictures are just wonderful!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
No instructions on adobe but lots of pics of mostly traditional style homes. Next time I will save a few bucks and go to the library.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2008
Nice little book, fair price, but the same photos as in similar books I've purchased...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2006
Great book showing some fantastic homes. Lots of great ideas for when I move west and get an adobe. If you have an interest in this type and style home this is a good book to have in your library.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
im very happy with this book. its BEAUTIFUL and makes for a great reference for the designing of our home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.