Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Business for Dummies
This was a great start to the idea of beginning a small business on my own. The information it provided was very helpful and written in a way that took the overwhelming process out of the idea. I found that it answered questions that I didn't even know to ask. I would recommend this to anyone considering opening a small business.
Published on January 24, 2011 by Deni O

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good general advise, but not really core content.
I have the same exact feeling about this book as Eric Tyson's similar book "Personal Finance For Dummies"

This is a good book for general advise and ideas of how to get started, but it is full of lines that read ..." Make sure you research this..." and "You will have to look into that..."

I was expecting a round up of all the actual information, or...
Published on December 22, 2010 by S. King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Business for Dummies, January 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
This was a great start to the idea of beginning a small business on my own. The information it provided was very helpful and written in a way that took the overwhelming process out of the idea. I found that it answered questions that I didn't even know to ask. I would recommend this to anyone considering opening a small business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, October 24, 2008
By 
TK (Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
Loved this book. Actually used it to homeschool, since it's so simple and laid out nicely. I specialized in small business while I was in college, belonged to an entrepreneur group, and worked in a small business incubator for startups. It had a lot of nice tips and tricks for the real world. And I don't know too many small business people that have a lot of time to read, so this is convenient--easy to pick up and reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for starting a small business, April 11, 2009
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a bit out dated but good book. If you aspire to start your own business or are already in one, you will find a wealth of information in this excellent book by Tyson.

This is a wonderful book of basic business start-up info. The only thing missing was a section or chapter on how to effectively distinguish yourself and your business from the growing community of entrepreneurs. I combined the info in "dummies" with Marion Gold's "Personal Publicity Planner: How to Market YOU." Now that's a winning combination for small business owners with few dollars to spend on advertising and promotion.

SMALL BUSINESS-The Art of The Start -40 Successful Concepts for A Small Business Start-up - You Start, Grow And Succeed

e-Marketing Intelligence - Transforming Brand and Increasing Sales - Tips and Tricks with Best Practices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Small Business for Dummies, September 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
Great Book to read for people who are looking to start their own small business or expanding their existing small business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great business book, May 11, 2009
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
This book introduce people to the world of small business. It's a book for beginners and intermediate level of business.
* "Is Small Business For You?"
* "Laying Your Personal Financial Foundation"
* "Finding Your Niche"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good general advise, but not really core content., December 22, 2010
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
I have the same exact feeling about this book as Eric Tyson's similar book "Personal Finance For Dummies"

This is a good book for general advise and ideas of how to get started, but it is full of lines that read ..." Make sure you research this..." and "You will have to look into that..."

I was expecting a round up of all the actual information, or at least where exactly to find it.

Good, but a bit to general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty weak., October 23, 2009
By 
Eric Shafer (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This books reads more like an encyclepedia than an acutal guide for small business. Very little in here for someone who is running a business. Most of the advice is is in the form of rudimentry questions like "are you sure you are ready for business."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful tips but I don't really like the dummy books, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
I gave this four stars because I know that other people like this format, and the book itself had good information, but I'd rather read something that I can find engaging. I don't know a lot of charts and bullet points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, August 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
great book for any beginners in the business field. it was at a good price. i will recommended it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another easy addition the series, May 25, 2010
This review is from: Small Business For Dummies (Paperback)
This is another dummies addition that reads much like the others, easily. It really strives to get beginners to understand that starting a small business is serious business, and that its risky. It understands and expresses that small business just isn't the best move for everyone. The book does give many resources and chapters that are devoted to help keeping a small business afloat, managing employees and the all important legalities. I purchased this book in accompaniment with The Magic Touch: How to make $100,000 per year as a massage Therapist by Meagan R. Holub. The Magic Touch really exceeds many other texts in that it provides surefire applications for a service business to use so that it can have optimum chances of real success. Together these books make a great team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Small Business For Dummies
Small Business For Dummies by Jim Schell (Paperback - March 4, 2008)
Used & New from: $1.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.